Article Databases & Indexes
- Academic Search Complete contains a variety of topics including reviews of technology and electronics in popular magazines. The most recent years are available in full text, often in a PDF format. Some of the magazines that include articles and reviews on technology are:
- Consumer Reports
- Consumer Reports Buying Guide
- Forbes
- InfoWorld
- Macworld
- Newsweek
- PC Magazine
- PC World
- Poptronics (formerly Popular Electronics)
- Popular Mechanics
- Popular Science
- Time
- TWICE: This Week in Consumer Electronics
- U.S. News & World Report
You can search within these journals by following these steps:
- Launch Academic Search Complete (see above link).
- Click "Publications" on the Navigation bar.
- Type the name of the journal you'd like to search in the "Browse Publications" text box.
- Click on the journal title from the list of results.
- Click "search within this publication" link.
- A new screen will open with the journal title in the first search box. Enter your search terms in the second and third search boxes.
To search for product reviews, follow these steps:
- Enter the name of the software/hardware in the "Find" box at the top of the screen.
- Go to "Refine Search."
- Under "Document Type" scroll to "Product Reviews."
- Click on the "Search" button.
Additional databases to search for information on computer and information technology:
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
InfoSci-Journals, covers the areas of computer science and information technology management. The database provides access to 100 journals. The interface allows you to perform searches using "Basic," "Advanced," or "Topic search" functions, and you can also browse through all items in the database by selecting the "Table of Contents" icon.
Electronic Books & Reference Sources
Includes information on computing and networking. Also known as Auerbach ITknowledgeBASE, it provides current and back issues of vital journals, essential reference books and over 10,000 articles.
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Includes or has links to full text.
Web Sites
About contains a variety of reviews of specific products. Look within the site’s directory for two noteworthy entries: Computing & Technology and Electronics & Gadgets. Computing & Technology will feature reviews of laptops, scanners, printers, desktop personal computer, etc. Electronics & Gadgets will feature reviews of cell phones, digital cameras, palmtops, mobile devices, etc.
- eWeek.com
High-tech news and reviews.- Government Computer News
A great resource on federal, state, and local government technology.- InfoWorld.com
In-depth coverage and evaluation of IT products for technology experts involved in major purchase decisions for their companies.- Librarian's Index to the Internet: Computers
Features dozens of high-quality websites carefully selected, described, and organized by a team of librarians. Topics include information on computer hardware and software, web design, new developments in technology and more.- New York Times: Technology
Technology news and reviews.- Wired Magazine
- Yahoo Directories
Yahoo has a variety of helpful directories including:- ZD-Net
ZD-Net contains product Reviews as well as White Papers on specific products. This resource may require users to first register, free of charge, before providing full text.
Additional technology and electronic resources available from UC libraries
- RWC Office Information Technology subject guide
- University of Cincinnati Libraries Information Technology subject guide
This page was last modified on 9/25/09 by Stephena Harmony.