Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- CQ Researcher (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (about)
- Research Library (about)
English & Communication Article Databases / Indexes
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (online)
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.- Literature Online (LION) (online)
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.- Literature Resource Center (online)
Includes Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.- LitFinder (online)
LitFinder provides the opportunity for complete appreciation and study of great literary works by offering access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, plays and more. It puts complete works - and additional information sources such as biographies, essays and explanations - into the hands of students and researchers for further study, evaluation and enjoyment- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.- OhioLINK Language and Literature Databases (online)
Additional English Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Call Numbers & Ranges
- PN1-6790 - Literature (General)
- PN441-1009.5 - Literary History
- PN1010-1525 - Poetry
- PN1600-3307 - Drama
- PN2000-3307 - Dramatic Representation, The Theater
- PN3311-3503 - Prose, Prose Fiction
- PR1-9680 - English Literature
- PR500-614 - Poetry
- PR621-744 - Drama
- PR750-890 - Prose
- PS1-3576 - American Literature
- PS301-326 - Poetry
- PS330-353 - Drama
- PS360-380 - Prose
Common Subject Headings
- Creation (Literary, artistic, etc)
- Drama
- Fiction
- Literature
- Literature -- History and Criticism
- Poetry
- Short Stories
- English Literature
- American Literature
New English & Communication Titles with Reviews
Additional English Books from UC Libraries
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - REF LB2369 .G53 2003 (print)
- Online! Citation Styles - From Bedford/St. Martin's (online)
- RefWorks (online)
Creates bibliographies automatically using records you have exported from library databases. Sign up for an individual account to use. (Accounts are free for UC students, faculty and staff.)- Research and Documentation Online (online)
A citation style guide from Diana Hacker, author of A Writer's Reference
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus (online)
- Oxford English Dictionary (online)
Directories
- Literary Market Place - REF PN161 .L5 (print & online)
Directory of the book publishing industry in North America with listings for literary agents, publishers, associations, etc.
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Quotations
- Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations (online)
- Oxford Reference Online - See Quotations (online)
Web Sites
English as a Second Language (ESL)
- ESL Resources, Handouts, and Exercises - English as a Second Language - Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
Additional Resources for ESL Students from UC Libraries
General
- The Center for the Book - Library of Congress
Listing of state center affiliates- Indiana Center for the Book - Indiana State Library
- Kentucky Center for the Book - Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
- Librarians' Index to the Internet
- LibriVox
Free audio recordings of books and poems (that are available from the public domain)- Ohio Center for the Book - Cleveland Public Library
- RWC Department of English and Communication
- University of Cincinnati Authors (Faculty, Staff, Alumni) - UC Magazine
- Voice of the Shuttle: Web site for Humanities Research - University of California, Santa Barbara
Literature
- Electronic Text Center, English Language Resources - University of Virginia Library
- Google Web Directory: Literature
- Internet Public Library: Literature
- Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism Guide
Poetry
- Poets.org - Academy of American Poets
Additional English Web Sites from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 12/11/2008 by Lauren Wahman.