Articles Databases / Indexes
General Articles Indexes / Databases
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- Expanded Academic ASAP (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Biology Articles Databases / Indexes
- AGRICOLA (online)
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Coverage: 1970 - present- BIOSIS Previews (online)
The premier source of life science information. It contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are reviewed for inclusion, representing virtually every life science discipline.
Coverage: 1980 - present- ISI Web of Science (online)
ISI Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references captured.- OhioLink Digital Video Collection (online)
Educational videos to show in class, link to from course pages, use for research , or view for fun. The new videos cover a wide variety of subjects, including: computer science/information technology, math, and science.- Scopus (online)
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.Additional Biology Articles Databases / Indexes from the University of Cincinnati Libraries, Biology-Chemistry Library
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- adaptation (biology)
- aquatic biology
- bacteria
- biological diversity
- biology
- biology -- handbooks, manuals, etc.
- biology, experimental
- botany
- cells
- ecology
- environmental engineering
- environmental health
- environmental impact analysis
- environmental monitoring
- environmental protection
- environmental sciences
- environmentally induced diseases
- evolution
- genetics
- health risk assessment
- human ecology
- human biology
- life (biology)
- life sciences
- microbiology
- molecular biology
- nature -- effect of human beings on
- population biology
- pollution -- environmental aspects
- zoology
New Biology Titles at RWC with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Citation, Copyright and Plagiarism Resources (online)
- How to Cite Sources in a Paper OhioLINK guide (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology - Ebook (online)
- The Dictionary of Ecology and Environmental Science - REF GE10 .D53 1993 (print)
Contains environmental biology, chemistry, geology, and physics- Facts on File Dictionary of Biology - QH302.5 .F38 1999 (print)
- Terms of Environment, U.S. Environment Protection Agency (EPA) (online)
Defines in nontechnical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publicationsAdditional Biology Dictionaries & Thesauri from UC Libraries
Directories
- National Wildlife Federation 2004 Conservation Directory : The Guide to Worldwide Environmental Organizations
REF S920 .C64 2004 (print)
Contains more than 4,000 government agencies, nongovernmental organizations, and colleges and universities, and more than 18,000 environmentalists who specialize in environmental conservation, education, and natural resource use and management- The National Environmental Directory (online)
Contains more than 13,000 organizations in the United States concerned with environmental issues and environmental educationAdditional Biology Directories from UC Libraries
Encyclopedias
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia - REF QL7 .G7814 2004 (print)
- Concise Encyclopedia Biology - REF QH302.5 .A2313 1996 (print)
Contains more than 1700 entries, covering anatomy, biochemistry, botany, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, physiology, and zoology- The Complete Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs : Descriptions, Cultivation Requirements, Pruning, Planting -
REF QK474.87 .C65 2003 (print)
Profiles 8,500 trees and shrubs- Trees of Ohio : Field Guide / Stan Tekiela - REF QK 484.03 .T44 2004 (print)
Contains 115 profiles of Ohio trees with companion photographs of foliage- American Horticultural Society Great Plant Guide - REF SB 407 .A37 2004 (print)
Contains over 3000 entries- The Encyclopedia of Earth (online)
An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. It's a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The- The Encyclopedia of the Biological Sciences - REF QH13 .G7 197 (print)
Contains over 800 articles- Encyclopedia of Environmental Science - REF GE10 .M66 2000 (print)
Contains over 1000 entries, covering basic terminology and key topics in the field of environmental science- The Green Encyclopedia - REF GE10 .F73 1992 (print)
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science - REF QH540.4 .M3 1980 (print)
Contains 300 entries
Government Resources
- Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (online)
- Environmental Protection Agency (online)
- FirstGov for Science (online)
Contains gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies, includes section on biology- Fish and Wildlife Service
- National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
- National Science Foundation
- Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (online)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Web Sites
- Earth Portal (online)
A comprehensive resource for timely, objective, science-based information about the environment.- Librarians' Index to the Internet - Biology (online)
The mission of Librarians' Index to the Internet is to provide a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources- Librarians' Index to the Internet - Botany (online)
- The National Environmental Directory (online)
Contains more than 13,000 organizations in the United States concerned with environmental issues and environmental education- National Library Environment (online)
Contains over 1,000 Congressional research service reports on the environment and related topics- Science Research.com (online)
A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. It allows students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access pertinent science information quickly and easily.- Scitopia.org
Contains more than three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and technology can be searched through the site.
- Terms of Environment, U.S. Environment Protection Agency (EPA) (online)
Defines in nontechnical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publicationsAdditional Biology Internet Resources from UC Libraries
RWC's Biology Department
This page was last modified on 08/20/2008 by Michelle McKinney.