Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Women's Studies Article Databases / Indexes
- Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-6/30/2006) (online)
The database provides full-text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are easily accessed through CWI. Information on women in over 190 countries is compiled in a single collection bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, business administration and political science.- Gender Studies Database (online)
Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.- GenderWatch (online)
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."- Gerritsen Collection (online)
Welcome to The Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, an international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. The database contains 265 periodicals and 4,471 monographs published from 1543-1945 in fifteen different languages.- Women’s Studies International (online)
Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 548,220 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.Additional Women's Studies Article Databases / Indexes from University of Cincinnati Libraries
Biographical Information
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (online)
This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.- Biography Resource Center + Who's Who (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who® titles from the past decade.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using a Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the UC Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Women's History
- Great Lives from History: American Women Series - REF HQ1412. G74 1995 (print)
- A History of Women in the United States: State-by-State Reference - REF HQ1410 .H58 2003 (print)
- History of Women in the United States: Topically Arranged Articles on the Evolution of Women's History in the United States - REF HQ1410 .H57 1992 (print)
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History - REF HQ1121 .O93 2008 (print)
Common Subject Headings
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- A to Z of American Women Leaders & Activists - REF HB1412 .L36 2002 (print)
- American National Biography - REF CT213 .A68 1998 (print & online)
- The Continuum Dictionary of Women's Biography - REF CT3202 .C66 1989 (print)
- Dictionary of World Biography - REF CT104 .D54 2000 (print)
- Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary - REF CT3260 .N57 (print)
- Ohio Biographical Dictionary: People of All Times and All Places Who Have Been Important to the History and Life of the State - REF CT254.O35 1997 (print)
Encyclopedias
- Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality - REF HQ1115 .B38 2008 (print)
- Black Women in America - REF E185.86 .B542 2005 (print)
- Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia - REF E185.86 .B542 1993 (print)
- The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality - REF HQ21 .I68 2004 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender - REF HQ1115 .E529 2001 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers - REF HQ1236 .R29 2001 (print)
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide - REF HQ1154 .G74 2003 (print)
- International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage (online)
- The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives - REF CT213 .S37 2000 (print)
- The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism - REF HQ1115 .W644 2006 (print)
Handbooks
- Handbook of American Women's History - REF HQ1410 .H36 1990 (print)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Web Sites
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits and research guides:
- American Women - Library of Congress
- By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress
- Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party - Manuscript Division, Library of Congress
- American Women's History: A Research Guide - Digital Collections of Primary Sources from Middle Tennessee State University Library
- Greater Cincinnati Memory Project - SouthWest Ohio and Neighboring Libraries (SWON)
- History of Women - University of Washington Libraries
- Ohio Memory Project: An Online Scrapbook of Ohio History - Ohio Historical Society
- Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies - University of California, Santa Barbara
This page was last modified on 12/17/2008 by Lauren Wahman.