Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- LexisNexis Academic (online)
This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Business & Economics Article Databases / Indexes
- Business Source Complete (online)
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.- D&B Million Dollar Database (online)
The D&B Million Dollar Database covers all U.S. public and private companies and also the most significant segment of Canadian companies. The total number of companies in the database are over 14 million. You can search the database using over 30 different criteria. The database gives information on the parent and also the subsidiaries, divisions, branches and various locations. Most of the time, sales are given by branch or location i.e., you can find the sales of a particular Wendy's restaurant in a particular location. The database also gives biographical information on top management. If a company is part of a parent an icon next to the company identifies that. You can then go to the parent company and find a corporate tree with all other subsidiaries and family linkages.- Hoover's Online (online)
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name, Ticker symbol, Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads, business contacts, investment ideas, financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitors.- Standard & Poor's Net Advantage (online)
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage includes 10 major publications of S&P, The Outlook, Corporation Records, Mutual Funds, Bond Guide, Stock Guide, Divident Record, Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Earnings Guide, and the Register of Corporations and Executives. The database is fully integrated, so that you can get a stock report on a company and then link to the other publications that have information on that company. Advanced searching is also available.Newspaper Article Databases / Indexes
- America's Newspapers (online)
America's Newspapers is a collection of full-text newspapers available online. The database includes 17 Ohio newspapers, plus other major newspapers from other states. Content includes local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.- Newsdex (online)
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the DowntownerFunding/Grants Databases
- GrantSelect (online)
GrantSelect is the online version of the GRANTS Database, produced by The Oryx Press, containing over 10,000 funding opportunities provided by over 3,400 sponsoring organizations.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
State and Regional Library Catalogs
- OhioLINK - Shared catalog for Ohio's college and university libraries and the State Library of Ohio.
- The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Web Sites
- The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) - U.S. General Services Administration
"A database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally -recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals." [from the site's homepage]- Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber of Commerce
The Chamber of Commerce gives basic information on local companies including chamber membership.- The Foundation Center
"The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. grantmakers and their grants — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance philanthropy at every level." [from the Foundation Center's Mission Statement]- Fundsnet Services Online
"One the most comprehensive Fundraising & Grantwriting site of its kind on the Internet today, is a privately owned Web site created in 1996 for the purpose of providing Nonprofit Organizations, Colleges and Universities with information on financial resources available on the Internet." [from the site's About Us page]- Grants.gov - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Federal government grant opportunities- Grants Resource Center - The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
- Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
- SchoolGrants
"Your one-stop site for PK-12 school grant opportunities" [from the site's homepage]- State of Indiana Business Entity Name Search - Business Services Online, Indiana Secretary of State
- State of Kentucky Online Business Database - Business Services, Kentucky Secretary of State
- State of Ohio Business Services - Ohio Secretary of State
Additional Business, Economics & Finance Resources by Subject from UC Libraries
This page was last updated 12/17/2008 by Lauren Wahman.