Article Databases / Indexes
Subject Articles Databases / Indexes
- Art Full Text (online)
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 313 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.- Business Source Complete (online)
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.- Design and Applied Arts Index (online)
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.- Communication and Mass Media Complete (online)
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. Specific topics include broadcasting (television, cable, radio), film studies and educational media.- Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection (online)
Includes the full-text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.- Electronic Journal Center (online)
Current issues of scholarly and research journals (generally within the last 10 years). Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Go to "Journals by Subject" on home page and select "Arts and Humanities”
- Select "Fine and Performing Arts"
- Film & Television Literature Index (online)
Film & Television Literature Index covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. F&TLI has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.- JSTOR (online)
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception. Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Click on “browse” from home page to retrieve subject listings of journals
- Categories for the arts include: Art & Art History; Film Studies; Music; Performing Arts
- Music Index (online)
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive annual subject-author guide to music literature. Published since 1949, The Music Index contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
General Articles Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Additional Art and Media Article Databases / Indexes from UC Libraries
Biographical Information
- American National Biography - REF CT213.A68 1999 (print & online)
This 24 volume publication includes approximately 17,500 entries of men and women who lived in America and whose work and actions contributed significantly to the course of American history. All entries are of people who died before 1996.- Artists in Ohio 1787-1900: a Biographical Dictionary
REF N6530.O3 H38 2000 (print)
Brief biographical entries on artists who actively pursued their professions within the state of Ohio. Includes painters, sculptors, lithographers, engravers, photographers and graphic artists. Information for each entry includes: birth and death dates; artistic specialties; family background and education; places of residence, exhibition history, and sometimes a contemporary description or appraisal.- Biography Reference Bank (online)
The database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.- Biography Resource Center (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who titles from the past decade.- Contemporary Artists - REF N6490.C6567 1989 (print)
Contains entries for more than 1,000 artists. Each entry provides an overview of the artist's life, exhibitions, as well as commentary by a noted critic. Many entries are accompanied by an illustration.- Current Biography - REF CT100.C8 (print)
Published monthly with annual accumulative volume and includes both biographies and obituaries of approximately 150 people each year. People from all nationalities and variety of occupations are included.- Dictionary of Women Artists - REF N8354.D53 1997 (print)
This two volume publication covers women artists of all types of media from the Middle Ages to modern times and is international in scope. The entries include basic biographical information, a list of exhibitions, bibliography and a signed essay critiquing the artist’s work.- The Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links. Detailed biographies of artists of all media are included.- The Grove Dictionary of Music Online (online)
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Additional Art and Media Biographical Information from UC Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Digital media
- Digital video
- Electro-acoustics
- Motion pictures -- United States
- Multimedia systems
- Photography
- Television broadcasting
- Web sites -- Design
Common Call Numbers & Ranges
- QA 75-75 - Computer systems and software (e.g. multimedia systems)
- N - Artists and art history
- NC - Drawing, design, illustration
- ND - Painting
- PN 1990-1992 - Broadcasting (television and radio)
- PN 1993- 1999 - Motion Pictures
- TK 5101-6720 - Digital media, web sites design, electro-acoustics
- TR - Photograpy
Electronic Books
- Photography Criticism Cyberarchive (online)
Provides access to hundreds of essays and a number of complete books on various aspects of photography (e.g., history, criticism, and theory) by early and contemporary writers from the medium's inception through the present day. Approximately 25 essays or complete books will be added to the archive each month.New Electronic Media Titles at RWC with Review
Citation & Style Guides
- Citation, Copyright and Plagiarism Resources (online)
- How to Cite Sources in a Paper OhioLINK guide (online)
Chronologies
The following guide lists resources that are organize events by year and date:
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Dictionary of Multimedia: Terms & Acrnonyms - REF QA76.15 .H318 2005 (print)
- Dictionary of Symbols - REF BL 603.L5413 1991 (print)
- The Firefly Visual Dictionary - REF PE 1629.C62 2002 (print)
- Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.- The Illustrated Digital Imaging Dictionary - REF TA 1509.G76 1998 (print)
- Visual Dictionary - REF PE 1629.V48 2002 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
Full text database that includes over 100 dictionaries and reference works including:
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (online)
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (online)
- The Oxford Dictionary of Art (online)
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music (online)
- The Oxford Companion to Music (online)
- The Oxford Companion to the Photograph (online)
Additional Art and Media Dictionaries & Thesauri from UC Libraries
Directories
- American Art Directory - REF N 50.A54 (print)
Comprehensive listings of museums, organizations, art schools, state art councils, art magazines, open exhibitions, and scholarships.- AV Marketplace - Reference LB 1043.A86 (print)
Directory of audiovisual products and services including film, video, computer systems. Also includes industry related associations and a list of trade journals.- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media - REF Z 6951.A97 (print)
Includes television and radio stations, cable systems, newspapers, magazines and journals in the United States and Canada.- International Directory of the Arts - REF N 50.I67 (print)
This three volume publication Includes museums (including names of key personnel), art galleries, associations, restorers, auctioneers, and periodicals.- Plunkett Research Online (online)
This database takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, including media and entertainment. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.- Radio Advertising Source (online)
nformation on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following:Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source.- TV and Cable Source (online)
Information on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following:Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source.Additional Art and Media Directories from UC Libraries
Images & Sounds
Image Resources
- AP Multimedia Archive (online)
The Photo Archive is an electronic library containing the AP's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. It is accessible via the Internet and made available in this format to schools K-12, colleges and universities and public libraries nationwide by AccuWeather, Inc. (From the Site's FAQ page).- American Memory (online)
American Memory is a multimedia web site of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s vast holdings. A historic initiative in its own right, American Memory currently makes available more than 100 collections and more than 9 million individual items to users in the U.S. and throughout the world.- Art and Architecture (online)
OhioLINK Digital Media Center database. Approximately 3000 art and architectural images. Collections include: Greek and Roman architecture and sculpture, Minoan Art, Brueghel and Reubens paintings from the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, works of Michelangelo, and selected images from the following art history textbooks: Gardner's Art Through the Ages, Stokstad's History of Art, Gilbert's Living with Art, Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.- ARTstor (online)
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.- CultureGram (online)
Culturegrams online includes the World edition with 182 country reports including information on the culture and customs, maps, statistics, images and sound files. The online database also includes electronic versions of the States and Kids Editions, as well as the Photo Gallery, Famous People, and Recipe Collection.- Greater Cincinnati Memory project (online)
Over 6000 images from the pre-1940 Greater Cincinnati area.- New York Public Library Picture Collection Online (online)
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.- OhioLINK Digital Media Center (online)
The Digital Media Center (DMC) provides widespread access to images, sounds, video, numeric data, and other types of media information.- Picture History (online)
Find the pictures you need in this easy to use digital library of high quality images and footage illustrating more than 200 years of American history.- Visual Resources (online)
A list of image resource web sites created by the UC DAAP Library.Sound Resources
- Classical Music Library (online)
Classical Music Library is the world's first classical music collection for listening on computers in the library and at home. Brought to you by Classical, it is a complete collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen to music both in the library (with headphones) or at home (by accessing the service via the library's secure system remotely) while simultaneously searching and browsing its vast reference database.- Naxos Music Library (online)
20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,850 albums. Over 500 jazz artists are represented. Comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalog and offers the very best in blues and R&B.- OhioLINK Digital Media Center (online)
The Digital Media Center (DMC) provides widespread access to images, sounds, video, numeric data, and other types of media information.Video Resources
- Digital Video Collection (online)
Educational Films & Documentaries contain full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.- Open Video Project (online)
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content, the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared, similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.- Television News Archives, Vanderbilt University (online)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.Additional Images, Sounds & Video from UC Libraries
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Journal, Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal Finder using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
- Art, Architecture & Applied Arts
- Journalism and Communications (includes radio & TV broadcasting)
- Music, Dance, Drama, & Film
The following databases are collections of scholarly full-text journals.
- Electronic Journal Center (online)
Current issues of scholarly and research journals (generally within the last 10 years). Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Go to "Journals by Subject" on home page and select "Arts and Humanities”
- Select "Fine and Performing Arts"
- JSTOR (online)
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception. Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Click on “browse” from home page to retrieve subject listings of journals
- Categories for the arts include: Art & Art History; Film Studies; Music; Performing Arts
Additional Art and Media Resources from the UC DAAP Library
Additional Music and Performing Arts Resources from the UC CCM Library
This page was last modified on 1/09/2007 by Stephena Harmony.