Almanacs & Facts
- The African-American Almanac - REF E185.5 .N34 (print)
- Chronology of African-American History: Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present - REF E185 .H64 1991 (print)
Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Article Databases / Indexes
- African-American Newspapers: 19th Century, Parts 1-5 (online)
This collection of African-American Newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.- America: History and Life (online)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.- Making of America (Cornell University) (online)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.- Making of America (University of Michigan) (online)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.- Nineteenth Century Masterfile (online)
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) describes itself as "the digital index of the nineteenth century." The original component was an online version of W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. The database is now enhanced with indices to other periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents of the 19th century.Literature Article Databases / Indexes
- African American Poetry Database (online)
The Database of African-American Poetry (DAAP), published by Chadwyck-Healey, contains the full text of almost 3,000 poems written between 1760 and 1900. Poets included in DAAP are among those listed in Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975, by W.P. French et al.- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.- Literature Online (LION) (online)
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.- Literature Resource Center (online)
Includes Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.Sociology Article Databases / Indexes
- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America, some dating back to 1985.- Social Issues Researcher (SIRS) (online)
SIRS Knowledge Source™ is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface. .- Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (online)
The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a unique database detailing the rich tapestry of the African experience throughout the Americas. Explore interdisciplinary topics through in-depth essays; read the seminal research and timelines that accompany each topic; and search for images and film clips to provide another dimension to your research.
Biographical Information
- African American Biographical Database (online)
Contains biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans from 1790-1950. Includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and illuminating narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans- African American Lives - E 185.96 .A446 2004 (print)
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Suggested Subject Headings
- African Americans (print & online)
- African Americans -- History (print & online)
- African Americans -- Social conditions (print & online)
- African American children -- Social conditions (print & online)
- Blacks -- America (print & online)
- Blacks -- America -- History (print & online)
- Blacks -- America -- Social conditions (print & online)
- United States -- Race relations (print & online)
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience - REF DT14 .A37435 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas - REF E185 .E54 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of African American Society - REF E185 .E546 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Black America - REF E185 .E55 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies - REF E185 .E554 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration - REF E185.6 .E54 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of the Reconstruction Era - REF E668 .E53 2006 (print)
Handbooks
- The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference - REF E185 .N49 1999 (print)
Web Sites
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- The African-American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920 - Ohio Historical Society
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 - Manuscript Division, Library of Congress and Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress
- From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 - Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress
- Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860 - Law Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division Library of Congress
- Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories - American Folklife Center's Archive of Folk Culture, Library of Congress
- Documenting the American South - University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience - The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- Secret Routes to Freedom: The Underground Railroad Experience - The Institute for Research on the African Diaspora in the Americas and the Caribbean (IRADAC), The City College of the City University of New York
This page was last modified on 12/17/2008 by Lauren Wahman.