Article Database / Indexes | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Handbooks | Drugs & Pharmaceuticals | Hazardous Chemicals | Web Sites
Article Database / Indexes
- Access Science (online)
Full access to articles and dictionary terms from the 8th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, with new and revised content from the encyclopedia's editors and contributors, including recent research developments, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations, and much more.- CHEMINFO (online)
Detailed profiles of more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals, including health, fire and reactivity hazards and safe work practices- CHEMnetBASE (online)
Contains a wealth of chemical information from Chapman & Hall/CRC Chapman & Hall/CRC are publishers of major chemical reference works.- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (online)
Full text of over 1750 articles with author and contents details for a further 1250 articles currently in preparation- Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) (online)
Database containing nearly 90,000 material safety data sheets (MSDS) from the Sigma-Aldrich family of companies. These documents clearly define each product giving its composition, identifying any hazardous properties, outlining first-aid treatment in case of accidental body contact and even pointing out special fire fighting procedures that might be needed. In addition, there are MSDS suggestions for responding to an accidental release of the compound, for everyday product handling and storage, as well as for personal protection against exposure to the product.
Dictionaries
- Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry - REF QD4.A2313 1994 (print)
- Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms - REF TP9.H65 1992 (print)
- Dictionary of Chemistry - Oxford Reference Online E-book
- Dictionary of Substances and their Effects - Knovel E-book
- Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry - REF QD5.F33 1999 (print)
- Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names - REF TP9.G286 1994 (print)
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary - REF QD5.C5 2001 (print)
Encyclopedias
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry - REF QD4.M33 1997 (print)
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia - REF Q121.V269 2002 (print)
Handbooks
- 1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products - REF TP200.L49 1999 (print)
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - Ebook (online)
- Handbook of Cosmetic and Personal Care Additives - REF TP983.A82 1994 (print)
- Handbook of U.S. Colorants - REF TP456.C65 M37 1991 (print)
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry - REF QD65.L362 2005 (print)
Drugs & Pharmaceuticals
- The Merck Index: an Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals - REF RS51.M4 2001 (print)
- Physicians' Desk Reference - REF RS75.P5 2005 (print)
- Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements - REF RM671.A1 P48 2002 (print)
- Physicians' Desk Reference for Nutritional Supplements - REF RM2585.P39 2001 (print)
- Physicians' Desk Reference for Herbal Medicines - REF RS75.P554 2000 (print)
- United States Pharmacopeia Dispensing Information: Drug Information for the Health Care Provider - REF RM300.U55 2005 (print)
Hazardous Chemicals
- Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials - REF T55.3H3 S3 1989 (print)
- Handbook of Emergency Chemical Management - REF T55.3.H3 Q54 1994 (print)
- Sigma-Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data - REF T55.3.H3 S54 1988 (print)
Web Sites
- Chemfinder.com
Search by chemical name, CAS, or molecular formula to find standard information as well as Internet links about your chemical.- Earth Portal
A comprehensive resource for timely, objective, science-based information about the environment.- NIST Chemistry WebBook
Search for chemical data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Includes thermo-chemical data, IR spectra and mass spectra and more for thousands of compounds- MSDS Exchange
Over 1 million manufacturer's original MSDS- MSDS Solutions
Provides information about harmful effects, first aid measures, handling and transporting precautions, etc.- MSDS Search
The National MSDS Repository- Sigma-Aldrich
Online Material Safety Data Sheets- Toxicology Literature Online - TOXLINE
TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database for toxicology, a varied science encompassing many disciplines. TOXLINE records provide bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains over 3 million bibliographic citations, most with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers
This file was last modified on 08/20/2008 by Michelle McKinney.