Article Databases / Indexes
Health & Medicine Databases / Indexes
- CINAHL with Full Text (online)
The CINAHL database provides access to nursing and allied health literature and information from 1982 to the present. Over one thousand journals are indexed in the CINAHL database. Nursing and allied health journals are indexed cover-to-cover (regular journals), whereas only articles that are germaine to the database are selected from the other journal titles (selective journals).- Health and Wellness Resource Center (online)
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.- Health Source: Consumer Edition (online)
The database features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (online)
The database provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. Updated on a daily basis.- MEDLINE with Full Text (online)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. This database contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from over 3,900 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.- PubMed (online)
PubMed provides additional search features such as the ability to link to “Related Articles”, and now provides a link to search the OhioLINK catalog for an electronic copy of an article. IMPORTANT: Please remember, if you do not find an electronic version of your article, search the UCLID catalog or contact a librarian. The OLinks search does not reflect electronic journals and databases to which UC individually subscribes.- Scopus (online)
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.- Additional Databases in Health & Medicine
General Databases / Indexes
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Dental care
- Dental assistants
- Dental emergencies
- Dental ethics
- Dental health education
- Dental hygiene
- Dental hygienists
- Dental instruments and apparatus
- Dental materials
- Dental offices
- Dental personnel
- Dental public health
- Dentist and patient
- Dentistry
- Nutrition and dental health
- Teeth
- Teeth -- Wounds and injuries
New Dental Hygiene Titles at RWC with Reviews
Certification & Licensure
- American Dental Hygienist Association (online)
State and National testing information- Ohio State Dental Board Licensing Information (online)
Citation & Style Guides
- Citation Resources - guide created by RWC Library (online)
- How to Cite Sources in a Paper OhioLink guide (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Credo Reference (online)
A collection of medical dictionaries- Mosby's Dental Dictionary (online)
- Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals (online)
Encyclopedias
- AccessScience (online)
Full access to articles and dictionary terms from the 8th edition of the McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology, with new and revised content from the encyclopedia's editors and contributors, including recent research developments, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations, and much more.
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Core Dental Hygiene Journals
- Access: the Newsmagazine of the American Dental Hygienist's Association
- online (2001-present)
- Journal of Dental Hygiene (formerly Dental Hygiene)
- microfilm 1973-1988 ; 1988- 2003
- online (1996-present)
Full-Text Journals (electronic)
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Societies & Associations
- ADA: American Dental Association (online)
- ADHA: American Dental Hygienists' Association (online)
- Ohio Dental Hygienists' Association (online)
Web Sites
- CDC Oral Health Resources (online)
- ClinicalTrials.gov (online)
- RWC Dental Hygiene Department (online)
- WHO Oral Health Country/Area Profile Programme (online)
A collection of global information on dental diseases and oral health services. Includes statistics organized by country.
This page was last modified on 09/30/08 by Heather Maloney .