Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Databases / Indexes
- Historical Abstracts (online)
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and journals of regional history, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the serial's subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.Literature Databases / Indexes
- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.- Literature Online (LION) (online)
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.- Literature Resource Center (online)
Includes Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.Sociology Databases / Indexes
- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America, some dating back to 1985.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Suggested Subject Headings
- British -- Ireland -- History (print & online)
- Famines -- Ireland -- History (print & online)
- Great Britain -- Foreign relations -- Ireland (print & online)
- Ireland -- Foreign relations -- Great Britain (print & online)
- Ireland -- History (print & online)
- Ireland -- History -- Easter Rising, 1916 (print & online)
- Ireland -- History -- Famine, 1845-1852 (print & online)
- Ireland -- Social conditions (print & online)
- Irish literature -- History and criticism (print & online)
- Irish Republican Army -- History (print & online)
- Northern Ireland -- Social conditions (print & online)
- Political violence -- Ireland -- History (print & online)
- Political violence -- Northern Ireland -- History (print & online)
- Sinn Fein (print & online)
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature (online)
- A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (online)
- A Dictionary of World History (online)
- Historical Dictionary of the Northern Ireland Conflict - REF DA990.U6 G545 2008 (print)
Encyclopedias
- The Encyclopedia of Ireland - REF DA 906 .E52 2003 (print)
- Europe since 1945: An Encyclopedia - REF D1051 .E9 2001 (print)
- The Oxford Companion to Irish History - REF DA 912 .O94 2002 (print)
Web Sites
- British History Online - Institute of Historical Research, University of London & History of Parliament Trust
- History of Ireland: Primary Documents - Brigham Young University
This file was last modified on 12/16/2008 by Lauren Wahman.