Article Databases / Indexes
Art Databases / Indexes
- Art Full Text (online)
Art Full Text provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 313 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.- Business Source Complete (online)
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.- Design and Applied Arts Index (online)
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.- Electronic Journal Center (online)
Current issues of scholarly and research journals (generally within the last 10 years. Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Go to "Journals by Subject" on home page and select "Arts & Humanities"
- Select " "Fine and Performing Arts"
- Illustration Index VIII, 1992-1996 / Marsha C. Appel
REF N 7525.A66 1998 (print)
A subject index to illustrations in 8-10 popular periodicals and a few books. RWC Library also has volumes V-VII.- JSTOR (online)
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception. Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Click on “browse” from home page to retrieve subject listings of journals
- Categories for the arts include: Art & Art History; Film Studies; Music; Performing Arts
General Articles Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Additional Art Article Databases/Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Biographical Information
- American National Biography - REF CT213.A68 1999 (print & online)
This 24 volume publication includes approximately 17,500 entries of men and women who lived in America and whose work and actions contributed significantly to the course of American history. All entries are of people who died before 1996.- Artists in Ohio 1787-1900: a Biographical Dictionary - REF N6530.O3 H38 2000 (print)
Brief biographical entries on artists who actively pursued their professions within the state of Ohio. Includes painters, sculptors, lithographers, engravers, photographers and graphic artists. Information for each entry includes: birth and death dates; artistic specialties; family background and education; places of residence, exhibition history, and sometimes a contemporary description or appraisal.- A Biographical Dictionary of Artists (online)
Covering over 1300 artists, this comprehensive and detailed reference source will be of great value to anyone researching art and its history. The dictionary is made up of alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects, and sculptors from pre-Christian times to the present. The coverage of the book is global with many Asian and African artists included. Each artist's entry includes dates, training, career, influences on his or her work, and, for approximately one-third of the artists, a bibliography of further reading.- Biography Reference Bank (online)
The database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.- Biography Resource Center (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who titles from the past decade.- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (online)
Based on the highly praised Oxford Dictionary of Art, this is an authoritative and up-to-date guide to Western Art from ancient Greece to the present day. Written in clear, lively prose, this invaluable reference maintains a careful balance between fact and appraisal. In its pages, we encounter artists ranging from Polyclitus of Argos to Andy Warhol, with entries on younger contemporary artists, such as, Damien Hirst, Julian Schnabel, and Rachel Whiteread. Here also are periods and movements, including the Classical period, the Renaissance, Impressionism, the Ashcan School, and Cubism, as well as techniques and styles such as encaustic painting, encarnado, lithography, cabinet painting, and blot drawing.- Contemporary Artists
REF N6490.C6567 1989 (print)
Contains entries for more than 1,000 artists. Each entry provides an overview of the artist's life, exhibitions, as well as commentary by a noted critic. Many entries are accompanied by an illustration.- Current Biography - REF CT100.C8 (print)
Published monthly with annual accumulative volume and includes both biographies and obituaries of approximately 150 people each year. People from all nationalities and variety of occupations are included.- Dictionary of Women Artists - REF N8354.D53 1997 (print)
This two volume publication covers women artists of all types of media from the Middle Ages to modern times and is international in scope. The entries include basic biographical information, a list of exhibitions, bibliography and a signed essay critiquing the artist’s work.- The Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links. Detailed biographies of artists of all media are included.
Additional Art Biographical Information from UC Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Commercial art
- Graphic arts
- Graphic design (Typography)
- Color in advertising
- Drawing
- Painting
- Web typography
- Advertising layout and typography
- Art and industry
- Printing
Common Call Numbers & Ranges
- N - Artists and art history
- NC - Drawing, design, illustration
- ND - Painting
- TK 5101-6720 - Digital media, web sites design, electro-acoustics
- TR - Photography
New Art & Visual Communication Titles at RWC with Reviews
Additional Art Books from UC Libraries
Citation & Style Guides
- Citation, Copyright and Plagiarism Resources (online)
- How to Cite Sources in a Paper OhioLINK guide (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Dictionary of Symbols - REF BL 603.L5413 1991 (print)
- The Firefly Visual Dictionary - REF PE 1629.C62 2002 (print)
- Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.- The Illustrated Digital Imaging Dictionary - REF TA 1509.G76 1998 (print)
- Visual Dictionary - REF PE 1629.V48 2002 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
Full text database that includes over 100 dictionaries and reference works including:Additional Art Dictionaries & Thesauri from UC Libraries
Directories
- American Art Directory - REF N 50.A54 (print)
Comprehensive listings of museums, organizations, art schools, state art councils, art magazines, open exhibitions, and scholarships.- International Directory of the Arts - REF N 50.I67 (print)
This three volume publication Includes museums (including names of key personnel), art galleries, associations, restorers, auctioneers, and periodicals.Additional Art Directories from UC Libraries
Images & Sounds
Associated Press archive of photographs, from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, texts of wire stories, and info-graphics. The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year.
- American Memory (online)
American Memory is a multimedia web site of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s vast holdings. A historic initiative in its own right, American Memory currently makes available more than 100 collections and more than 9 million individual items to users in the U.S. and throughout the world.- Art and Architecture (online)
OhioLINK Digital Media Center Database. Approximately 3000 art and architectural images. Collections include: Greek and Roman architecture and sculpture, Minoan Art, Brueghel and Reubens paintings from the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, works of Michelangelo, and selected images from the following art history textbooks: Gardner's Art Through the Ages, Stokstad's History of Art, Gilbert's Living with Art, Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.- ARTstor (online)
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.- CultureGrams (online)
Culturegrams online includes the World edition with 182 country reports including information on the culture and customs, maps, statistics, images and sound files. The online database also includes electronic versions of the States and Kids Editions, as well as the Photo Gallery, Famous People, and Recipe Collection.- Greater Cincinnati Memory project (online)
Over 6000 images from the pre-1940 Greater Cincinnati area.- New York Public Library Picture Collection Online (online)
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards.- OhioLINK Digital Media Center (online)
The Digital Media Center (DMC) provides widespread access to images, sounds, video, numeric data, and other types of media information.- Picture History (online)
Picture History is an on-line archive of images and film footage illuminating more than 200 years of American history.- Visual Resources (online)
A list of image resource web sites created by the UC DAAP Library.
Additional Image Resources from UC Libraries
Back to top
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Journal, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found by through the Library's Full Text Journal Finder by Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
The following databases are collections of scholarly full-text journals.
- Electronic Journal Center (online)
Full text of current issues of scholarly and research journals (generally within the last 10 years. Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Go to "Journals by Subject" on home page and select "Arts & Humanities"
- Select " "Fine and Performing Arts"
- JSTOR
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception. Select these options to locate subject specific journals:
- Click on “browse” from home page to retrieve subject listings of journals
- Categories for the arts include: Art & Art History; Film Studies; Music; Performing Arts
Additional Art Resources from UC Libraries
Additional Design Resources from UC Libraries
This page was last modified on 9/02/08 by Stephena Harmony