Almanacs & Facts
- CIA World Factbook (online)
Country profiles from the U.S. government including information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues- World Almanacs (online)
Online search access to four reliable almanacs and one encyclopedia: Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, The World Almanac for Kids
Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- JSTOR (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Political Science Article Databases / Indexes
- CQ Weekly (online)
Weekly summary of congressional activities. Continues Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report.- Left Index (online)
The Left Index (LI) — A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also are covered.- LexisNexis Congressional (online)
Full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record. Prepared statements and selected question & answer transcripts. Public laws and the United States Code Service. The Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. Biographical and financial information and voting records and more…- Ohio Capitol Connection (online)
Ohio leglislative and governmental information service, including bill tracking, the full text of bills, the administrative code and revised code, committee rosters, and legislator information.
- PAIS International (online)
The PAIS International database covers the literature of public affairs -- current issues and actions which affect world communities, countries, people, and governments. This database provides access to articles, books, and documents addressing important political, economic and social issues. PAIS concentrates on topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.- SIRS Researcher on the Web (online)
SIRS Knowledge Source™ is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface.- Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet (online)
A Library of Congress service that provides legislative information including: Bill text, Congressional Record text, Bill summary & status, the Congressional Record Index, Public Laws by law number, Roll Call Votes, Committee Reports, House Committees and Senate Committees, and historical documents including the Constitution.- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (online)
(via Dataware) Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. (replaces ABC POL SCI).Additional Political Science Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Democracy
- Federal Government
- International Relations
- Political Parties
- Political Science
- Public Administration
New Political Science & Law Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- The Chicago Manual of Style - REF Z253 .U69 2003 (print)
- Citation Resources (online)
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers -
REF LB2369 .T8 2007 (print)
Encyclopedias
General Encyclopedias
- World Book Web (online)
Subject Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties - REF KF4747.5 .E53 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas - REF JX1407 .E53 2002 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Political Communication - REF JA85 .E65 2008 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right - REF JA61 .E54 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of World Constitutions - REF K3157.E5 E53 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution - REF KF4548 .E53 2000 (print)
- Encyclopedia of the United States Congress - REF JK 1021 .D48 2007 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
News & Newspapers
- Cincinnati Enquirer (online)
- LexisNexis Academic (online)
LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.- Newsdex (online)
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner.- Newspaper Source (online)
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.- Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University (online)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.- World News Connection (online)
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service, only accessible via the World Wide Web, that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
Web Sites
Federal Government
- Country Studies - The Library of Congress
- Federal Digital System (FDsys) - U.S. Government Printing Office
- FedStats
- GPO Access - U.S. Government Printing Office
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) - U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security
- USA.gov - U.S. Government Web portal
Foreign Affairs
General
- Dr. Seuss Went to War: A Catalog of Political Cartoons - University of California, San Diego
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research - University of Michigan
- Internet Public Library: Political Science
- Political Cartoons of the Lilly Library - Indiana University Bloomington
- Real Clear Politics
Additional Political Science Web Sites from UC Libraries
Additional Political Science Resources from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 09/23/2009 by Stephena Harmony.