Article Databases / Indexes
Health & Medicine Article Databases / Indexes
- Alt-HealthWatch (online)
Peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on contemporary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.- CINAHL with Full Text (online)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.- Health and Wellness Resource Center (online)
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.- Health Source: Consumer Edition (online)
The database features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (online)
The database provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. Updated on a daily basis.- MEDLINE with Full Text (online)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. This database contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from over 3,900 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.- Natural & Alternative Treatment (online)
Natural & Alternative Treatments contains detailed information on more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories.- PubMed (online)
See Medline description.
PubMed provides additional search features such as the ability to link to “Related Articles”, and now provides a link to search the OhioLINK catalog for an electronic copy of an article. IMPORTANT: Please remember, if you do not find an electronic version of your article, search the UCLID catalog or contact a librarian. The OLinks search does not reflect electronic journals and databases to which UC individually subscribes.Additional Databases in Health & Medicine
General Databases / Indexes
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Community Health Nursing
- Geriatric Nursing
- Nursing Care Plans
- Nursing -- History
- Nursing -- Trends
- Diabetes -- Nursing
- Cancer -- Nursing
New Nursing Titles at RWC with Reviews
Certification & Licensure
- American Nurses Credentialing Center (online)
- LearningExpressLibrary (online)
CNA Practice Tests and Nursing School Practice Entrance Tests- Mosby's comprehensive review of nursing for the NCLEX-RN examination - RT55 .M64 2006 (print)
- Kaplan's NCLEX-RN Exam -RT 55 .N42 2007-8 (print)
Citation & Style Guides
- APA Formatting and Style Guide - from Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) (online)
- APA Style.org - from the American Psychological Association
- Citation, Copyright and Plagiarism Resources - guide created by the RWC Library (online)
- Copyright Basics - guide created by RWC Library (online)
- Citing Sources - from Duke University Libraries (online)
- Social Sciences: Documenting Sources (online)
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association - Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001 (print)
Need more citation assistance? Contact the RWC Writing Lab in Muntz 112I at 745-5733.
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Credo Reference (online)
A collection of medical dictionaries- Mosby's Dental Dictionary (online)
- Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals (online)
Encyclopedias
- AccessScience (online)
Full access to articles and dictionary terms from the 8th edition of the McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology, with new and revised content from the encyclopedia's editors and contributors, including recent research developments, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations, and much more.
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Handbooks
- Harrison's Online
Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison's principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.
Research Guides & Tutorials
Tutorials
Class Research Guides
- Cultural and Religious Issues in Health Care (online)
- Health Care Systems Comparison (online)
Web Sites
- ClinicalTrials.gov (online)
- NetWellness (online)
- RWC's Nursing Department (online)
This page was last modified on 12/18/2007 by Heather Maloney.