Articles Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
Sociology Databases / Indexes
- Scopus
- SIRS Researcher
- SocIndex with Full Text
- Sociological Collection
- Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Additional Sociology Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Animal Rights
- Capital Punishment
- Censorship
- Child Abuse
- Civil Rights
- Crime
- Emigration and Immigration
- Family Violence
- Gambling
- Gun Control -- United States
- Hate Crimes -- United States
- Homelessness -- United States
- Homosexuality
- Human Rights
- Hunger
- Juvenile Delinquency
- Poverty
- Public Welfare
- Race Relations
- Social Movements
- Terrorism
- Vegetarianism
- Women's Rights
New Sociology Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
Online Resources
Print Resources
- Concise Rules of APA Style, 6th Edition - REF BF76.7 .C66 2010
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - REF BF76.7 .P83 2010
- A Sociology Writer's Style Guide - HM585 .Y45 2009 (print)
Related Resources
Additional Sociology Citation & Style Guides from UC Libraries
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of abortion in the United States - REF HQ767.5.U5 P35 2009 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Human Relationships - REF HM1106 .E53 2009 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence - REF HM1121 .E57 2008 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Social Problems - E-book
- Encyclopedia of Social Theory - REF HM 425 .E47 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development - REF HM626 .E538 2009
- Poverty in the United States: an Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy - REF HC110.P6 P598 2004 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America - REF HV12 .E497 2005 (print)
Additional Sociology Encyclopedias from UC Libraries
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Additional Sociology Journals from UC Libraries
Research Guides & Tutorials
- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered Class Guide
- News Sources Class Guide
- Women in Society Class Guide
- Women's Studies Subject Guide
Societies & Associations
- American Sociological Association
- Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology
- Association of Social Work Boards
- International Sociological Association
- National Association of Social Workers
- Ohio School Social Work Association
- School Social Work Association of America
- Social Science Research Council
- Society for the Study of Social Problems
Statistics & Data Sets
- Aging Stats: Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics.
- Bureau of Justice: Statistics about crime, law enforcement, corrections and related topics.
- Data on the Net: Search or browse their listing of 363 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
- FedStats: The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
- The Gallup Organization: Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years. Great site for statistics on politics, government, economy and business.
Web Sites
- Amnesty International
- Careers in Sociology
- Civil Rights.org
- Coalition to Stop Gun Violence
- Corporation for National and Community Service
- Forgotten Harvest
- Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
- Human Rights Watch
- Marxist Internet Archive.org
- National Crime Prevention Council
- National Network to End Domestic Violence
- SocioWeb: Guide to Sociological Resources on the Internet
- United Nations Human Rights
- U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Additional Sociology Web Sites from UC Libraries
Additional Sociology Resources from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 11/16/2009 by Michelle McKinney.