Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Religion & Philosophy Article Databases / Indexes
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials (online)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. More than 600 journals are indexed annually. The database includes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records for journal articles, more than 200,000 essay citations, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles from more than fifty journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.- Index Islamicus (online)
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906.
- Philosopher's Index, the (online)
Philosopher's Index- Religion and Philosophy Collection (online)
The database includes full text of over 290 journals covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.Additional Philosophy Article Databases / Indexes at the University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Call Numbers & Ranges
Philosophy
- B1-5802 - Philosophy (General)
- B108-5802 - By Period
- BC1-199 - Logic
- BD10-701 - Speculative Philosophy
- BD95-131 - Metaphysics
- BJ1-1725 - Ethics
- BJ1188-1295 - Religious Ethics
- BJ1518-1697 - Individual Ethics. Character. Virtue
- BJ1725 - Ethics of Social Groups, Classes, etc. Professional Ethics
Religion
- BL1-2790 - Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
- BL425-490 - Religious Doctrines (General)
- BL660-2680 - History and Principles of Religions
- BM1-990 - Judaism
- BP1-610 - Islam. Bahai Faith. Theosophy, etc.
- BQ1-9800 - Buddhism
- BR1-1725 - Christianity
- BV1-5099 - Practical Theology
- BX1-9999 - Christian Denominations
Common Subject Headings
Philosophy
- Belief and Doubt
- Ethics
- Feminist Ethics
- Knowledge, Theory of
- Logic
- Medical Ethics
- Metaphysics
- Philosophy
- Political Ethics
Religion
New Religion & Philosophy Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States - REF BP67.U6 E53 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy - REF B51 .E53 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Religion - REF BL31 .E46 2005 (print)
- Ethics - REF BJ63 .E54 2004 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.- The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - REF B51 .C58 2005 (print)
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (online)
Additional Religion & Philosophy Encyclopedias from UC Libraries
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Web Sites
Philosophy
- Ethics Updates - Lawrence M. Hinman, University of San Diego
- Internet Public Library: Philosophy
- Librarians' Internet Index: Philosophy
- Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy - University of California, Santa Barbara
Religion
- Encyclopedia of Religion and Society: Conversion - Editor: William H. Swatos, Jr., Publisher: Hartford Institute for Religion Research
- Finding My Religion - David Ian Miller, San Francisco Chronicle
- Internet Public Library: Religion & Theology
- Librarians' Internet Index: Religion
- Voice of the Shuttle: Religious Studies - University of California, Santa Barbara
Additional Religion & Philosophy Web Sites from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 09/03/2008 by Lauren Wahman.