Articles Databases / Indexes
General Articles Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (online)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (online)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (online)
- Research Library (online)
Social Work Articles Databases / Indexes
- Scopus (online)
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.- SIRS Researcher (online)
Contains selected full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and government publications. Look here for articles on a variety of topics such as environmental, social, economic, political, and global issues.- Social Work Abstracts, 1977- (online)
Social Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Coverage: 1977 - present- SocIndex with Full Text (online)
Includes Full Text. This index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This file also contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals.- Sociological Collection (online)
Includes Full Text. The database includes 615 full text titles covering all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.Additional Social Work Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- human services
- psychiatric social work
- public welfare
- social service
- social service -- dictionaries
- social service -- handbooks, manuals, etc.
- social service -- periodicals
- social service -- United States -- dictionaries
- social work administration
New Social Work Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association REF 76.7 .P83 2001 (print)
The official style manual of APA.- Citation, Copyright and Plagiarism Resources (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- The Social Work Dictionary REF HV 12 .B37 2003 (print)
Contains over 9,000 termsAdditional Social Work Dictionaries from UC Libraries
Directories
- NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers (online)
- Directory of Community Services for Southwestern Ohio and Northern Kentucky REF HV99.C5 D52 2000 (print)
Additional Social Work Directories from UC Libraries
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Social Work REF HV 35 .S6 1995 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Homelessness REF HV 4493 .E53 2004 (print)
Contains over 150 entries covering topics such as causes, government policies and programs, lifestyle issues, health issues and services, history, legal issues and advocacy, organizations, public perception of the homeless, research approaches, service systems and setting, size and characteristics of the homeless population, world issues and perspectives- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior REF HV 5804 .E53 2000 (print)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
- All Social Work Full-Text Journals
- Administration in Social Work (online)
- Journal of Gerontological Social Work (online)
- Journal of Social Policy (online)
- Social Work in Health Care (online)
- Social Work with Groups (online)
Additional Social Work Journals from UC Libraries
Societies & Associations
- National Association of Social Workers (online)
- Association of Social Work Boards (online)
- Ohio School Social Work Association (online)
- School Social Work Association of America (online)
Additional Social Work Societies & Associations from UC Libraries
Web Sites
- Librarians' Index to the Internet
The mission of Librarians' Index to the Internet is to provide a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources- Social Work Search
Information and links to other web sites of interest to social workers and other helping professionals.- Social Work Today
Newsmagazine for social workers.
- Social Worker Online
News, job listings, and discussion forums on the subject and field of Social Work.
Additional Social Work Resources from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 08/20/2008 by Michelle McKinney.