Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Subject Databases / Indexes
- Architectural Index (online)
This index provides citations to a small list of major architectural magazines and is particularly useful for locating information on recent building projects, and for locating information by geographic site or architect/designer. Coverage varies, but most periodicals are indexed from the early 1980's.- Art and Architecture (OhioLink Digital Media Center) (online)
Approximately 3000 art and architectural images. Collections include: Greek and Roman architecture and sculpture, Minoan Art, Brueghel and Reubens paintings from the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, works of Michelangelo, and selected images from the following art history textbooks: Gardner's Art Through the Ages, Stokstad's History of Art, Gilbert's Living with Art, Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.- Art Bibliographies Modern (online)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews...Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (online)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.- ARTstor (online)
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.Additional Art Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Call Numbers & Ranges
- NA190-1555.5 - Architecture, History
- NB60-1115 - Sculpture, History
- NC50-266 - Drawing, History
- ND49-813 - Painting, History
- NX440-632 - History of the Arts
Common Subject Headings
- Architecture
- Art
- Art, Ancient
- Art, Comparative
- Art, Gothic
- Art -- History
- Art Nouveau
- Art, Renaissance
- Art, Rococo
- Art, Romanesque
- Art and Society
- Drawing
- Expressionism (Art)
- Feminism and Art
- Influence (Literary, artistic, etc.)
- Painting -- History
- Painting, Modern
New Art History Titles with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Artists in Ohio, 1787-1900: A Biographical Dictionary - REF N6530.O3 H38 2000 (print)
- A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture - REF NA31 .C864 2006 (print)
- Dictionary of Women Artists - REF N8354 .D53 1997 (print)
- Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links
- The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists - REF N33 .L353 2000 (print)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American Art Before 1914 - REF N6507 .E53 1999 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art - REF N7560 .E53 1998 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist Art - REF N6370 .E53 2000 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art - REF N6502 .E53 1999 (print)
- Encyclopedia of World Art - REF N31 .E6 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Web Sites
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920 - Frances Loeb Library, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University
- Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America - Library of Congress
- Art History Resources on the Web
- ArtSource
- Beazley Archive - Classical Art Research Centre, University of Oxford
- Cincinnati Art Museum Collection Database
- Mother of All Art and Art History Links Page - School of Art & Design, University of Michigan
- Perseus Art and Architecture Browser - Department of the Classics, Tufts University
- SPIRO: Architectural Slide Library - University of California, Berkeley
- Timeline of Art History - The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Voice of the Shuttle: Art History - University of California, Santa Barbara
Article Databases / Indexes | Books | Citation & Style Guides | Dictionaries & Thesauri | Encyclopedias| Journals | Web Sites
This page was last updated on 09/03/2008 by Lauren Wahman.