Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- CQ Researcher (about)
- Issues and Controversies (FACTS.com) (online)
Issues and Controversies @ FACTS.com, is the dependable online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It combines objective analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics.- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (about)
- Research Library (about)
Sociology Article Databases / Indexes
- SIRS Researcher (online)
SIRS Knowledge Source™ is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Reference Books
- Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy - REF HC110 .P6 P598 2004 (print & online)
- An Atlas of Poverty in America: One Nation, Pulling Apart, 1960-2003 - REF HC 110.P6 G543 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Homelessness - REF HV 4493 .E53 2004 (print)
- Encyclopedia of World Poverty - REF HV 12 .E54 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America - REF HV 12 .E497 2005 (print)
- Poverty in America: A Handbook - REF HC 110 .P6 I25 2006 (print & online)
- American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money - REF HC110 .I5 A447 2005 (print)
- Government Assistance Almanac - REF HC110 .P63 D85 2005-2006 (print)
A comprehensive guide to all 1,499 federal financial and other domestic programs- Directory of Community Services for Southwestern Ohio and Northern Kentucky - REF HV99 .C5 D52 2000 (print)
Contact information for food pantries and other service agencies in Southwestern Ohio and Northern Kentucky
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Statistics & Data Sets
- Poverty / U.S. Census Bureau (online)
The Census Bureau is responsible for preparing statistics on poverty. This site describes how the Census Bureau measures poverty and gives poverty thresholds (official measure of poverty used to prepare statistics).- Poverty / American FactFinder / U.S. Census Bureau (online)
Provides charts displaying the number of people in poverty in the U.S., in a state or county, low-income uninsured children by state, etc.- Poverty / U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (online)
Poverty guidelines by number of persons in a family (simplified poverty measures used for administrative purposes, e.g. to determine who is eligible for aid); links to poverty research sites.
Web Sites
- GovBenefits.gov - U.S. Government
Benefit and assistance programs through the federal government- IN.gov: Family & Health
- Kentucky.gov: Community Resources
- Ohio.gov: Living in Ohio
- United Way of Greater Cincinnati
This file was last modified on 12/17/2008 by Lauren Wahman.