Almanacs & Facts
- CIA World Factbook (online)
Country profiles from the U.S. government including information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues
Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
News Article Databases / Indexes
- World News Connection (online)
Subject-Related Databases / Indexes
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (online)
- CultureGrams (online)
- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (online)
Biographical Information
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Reference Books
- Great Spanish Films Since 1950 - REF PN1993.5.S7 S29 2008 (print)
Search Tips:
A Subject Search for a director's name (last name first, first name last) may produce works available throughout UC, including RWC. For specific resources focused on criticism and interpretation, look for a subject heading ending in "-- Criticism and interpretation."
Common Subject Headings
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources
Web Sites
A citation index of films, television programs, videos, articles, book reviews, and reviews of film literature including journals, newspapers, and magazines.
- To find electronically held journals, newspapers, and magazines, please use the Full Text Journal Finder to locate electronically held resources identified in Film Literature Index Online.
- To find journals, newspapers, and magazines held in print or in a microform (microfilm or microfiche), please run a "Title Search" within the Library Catalog to locate print resources identified in Film Literature Index Online.
- Internet Public Library: Latin America
See also South America, Mexico, Central America, and Latin American/Hispanic
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) - The University of Texas at Austin
See sections such as Countries, Media, News, & Communication, and Society & Culture
- Metacritic: Film
Includes basic information about each film with a brief plot summary, MPAA rating, genres, truncated list of credits, release date, running time, and a comprehensive list of links to criticisms from magazines (Entertainment Weekly, Time, Newsweek, Variety, etc.), major newspapers (New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, etc.), and media / cultural criticism Web sites (Salon, Film Threat, Slate, etc.). Some of the resources require some form of free or fee registration to view the content; however, many of these same resources are owned by UC either electronically or in print.
- To find electronically held journals, newspapers, and magazines, please use the Full Text Journal Finder to locate electronically held resources identified in Metacritic.
- To find journals, newspapers, and magazines held in print or in a microform (microfilm or microfiche), please run a "Title Search" within the Library Catalog to locate print resources identified in Metacritic.
- Voice of the Shuttle - University of California, Santa Barbara
See sections such as Area & Regional Studies, Cultural Studies, Media Studies
Almanacs & Facts - Article Databases / Indexes - Biographical Information - Books
Citation & Style Guides - Web Sites
This page was last updated on 09/23/2009 by Lauren Wahman.