Articles Databases / Indexes
General Articles Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- Electronic Journal Center (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Psychology Articles Databases / Indexes
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (online)
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.- PsycBOOKS (online)
PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 16,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. The database includes most scholarly titles published by APA from copyright years 1953 - 2005. It also includes 100 out-of-print books and a total of more than 400 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology.- PsycINFO, 1967-Present (online)
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1967 - present- Historic PsycINFO 1872-1966 (online)
Index and abstracts of historical psychological journals, 1872-1966.- Scopus (online)
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.
Additional Psychology Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- adolescent psychology
- child psychology
- cognitive psychology
- ethnopsychology
- feminist psychology
- human behavior
- individuality
- loss (psychology)
- psychoanalysis
- psychology
- psychology -- history
- psychology, applied
- social psychology
New Psychology Titles with Reviews
Additional Psychology Books from UC Libraries
Citation & Style Guides
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - REF 76.7 .P83 2001 (print)
The official style manual of APA- Citation, Copyright and Plagiarism Resources (online)
- Research and Documentation by Diana Hacker (online)
APA style for documenting sources under "Social Sciences" section; includes sample paper written in the APA style as well as examples of citing sources.
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- The Oxford Companion to the Mind - EBook (online)
Encyclopedias
- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology - REF BF 109 .A1 B56 1997 (print)
- Child Development - REF HQ 772 .C436 2002 (print)
- Classic Experiments in Psychology - REF BF 198.7 .M66 2004 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Aging - REF HQ 1061 .E534 2002 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science - REF HQ 767.84 .E52 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society - REF HQ 767.84 .E53 2004 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Human Development - REF HM626 .E53 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Psychology - REF BF 31 .E52 2000 (print)
- Encyclopedia of School Psychology - REF LB1027.55 .E523 2005 (print)
- Learning & Memory - REF BF 318 .E53 2003 (print)
- Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science : Psychology- REF BF 31 .M33 2003 (print)
- Mental Measurements Yearbooks - REF BF698.5 .B967 (print) - EBook - (online)
Handbooks
- Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence - REF BF 724 .487 2003 (print)
Summarizes current adolescent research including biology, social contexts, trajectories of normal development, relationships, and adolescent problem behaviors- Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology - REF RC 456 .C66 2006 (print)
- Handbook of Emotion - REF BF561 .H35 2000 (print)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Common Psychology Journals
- American Psychologist (online)
- Monitor on Psychology : a Publication of the American Psychological Association (online)
- Psychological Assessment (online)
- Psychological Bulletin (online)
- Psychological Methods (online)
- Psychological Review (online)
Additional Psychology Journals from UC Libraries
Manuals
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV - REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2000 (print)
Classification of mental disorders (e.g., anxiety disorders, eating disorders, paranoid disorders, etc.) and attempts to describe in detail their symptoms, manifestations, and etiology when known
Societies & Associations
- American Psychological Association [APA] (online)
- American Psychological Society (online)
- American Psychiatric Association (online)
- State and Provincial Psychological Associations (online)
Web Sites
- Librarians' Index to the Internet (online)
The mission of Librarians' Index to the Internet is to provide a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources- PsychCentral (online)
The Internet's largest and oldest independent mental health social network created and run by mental health professionals to guarantee reliable, trusted information and support communities to you, for over 12 years.- PSYCHWEB (online)
- Science Research.com (online)
A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. It allows students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access pertinent science information quickly and easily.Additional Psychology Web Sites from UC Libraries
Additional Psychology from UC Libraries
This page was last updated on 08/20/2008 by Michelle McKinney.