Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Subject-Related Article Databases / Indexes
- Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-6/30/2006) (online)
The database provides full-text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are easily accessed through CWI. Information on women in over 190 countries is compiled in a single collection bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, business administration and political science.- Gender Studies Database (online)
Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.- GenderWatch (online)
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."- Gerritsen Collection (online)
Welcome to The Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, an international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. The database contains 265 periodicals and 4,471 monographs published from 1543-1945 in fifteen different languages.- Women’s Studies International (online)
Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 548,220 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.Additional Women's Studies Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using a Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Call Numbers & Ranges
- HQ1-2044 - The Family, Marriage, Women
- HQ1075 - Sex Role
- HQ1101-2030.7 - Women and Feminism
- HQ1871-2030.7 - Women’s Clubs
- HV1442-1448 - Women
- PR111-116 - Women Authors (English Literature)
- PS147-152 - Women Authors (American Literature)
Common Subject Headings
- Feminism -- United States -- History
- Feminists -- Biography
- Gender Identity
- Human Rights
- Sex Role
- Women's Rights
- Women's Studies -- United States
- Women's Studies -- United States -- History
- Women
- Women in Politics -- United States
New Women's Studies Titles with Reviews
Additional Women's Studies Books from UC Libraries
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality - REF HQ1115 .B38 2008 (print)
- The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality - REF HQ21 .I68 2004 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States - REF BP67.U6 E53 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers - REF HQ1236 .R29 2001 (print)
- International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage (online)
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History - REF HQ1121 .O93 2008 (print & online)
- Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge - REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 (print)
- The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism - REF HQ1115 .W644 2006 (print)
Additional Women's Studies Encyclopedias from UC Libraries
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Research Guides & Tutorials
Class Guides
- Notable Women of Cincinnati (online)
- Women in Society (online)
Web Sites
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits and research guides:
- American Women - Library of Congress
- By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress
- Miller NAWSA Suffrage Scrapbooks, 1897-1911 - Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress
- Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921 - Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress
- Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party - Manuscript Division, Library of Congress
- American Women's History: A Research Guide - Digital Collections of Primary Sources from Middle Tennessee State University Library
- Feminist Theory Website - Center for Digital Discourse and Culture, Virginia Tech University
- History of Women - University of Washington Libraries
- Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies - University of California, Santa Barbara
- Women’s Studies Online Resources - University of Maryland, Baltimore County
- WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites - Association of College & Research Libraries, Women’s Studies Section
Additional Women's Studies Web Sites from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 12/12/2008 by Lauren Wahman.