Article Databases / Indexes | Biographical Information | Books | Citation & Style Guides | Encyclopedias
Statistics & Data Sets | Web Sites
Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- JSTOR (about)
- The Left Index (online)
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also are covered.- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Business & Economics Article Databases / Indexes
- Business Source Complete (online)
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.- Human Resources Library (online)
This full-text database is designed to provide human resource researchers with a comprehensive library of HR policy guidance, sample and model policies, full text of statutes and regulations, and other related sources of informationHistory Article Databases / Indexes
- America: History and Life (online)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.- Oral History Online (online)
Oral History Online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals Alexander Street Press has indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Their intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals.Newspaper Article Databases / Indexes
- New York Times (1851-2004) (online)
The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Biographical Information
- American National Biography (online)
"Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation." Features narrative biographies, entries from the "Who's Who" series, thousands of illustrations, and links to select web sites. Search by name or "realms of reknown" for an occupation, e.g. labor organizers.- Biographical Dictionary of American Labor - REF HD8073 .A1 B56 1984 (print)
- Biography Resource Center (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who® titles from the past decade.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- African American Labor Union Members
- Child Labor
- General Motors Corporation Sit-Down Strike, 1936-1937
- Haymarket Square Riot, Chicago, Ill., 1886
- Labor -- Disputes
- Labor -- History
- Labor Leaders
- Labor Unions
- Strikes and Lockouts
- Triangle Shirtwaist Company -- Fire, 1911
- Women Labor Leaders
- Working Class
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of the American Left - REF HX86 .E58 1998 (print)
- Encyclopedia of American Social History - REF HN57 .E58 1993 (print)
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements - REF HN57 .E594 (print)
- Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor - REF HD8066 .H57 2003 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Statistics & Data Sets
- Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics - REF HD8064 .A63 (print)
Provides statistical information on employment, earnings, prices, productivity, and other labor data.- Historical Census Browser (online)
Provides census data on the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960.- Historical Statistics of the United States (online)
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online allows users to access data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised, updated, and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS.- Monthly Labor Review (online)
"Monthly Labor Review is the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Each month, economists, statisticians, and experts from the Bureau join with private sector professionals and State and local government specialists to provide a wealth of research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more." The archives provide full-text issues dating back to 1981.
Web Sites
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- The African-American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920 - Ohio Historical Society
More than 200 images of newspaper clippings can be found under the subject heading "labor."- America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 - Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division, Library of Congress
- Haymarket Affair: Evidence from the Trial 1886-1887 - Chicago Historical Society
- Voices from the Dustbowl: Migrant Worker Collection 1940-1941 - American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
- Documenting the American South - University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century." [from the site's homepage]
Search for your topics by keyword or use the subject list to find oral histories, diary entries, speeches, and other primary sources.- Flint Sit-Down Strike, 1936-1937 - Michigan State University, University of Michigan-Flint, and Wayne State University
Audio files, timeline, and slide show- Oral History Project in Labor History - Roosevelt University
- The Triangle Waist Company Factory Fire, March 25, 1911 - The Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives at Cornell University and UNITE
Article Databases / Indexes | Biographical Information | Books | Citation & Style Guides | Encyclopedias
Statistics & Data Sets | Web Sites
This page was last updated on 12/16/2008 by Lauren Wahman.