Biographical Information
- American National Biography (online)
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Entries are for people who are deceased.- Biography Resource Center (online)
Biographical information on more than 165,000 people throughout history, around the world and across all subject areas. Entries include both living and deceased.- Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Provides extensive worldwide coverage of art, art styles, subjects, and media in addition to biographies of both Western and Non-Western artists, patrons, critics, and collections. Includes over 41,000 signed articles that provide bibliographic data and are usually illustrated. Entries include living and deceased.
Articles Indexes / Databases
General Articles Indexes / Databases
Art & Design Indexes / Databases
- Art Full Text (online)
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 313 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.- Design and Applied Arts Index (online)
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Suggested Subject Headings
- Art and Photography
- Photography
- Photography -- History
- Black-and-white-photography
- Composition (photography)
- Digital Cameras
To search for photographers by name, do a subject search entering last name first. Examples:
Electronic Books
The Photography Criticism Cyberarchive (online)
Provides access to hundreds of essays and a number of complete books on various aspects of photography (e.g., history, criticism, and theory) by early and contemporary writers from the medium's inception through the present day. Approximately 25 essays or complete books will be added to the archive each month.
Images
- AP Photo Archive (online)
The Photo Archive is an electronic library containing the AP's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. It is accessible via the Internet and made available in this format to schools K-12, colleges and universities and public libraries nationwide by AccuWeather, Inc. (From the Site's FAQ page).- Digital Media Center (online)
This is a multimedia database that includes digital images, video and audio including: images from licensed art collections, plus contributions from Ohio museums, libraries, and universities; pictures and archives from Ohio history, contributed by Ohio museums and libraries; full-length educational videos; foreign language video-clips, and audios of animal sounds.- Librarians Internet Index to Photography (online)
List of reviewed internet sites on photography and photographers. Under "Arts & Humanities" category, select "Photography" to access list of websites.- Smithsonian Online Photography Collection (online)
Web site for the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s photography collection. The main page focuses on three of their primary collections: The First Century of American Photographs, Contemporary American Landscape Photography, and American Daguerreotypes. A search engine is also available.
Additional Resources
This file was last modified on 12/18/2007 by Stephena Harmony.