Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Subject-Related Databases / Indexes
- ACM Digital Library (online)
Full-text articles from ACM journals, magazines and conference proceedings. Most full-text go back to volume 1 of the publication. Subjects include: Artificial Intelligence, Computer Simulation, Computer Systems, Database Systems, Design Automation, Information Systems, Mathematical Software, Networking, Networks, Programming Languages, and Software Engineering.- Computer Database (online)
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.- InfoSci-Online (online)
A comprehensive collection of full-text literature available in the fields of information science, technology and management. Information covering research, trends, technologies, challenges and other topics. InfoSci-Online allows the user to narrow the search by identifying areas of research interest and keywords, and then provides a complete listing of relevant results.- Info Tech Trends (online)
This database covers market data on the information technology industry including computers, peripherals, software, storage, the Internet, and communications equipment. Details include sales and shipment forecasts, market share, installed base, and planned purchases. You can download data entries as Excel spreadsheets.- INSPEC (online)
1969 to present - Provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. INSPEC provides a comprehensive index to the literature in these fields; it also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.- ISI Web of Science (online)
ISI Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references captured.- IT KnowledgeBase (online)
Includes information on computing and networking. Also known as Auerbach ITknowledgeBASE, it provides current and back issues of vital journals, essential reference books and over 10,000 articles.- MathSciNet (online)
A mathematical reviews database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It continues the tradition and extends the scope of the work begun by the paper publication Mathematical Reviews in 1940. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.- OhioLINK Digital Video Collection (online)
Educational videos to show in class, link to from course pages, use for research , or view for fun. The new videos cover a wide variety of subjects, including: computer science/information technology, math, and science.- Scopus (online)
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.Additional Mathematics Article Indexes / Databases from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Additional Information Technology Resources from UC Libraries
Additional Physics Article Databases / Indexes from UC Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
EBooks
- Safari Tech Books Online (online)
A library of books on information technology, digitized and made available by Safari Books Online in conjunction with the original publishers.- MathNetBase (online)
Provides access to over 80 top Chapman & Hall/CRC resources, including 47 handbooks in the area of applied mathematics.
Common Subject Headings
Mathematics
- algebra
- arithmetic
- biomathematics
- calculus
- equations
- functions
- geometry
- mathematics -- dictionaries
- mathematics -- formulae
- mathematics -- handbooks, manuals, etc
- mathematics -- tables
- mathematicians
- probabilities
- trigonometry
Computer Science
- computer science
- computer science -- mathematics
- computer Software
- computers
- information Technology
- internet
- microcomputers
- world wide web
Physics
New Mathematics, Computer Science & Physics Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- The concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics - E-Book (online)
- Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics REF QA5 .F35 1999 (print)
- Math Dictionary with Solutions, 2nd.: a Math Review REF QA5 .K692 1999 (print)
- Mathematics Illustrated Dictionary: Facts, Figures, and People REF QA5 .B4 1989 (print)
Encyclopedias
Mathematics
- AccessScience (online)
Full access to articles and dictionary terms from the 8th edition of the McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology, with new and revised content from the encyclopedia's editors and contributors, including recent research developments, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations, and much more.- CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics REF QA5. W45 1999 (print)
- MathWorld from Wolfram Research (online)
MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers. The site is continuously updated to include new material and incorporate new discoveries. There is a subject index and an alphabetic index. Each entry includes reference links. Contains LiveGraphics3D interactive Java applets which allow 3D solids to be viewed inside your browser window. MathWorld is a free service for the mathematical community.
Physics
- Macmillan encyclopedia of physics REF QC5 .M15 1996 (print)
Additional Mathematics Encyclopedias & Physics Encyclopedias from UC Libraries
Handbooks
Mathematics
- CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae - REF QA47 .M315 2003 (print)
- Merriam-Webster's Guide to Everyday Math: a Home and Business Reference - REF QA40 .B868 1998 (print)
- Handbook of Analytic-Computational Methods in Applied Mathematics (online)
- Handbook of Mathematical, Scientific, and Engineering Formulas, Tables, Functions, Graphs, Transforms - REF QA40 .H35 1984 (print)
Computer Science
- Milestones in computer science and information technology - REF QA76 .R434 2003 (print)
Physics
- Handbook of Physics - REF QC61 .B46 2002 (print)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Societies & Associations
Mathematics
- American Institute of Mathematics (online)
- American Mathematical Society (online)
- Mathematical Association of American (online)
- Mathematics on the Web: Societies, Associations and Organizations (online)
Computer Science
- American Computer Science Association, Inc. (online)
- Computing Research Association (online)
- IEEE Computer Society (online)
Physics
- American Institute of Physics (online)
- American Physical Society (online)
- Sigma Pi Sigma: National Physics Honor Society (online)
- Society of Physics Students (online)
Web sites
Mathematics
- Archimede's Lab
- Biographies of Women Mathematicians
- Librarians' Internet Index: Mathematics
- The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive
- Math.com
- QuickMath.com
- Science Research.com
A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. It allows students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access pertinent science information quickly and easily.Computer Science
- Librarians' Internet Index: Computers
- Science Research.com (online)
A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. It allows students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access pertinent science information quickly and easily.- TechWeb Encyclopedia
Physics
- Center for the History of Physics
- College Physics for Students of Biology and Chemistry by RWC Professor Ken Koehler
- Fear of Physics
- Librarians' Internet Index: Physics
- Physics Central
- Science Research.com
A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. It allows students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access pertinent science information quickly and easily.- Scitopia.org
Contains more than three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and technology can be searched through the site.
RWC's Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science Department
Additional Mathematics and Physics Resources from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 08/20/2008 by Michelle McKinney.