Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Literature Article Databases / Indexes
- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.- Literature Online (LION) (online)
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.- Literature Resource Center (online)
Includes Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.
Book Reviews
- Books in Print (online)
- Book Review Digest Plus - 1983-present (online)
Book Review Digest Plus brings users entries to more than 1.3 million reviews and covers more than 550,000 books.- Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (online)
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 is a vast record of historical, sociological, and literary information. The database covers 300,000 books and cites 1.5 million book reviews. Handy master records for each book include the title's essentials: author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more, plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt - most have two or more - presenting the most evaluative passages of the review.- ChoiceReviews.online (online)
ChoiceReviews.online provides Web access to the entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue of CHOICE. The newest reviews appear, arranged by academic discipline and broad cross-disciplinary topic, in Current Issue.They also are searchable by using Advanced Search, selecting by CHOICE Issue Date, and combining with various other criteria.- International Bibliography of Book Reviews (online)
IBR contains over 880,000 entries about book reviews from the years 1985-2002. The database is international and interdisciplinary, the reviews have been published in approx. 6,000 academic journals mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.- Library Journal (online)
Music / Lyric Reviews
- All Music (online)
- Metacritic: Music (online)
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Reference Books
- Contemporary Literary Criticism - REF PN771.C6 (print)
- Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism - REF PN761.N56 (print)
- Poetry Criticism - REF PN1010.P64 (print)
- Poetry for Students - REF PN1011.P64 (print)
- Short Story Criticism - REF PN3373.S386 (print)
- Twentieth Century Literary Criticism - REF PN771.G27 (print)
Tip: A way to find books on literary criticisms is to use the Subject tab in the Library Catalog. Look for the subheading "criticism and interpretation" or title of the work.
Examples
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Web Sites
- Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism Collection
- Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism Pathfinder
This page was last modified 12/16/2008 by Lauren Wahman.