CURRICULUM RESOURCES

P – 12 Curriculum Materials Databases

jump to:

For Preservice and Inservice Teachers:
   — Children's and Young Adult Literature
   — Curriculum Guides, Frameworks, and Courses of Study
   — Teaching Resources, Lesson Plans, and Activities

For K – 12 Students (and teachers)

 

For Preservice and Inservice Teachers

Children’s and Young Adult Literature

  • Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
    This database contains over a million records of children’s and young adult books, multimedia, audiobooks, and videos with many having reviews and annotations, awards, best book list, reading levels, and subject headings, jacket images, links to author and illustrator Web features as well as lesson plans and teaching guides links.  Searches can be conducted by specific title, author, illustrator, subject, reading and interest levels, publication date, genre, award, language, and book and reading list.  Guide to Using the CLCD Database


  • NoveList K-8
    Over 50,000 fiction books of interest to K – 8 and older students are indexed in this database.  Books can be searched by author, title, series, or even by a description of a plot with Boolean operators (and, or, not).  The detailed subject headings allows searches by instructional unit, theme or topic.  Full-text reviews for many of the books are also provided along with popularity ratings, Lexile scores, thematic bibliographies, genre- and theme-based lists, book talks, award lists, teaching ideas, and picture book extenders

Curriculum Guides, Frameworks, and Courses of Study

  • KCDL Online
    KCDL Online provides access to a large number of curriculum guides, frameworks, standards, and other curriculum documents produced by school systems, states, and other agencies throughout North America.  Searches can be conducted and/or combined by title, major curriculum area (e.g. fine arts, early childhood, English/language Arts, science, etc.), topic (e.g. academic achievement, administrative policy, expository writing, fractions, light, political candidates, etc.), educational content (e.g. academic standards, educational philosophy, learning activities, lesson plans, student educational objectives, etc.), grade level, issuing agency, state, country, and publication year.  The database provides full text access to many of the guides, especially those published 2000 to the present and an opportunity to limit the search to only full text documents if desired.  Guide to Using KCDL Online to Curriculum Guides, Frameworks, and Courses of Study.

Teaching Resources, Lesson Plans, and Activities

  • ENC Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education (ENC Online)
    This database allows one to search for or browse science and mathematics lesson plans, teaching activities, articles related to classroom issues, and Web sites on a variety of teaching topics.  Also, searching and browsing for all kinds of curriculum resources such as books, videos, kits and other classroom instructional materials.

  • Curriculum Resource Center
    This database is comprised of two parts:  Curriculum Resource Center   is for middle and high school teachers and students and provides a broad range of visual materials.  The content includes history entries, matching curriculum standards and containing over 2,000 historical images and timelines covering the entire span of world and U.S. history; maps, science diagrams and experiments, mathematics, and physical education and health.  This visual content can be used to produce worksheets, overheads and testing material.  Curriculum Resource Center: Junior Edition is for elementary teachers and students and provides images of historical figures and events, maps, timelines, science diagrams, science projects, and career ideas.

Access is provided to over 180,000 educator-selected online curriculum resources organized by readability and aligned with YOUR state standards.  Each of the resources has been assigned a    readability measure based on Lexile ratings and eight other popular methods.  This means that one can target search results to find resources on a given curriculum topic for a particular grade level and at an appropriate reading level for every child in the classroom.  Also, an entire section of NetTrekker d.i. is devoted to ELL and teaching English as a second language.  In addition, the database provides access to multiple language sites and includes a dictionary/translation hot key to find definitions plus a multicultural pavilion which provides resources to teach different cultures.  An image database is also provided.  (NetTrekker d.i. requires first time users to register)

This database presents a braod range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographoes, and experiments.  The content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by national and state science education standards.  Users can follow an extensive network of hyperlinks and suggested searches either by keyword or phrase to related topics.   

This database is the dependable online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.  It combines objective analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex points.

For K – 12 Students (and teachers)

  • Primary Search
    This database provides access to full text from 57 children’s magazines.  In addition, the database provides indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines.  In addition, full text is provided from The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids, The Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, and full text for over 100 pamphlets.

  • Middle Search Plus

Full text access is provided for over 140 popular middle school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines.  Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.  Primary source documents are also provided with Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall’s New Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection.

  • Student Research Center (grades 6-12)
    This database is designed for students in grades 6 – 12.  Searches can be designed to include pre-determined content sources such as magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film and video.  In addition, they make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.

  • Kids Search (grades K-5)
    Kids Search (grades K – 5) is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for students in grades K – 5.  It provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary.  The interface facilitates searching by topic, enabling users to easily enter keywords, or selected topics or subtopics to search.  Users can filter results by source type (magazines, newspapers, biographies, pictures, etc.)

  • MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students)
    This database provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas.  In addition to full text, the database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines.  Full text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.

  • Searchasaurus
    This database provides access to the above databases of Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, and Book Collection Nonfiction.  Searchasaurus provides an easy way for young researchers to experience online searching via an animated interface with a dinosaur theme.  Access is provided to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary.  A special feature of this database is that it offers Lexile limiters allowing searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved.

 

Web site content: cheryl.ghosh@uc.edu