Almanacs & Facts
- The Native North American Almanac: A Reference Work on Native North Americans in the United States and Canada
REF E77 .N37 2001 (print)
Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Article Databases / Indexes
- America: History and Life (online)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.Literature Article Databases / Indexes
- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.- Literature Online (LION) (online)
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.- Literature Resource Center (online)
Includes Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.Sociology Article Databases / Indexes
- Bibliography of Native North Americans (online)
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America, some dating back to 1985.- SIRS Researcher (Social Issues Research Service) (online)
SIRS Knowledge Source™ is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface.
Biographical Information
- Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary - REF E 98.W8 B38 1993 (print)
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Suggested Subject Headings
- American literature -- Indian authors (print & online)
- Indians of North America (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Dictionaries (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Encyclopedias (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Government relations (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- History (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Ohio (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Ohio River Valley (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Politics and government (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Religion (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Social conditions (print & online)
- Indians of North America -- Social life and customs (print & online)
- Indians, Treatment of -- North America (print & online)
- Indians, Treatment of -- United States (print & online)
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - REF E76.2 .W35 1988 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America - REF E76.2 .J64 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Ohio Indians - REF E78 .O3 E52 1998 (print)
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - REF E77 .G15 1998 (print)
Handbooks
- Handbook of North American Indians - REF E77 .H25 (print)
- Native Americans - REF E93 .N32 2002 (print)
Maps & Atlases
- Atlas of the North American Indian - REF E77 .W195 2000 (print)
Web Sites
- American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) Data and Links - U.S. Census Bureau
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection - University of Washington Libraries, Digital Collections
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian - Northwestern University Library
- History of the American West, 1860-1920 - Denver Public Library
- Omaha Indian Music - American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
- Photographs from the Chicago Daily News, 1902-1933: American Indians / Native Americans - Chicago Historical Society
- Electronic Text Center, Modern English Collection: Native Americans - University of Virginia Library
- Internet Public Library: Native American Literature Resources
- Native American Sites
- NativeWeb: Native and Indigenous Newspapers
- WWW Virtual Library: Index of Native American Resources
- Yahoo! Native American Issues and Causes
This file was last modified on 12/16/2008 by Lauren Wahman.