Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- JSTOR (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Article Databases / Indexes
- Cincinnati Corporation Histories (online)
This is a bibliography, some with full-text, of books, periodical articles, thesis and dissertations, web literature and company literature. The citations were selected for their heavy emphasis on the company's history. Although considerable effort has been given to making this a comprehensive list, the author would appreciate knowing of any additional materials in this area, please send comments to: Wahib Nasrallah. Book call numbers are for the University of Cincinnati Langsam Library unless otherwise indicated.- History & Archives (OhioLINK Digital Media Center) (online)
Several databases of electronic images or videos; will eventually also include sound, numeric data, and other types of electronic media.- OHIO HISTORY (online)
Ohio History is the scholarly journal of the Ohio Historical Society. Now in print for more than 100 years, the journal is an essential tool for researchers of Ohio and the Middle West. We are pleased to make available to you online a comprehensive archive of the journal, including text, footnotes, and images published from 1887 to 2000.- Oral History Online (online)
Oral History Online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals Alexander Street Press has indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Their intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Butler County (Ohio)
- Cincinnati (Ohio) -- History
- Clermont County (Ohio)
- Hamilton County (Ohio)
- Indiana -- History
- Kentucky -- History
- Ohio -- Biography
- Ohio -- History
- Warren County (Ohio)
Cincinnati & Ohio Histories
- Architecture in Cincinnati: An Illustrated History of Designing and Building an American City - Oversize NA735.C5 P35 2006 (print)
- The Documentary Heritage of Ohio - REF F491 .D64 2000 (print) (also available on Reserve)
- History of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, Ohio: Their Past and Present - REF F497.H2 H6 (print)
- The History of the State of Ohio - Stacks F491 .W75 1941 (print)
- Ohio and Its People - Stacks F491 .K63 2003 (print) (1997 edition on Reserve)
Indiana History
- Indiana History: A Book of Readings - Langsam Stacks F526.5 .I53 1994 (print)
Kentucky History
- A New History of Kentucky - Stacks F451 .H315 1997 (print)
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- The Chicago Manual of Style - REF Z253 .U69 2003 (print)
- Citation Resources
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - REF LB2369 .T8 2007 (print)
- Online! Citation Styles (online)
Examples for Web sites, e-mails, forum postings and other online works. From Bedford/St. Martin's
Encyclopedias
- The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History - Stacks F499.C657 E53 1987 (print)
- The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History (online)
- The Encyclopedia of Ohio - REF F489 .E5 1999 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Ohio Indians - REF E78.O3 E52 1998 (print)
- Ohio Encyclopedia - REF F489 .O35 2008-2009 (print)
- Ohio History Central (online)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Cincinnati & Ohio Journals
- Cincinnati Historical Society Digital Journals
- Bulletin of the Historical and Philosophical Society of Ohio - 1943-1963 (online)
- The Cincinnati Historical Society Bulletin - 1964-1982 (online)
- Queen City Heritage - 1983-1999 (online)
- Ohio History - RWC Magazines (print & online)
- Ohio History: The Scholarly Journal of the Ohio Historical Society (online)
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
Local Information
You might find photographs, letters, or other documents by visiting a local archive. It's a good idea to call ahead and let them you are coming.
Indiana
- Indiana Historical Society - Indianapolis, IN
Kentucky
- Kentucky Historical Society - Frankfort, KY
Ohio
News & Newspapers
- America's Newspapers (online)
America's Newspapers is a collection of full-text newspapers available online. The database includes 17 Ohio newspapers, plus other major newspapers from other states. Content includes local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.- NEWSDEX (online)
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner.- The Cincinnati Enquirer - (print, microfilm 1975-1998, online)
Web Sites
Indiana
Some highlights of the collection include:
- Historic Indiana Maps - The Digital Collections of IUPUI University Library
- Road to Indiana Statehood - The Digital Collections of IUPUI University Library
- Indiana Historical Society - Digital Image Collections
Kentucky
- Kentuckiana Digital Library - Kentucky Virtual Library
- Kentucky Historical Society Digital Collections
- University of Louisville Digital Collections
Ohio
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- The African-American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920 - Ohio Historical Society
- Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal
- Cleveland Digital Library - Cleveland State University Library
- Greater Cincinnati Memory Project - SouthWest Ohio and Neighboring Libraries (SWON)
- Inland Riverboats Photograph Collection Wiki - The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
- Miami University Digital Collections
- The Ohio Historical Society Digital Collections
- Ohio Memory Project: An Online Scrapbook of Ohio History - Ohio Historical Society
- Oral History Digital Collection - Youngstown State University
- Sandusky History Blog - Sandusky Library
This page was last updated on 09/24/2009 by Stephena Harmony.