CURRICULUM RESOURCES
Guide to Using KCDL Online to Find Curriculum Guides, Frameworks, and Courses of Study
KCDL (Kraus Curriculum Development Library) is a library of thousands of curriculum guides, frameworks, courses of study, and curriculum standards. Through the online index KCDL Online, you can locate online full-text copies of newer curriculum guides as well as earlier guides located on microfiche and filed in the CRC.
To begin in this KCDL database, you can type in a “Keyword” or preferably scroll down to the “Advanced Search” to where it says “Primary Section” and choose a curriculum area, such as social science, by clicking on the down arrow in the Primary Section window and holding down the mouse key until social science appears. Click on this term.
You may also combine the above curriculum area with a “Specific Subject” Just click on the arrow in the “Specific Subject” window and hold down the mouse key until you find an appropriate subject, for example, U.S. History. Select this term by clicking on it.
Next, by going to the window marked, “Educational Content” and holding down the mouse key, you will find that you have a choice of various items, depending on what you are looking for in your curriculum guide. For example, you might be particularly looking for course content, or educational philosophy, or student educational objectives, or learning activities. Also, by holding down the Control Key, you can click in this window on more than one of these terms to use in your search.
You can click on the appropriate grade level(s) in the “Grade Level” window (again use the Control Key for more than one grade level) or possibly a state(s) in the “State” window and/or “Publication Year(s),” etc. as well.
In addition, if you only want to access full-text documents, click in the box following the heading, “ Results with Full-Text Documents.”
After clicking on “Search,” you will get a list of documents that meet your criteria; those with a page icon after the listing will be full-text. The non full-text listings (if you did not click in the full-text box as explained above)will provide abstracts and the number of the microfiche. Many of these microfiche are located in the CRC and can be viewed and/or printed out on the microfiche reader/printer.
You will find that most documents in recent years will be full-text online. By clicking on these years, your search probably will net mostly full-text documents anyway. If you are certain that you only want to access full-text documents online, always click in the box at “Results With Full-Text Documents” before clicking on “Search.”
Web site content: Gary.Lare@uc.edu