Find statistical information on a variety of areas by clicking on the subject of interest from the list below. If you have any questions about using a specific resource, please ask a library staff member.
Business & Economics - City/State/Country - Crime - Demographics - Education
General Statistics - Government - Health - Labor - Religion - World
Business & Economics
- American salaries and wages survey - REF HD4973 .A67 1999 (print)
- EconData.net (online)
links to socioeconomic data sources, arranged by subject and provider, and pointers to the Web's premiere data collections.- International Financial Statistics - IMF (online)
The IFS reports, for most countries of the world, data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts and national accounts. Some data goes back as far as 1945.- The Gallup Organization (online)
Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years. Great site for statistics on politics, government, economy and business.- Morningstar Online (online)
Performance statistics, written fund analyses, and analytical tools of over 3,500 funds. Graphing of funds over a period of time is fairly easy. Searching the entire database for funds that meet your specifications is also possible.- National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) on STAT-USA (online)
Contains textual and numeric information from 15 different government agencies. Information includes export/import data, energy statistics, exchange rates, demographic and economic statistics for foreign countries and marketing research reports. Contains full text of the current U.S. Industrial Outlook, World Factbook, and the Global Trade Directory.- STAT-USA (online)
The site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government.- TableBase (online)
This database specializes in tabular data dealing with companies, products, industries, and demographics. Tables cover market share, rankings, forecasts, shipments, output, consumption, users, exports, imports, capacity, etc.- USA Trade Online (online)
Detailed import and export statistics of the United States. Includes current and cumulative export and import data on more than 18,000 commodities that can also be limited by country.- WiserTrade (online)
Formerly MiserTrade, this is a database of U.S. Trade statistics. The following are some of the series provided: US State Exports; US Customs District Exports Imports; US Exports and Imports; Japanese Exports and Imports. Some of the annual data goes back to 1989.
City/State/Country
- County and City Data Book (online)
The Official population and housing data from the 2000 Census plus business and other data for: All U.S. counties; Cities (25,000 or more inhabitants), and Places (2,500 or more inhabitants).- Historical Statistics of the United States (online)
Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.- The Ohio almanac : an encyclopedia of indispensable information about the Buckeye universe - REF AY271.L6 O52 2004 (print)
- StateMaster.com (online)
Allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states.- Statistical Abstracts of the United States (online)
The National Data Book contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Crime
- Bureau of Justice (online)
Statistics about crime, law enforcement, corrections and related topics.- Bureau of Justice Statistics Publications
Mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.- National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect (online)
Review research, reports, databases, and other information regarding child abuse and neglect, child welfare issues, and other relevant statistics. Information arranged into these categories: child abuse and neglect statistics and research, child welfare and foster care statistics and research, and sources of related national data.- NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service (online)
This database indexes and abstracts journals, reports, and documents from all levels of government and the private sector relating to criminal justice and law enforcement. Topics such as victims of crime, death penalty, child abuse, youth gangs, and statistics are included. Most documents published by NCJRS sponsoring agencies since 1995 are available in full text.- Ohio and U.S. Crime Statistics (online)
Stats from the Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services.- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics(online)
Tables of data on criminal justice and related topics collected from governmental and private agencies- Statistics and Research Sources (online)
List of resources from the United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network web site.- Uniform Crime Reports 1998 to Present (online)
National crime statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, including offenses cleared, persons arrested, homicide patterns, and law enforcement personnel
Demographics
- Aging Stats (online)
Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics.- Census Bureau (online)
A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data- CensusScope.org (online)
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends.- Migration Information.org (online)
Provides fresh thought, authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends.
- Office of Population Research at Princeton University
The Office of Population Research at Princeton University (OPR) is a leading demographic research and training center.- Population Reference Bureau (online)
Informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment.
- Statistical handbook on the American family REF HQ536 .S727 1999 (print)
- Statistical handbook on aging Americans REF HQ1064.U5 S695 1994 (print)
- Statistical record of older Americans REF HQ1064.U5 S697 1994 (print)
- United Nations Population Information Network (online)
POPIN strives to make international, regional and national population information, particularly information available from United Nations sources, easily available to the international community.
Education
- Child Stats.gov (online)
Easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.- Chronicle of Higher Education (online)
The online version of The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, statistical data and more.- Digest of Education Statistics (online)
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.- National Center for Education Statistics (online)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.- School District Demographics System (online)
The School District Demographics site is related to the access and use of school district demographic information.- SchoolMatters.com (online)
A place for parents, educators and leaders to research information about public schools. View performance, spending and demographic information for any state. Find national information to learn more about public education in the United States.
General Statistics
- LEXIS-NEXIS Statistical Universe (online)
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.- OECD Statistics (online)
300,000 series of monthly, quarterly and annual OECD data since 160. It covers the following areas: development, economic indicators, national accounts, employment, financial and fiscal affairs, industry, science and technology, energy and agriculture- Statsnetbase (online)
A survey of statistics that presents methods in all areas including Bayes, environmental, and medical statistics.
Government
- FedStats (online)
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.- The Gallup Organization (online)
Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years. Great site for statistics on politics, government, economy and business.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States (online)
The National Data Book contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Health
- American Cancer Society
The ACS tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis.- National Center for Health Statistics
A rich source of information about America’s health.
Labor
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor.- The Gallup Organization (online)
Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years. Great site for statistics on politics, government, economy and business.- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Training and education; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; and working conditions about a wide variety of jobs.
Religion
- Adherents.com
Religion statistics.
World
- China Data Online (online)
Includes reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.- CultureGrams (online)
Includes 182 country reports including information on the culture and customs, maps, statistics, images and sound files. The online database also includes electronic versions of the States and Kids Editions, as well as the Photo Gallery, Famous People, and Recipe Collection.- DSI Data Services (online)
Includes world statistics from UNIDO, IMF, OECD, EUROSTAT, & the German Statistical Office.- Eurostat Statistics (online)
Includes general statistics, economy, finance, population, social conditions, industry, trade and services, transport, and regional statistics.- Europa World Plus (online)
The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Regional Surveys of the World series. The year book covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes geography, health, agriculture, mining, communications and education statistics.- The Gallup Organization (online)
Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years. Great site for statistics on politics, government, economy and business.- Nation Master.com (online)
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.- Population Reference Bureau (online)
Informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment.
- United Nations Statistics Division (online)
compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates, including the Statistical Yearbook, World Statistics Pocketbook and yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics.- World Data Analyst (online)
Users can analyze countries and regions at a glance. It offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Users can create tables, charts, and export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching.
This page was last modified on 12/04/2008 by Michelle McKinney.