Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Foreign Language Article Databases / Indexes
- ARTFL Project (online)
OhioLINK provides access to the ARTFL database of texts and other electronic resources, including several historical dictionaries. “At present the corpus consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.” (From ARTFL General Information).- ARTstor (online)
- Culturegrams (online)
- Foreign Language Video Instruction (OhioLINK Digital Media Center) (online)
- Fuente Academica (online)
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.- Goethes Werke (online)
Goethe (1749-1832) was Germany's supreme poet and a writer, and he exercised a profound influence on the German language of today. Goethes Werke contains the complete text of the 143 volumes of the definitive Weimar Edition. Also included are Goethes Gespr䣨e, edited by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann, Leipzig, 1889-96, and Goethes Werke, Nachtr䧥 zur Weimarer Ausgabe, edited by Paul Raabe, Munich, 1990. The Nachtr䧥 include all Goethe's letters discovered since the Weimar Edition was finished and makes this the most complete collection of Goethe's letters in existence.- MLA International Bibliography (online)
- Vente et Gestion (online)
Vente et Gestion provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.- World News Connection (online)
- Xipolis.net: Database (online)
Xipolis is a suite of online German-language reference sources, including the 24-volume Brockhaus encyclopedia, 10-volume Duden dictionary, and a number of specialist tools in disciplines such as literature, music, film, and economics. The xipolis suite also contains a number of reference books for advanced research, such as a compendia of German abbreviations, first and family names, geographical terms, jargon and special vocabularies, and more.Additional Romance Languages & Literature Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
New Foreign Language Titles at RWC with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Basic Japanese-English Dictionary - REF PL 679 .B37 2004 (print)
- The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language - REF HV2475 .G35 2005 (print + DVD-ROM)
- Modern English-Hebrew Dictionary - REF PJ 4833 .Z57 2002 (print)
- Oxford Chinese Dictionary: English-Chinese, Chinese-English - REF PL1455 .O94 2003 (print)
- Oxford German Dictionary: German-English, English-German - REF PF3640 .O9425 2008 (print + CD-ROM)
- The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French - REF PC2640 .O83 2007 (print + CD-ROM)
- Oxford Reference Online - See Bilingual Dictionaries (online)
- The Oxford Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English/English-Spanish - REF PC4640 .O94 2003 (print)
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Web Sites
General
- Allyoucanread.com
Magazines and newspapers from all over the world- ThePaperboy.com
Magazines and newspapers from all over the worldLanguage & Culture Resources
- Fonetiks.org
Talking pronunciation guides- Google: Language Tools
- GROW: German Resources on the Web - American Association of Teachers of German
- Internet Public Library: Language & Linguistics
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) - The University of Texas at Austin
- Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid - University of Notre Dame Archives
- Librarians' Index to the Internet
- Russnet: Russian Language Network - American Council of Teachers of Russian
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures (Other than English) - University of California, Santa Barbara
Additional Romance Languages & Literature Web Sites from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 09/23/2009 by Lauren Wahman.