Almanacs & Facts
- The Ohio Almanac: An Encyclopedia of Indispensable Information about the Buckeye Universe - REF AY271.L6 O52 2004 (print)
- World Almanacs (online)
Online search access to four reliable almanacs and one encyclopedia: Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, The World Almanac for Kids
Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- JSTOR (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Article Databases / Indexes
- America: History and Life (online)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.- Historical Abstracts (online)
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and journals of regional history, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the serial's subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.- Nineteenth Century Masterfile (online)
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) describes itself as "the digital index of the nineteenth century." The original component was an online version of W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. The database is now enhanced with indices to other periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents of the 19th century.- Oral History Online (online)
Oral History Online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals Alexander Street Press has indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Their intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals.- Periodicals Archive Online (online)
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- History
- Africa -- History
- Asia -- History
- Europe -- History
- France -- History
- Germany -- History
- Iraq War, 2003-
- Italy -- History
- Korean War, 1950-1953
- Russia -- History
- Spain -- History
- United States -- Foreign Relations --Afghanistan
- United States -- History
- Vietnam War, 1961-1975
- World War, 1914-1918
- World War, 1939-1945
New History Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- The Chicago Manual of Style - REF Z253 .U69 2003 (print)
- Citation Resources (online)
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers -
REF LB2369 .T8 2007 (print)
Encyclopedias
General Encyclopedias
- World Book Web (online)
Subject Encyclopedias
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History - REF D23 .B45 2005 (print)
- Civil Rights in the United States - REF E184.A1 C47 2000 (print)
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
REF E185 .E54 2006 (print)- Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties - REF KF4747.5 .E53 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas - REF JX1407 .E53 2002 (print)
- The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History (online)
- Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States - REF BP67.U6 E53 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of World Constitutions - REF K3157.E5 E53 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution - REF KF4548 .E53 2000 (print)
- Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues 1945-2000 - Stacks KZ4968 .G67 2001 (print)
- Ohio History Central (online)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations - REF G63 .W67 2004 (print)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
News & Newspapers
- Cincinnati Enquirer (online)
- LexisNexis Academic (online)
LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.- New York Times (1851-2005) (online)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Newsdex (online)
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner.- Newspaper Source (online)
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.- Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University (online)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Statistics & Data Sets
- Historical Statistics of the United States - (online)
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online allows users to access data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised, updated, and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS.
Web Sites
African American History
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience - The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- National Underground Freedom Center - Cincinnati
Ethnic & Multicultural History
- American Jewish Archives - Hebrew Union College, Cincinnati
- Ethnic & Multicultural History Internet Resources - The Library of Congress
- Jews in America: Our Story - Center for Jewish History
- Pew Hispanic Center
Foreign Affairs
Genealogy
- Genealogists/Family Historians - The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
General
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
- Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training - Library of Congress
- September 11, 2001: Documentary Project - American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
- American Presidency Project - University of California, Santa Barbara
- Center for History and New Media - George Mason University
- Civil Rights Digital Library - Digital Library of Georgia
- Digital History - University of Houston
- History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web - American Social History Project / Center for Media and Learning (Graduate Center, CUNY) and the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University)
- New Deal Network - Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute and the Institute for Learning Technologies at Teachers College/Columbia University
- The Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century - Learning Technology Center in The University of Texas at Austin College of Education, Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum and Terra Incognita Productions
- Veterans History Project - American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
- Voice of the Shuttle: Web site for Humanities Research - University of California, Santa Barbara
Maps
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - University of Texas Libraries, The University of Texas at Austin
Military History
- Military History Resources - The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Ohio & Cincinnati History
- Greater Cincinnati Memory Project - SouthWest Ohio and Neighboring Libraries (SWON)
- Ohio Memory: An Online Scrapbook of Ohio History - Ohio Historical Society
- Oral History Digital Collection - Youngstown State University
Women's History
- Military Resources: Women in the Military - The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
- American Women's History: A Research Guide - Digital Collections of Primary Sources from Middle Tennessee State University Library
World History
- World History: Primary and Secondary Sources - The Library of Congress
Additional History Web Sites from UC Libraries
Additional History Resources from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 09/23/2009 by Stephena Harmony.