Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- Expanded Academic ASAP (about)
- JSTOR (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
- Ulrich's International Periodical Directory (online)
Subject-Related Databases / Indexes
- Constitutions of the Countries of the World (online)
- Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-6/30/2006) (online)
- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
- Gender Studies Database (online)
- GenderWatch (online)
- Legal Collection (online)
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Child labor
- Children’s rights
- Civil rights
- Democracy
- Discrimination
- Freedom of expression
- Gays
- Genocide
- Homosexuality
- Human rights
- Human trafficking
- International law
- International relations
- Lesbianism
- Lesbians
- Poverty
- Prostitution
- Sex crimes
- Social rights
- Torture
- Transsexuals
- Women’s rights
RWC Books
- The Abu Ghraib Effect - DAAP Stacks NX650.V5 E47 2007 (print)
- Exploring International Human Rights: Essential Readings - Stacks K3240 .E969 2007 (print)
- Gender and Human Rights - Stacks K3230.W6 G46 2004 (print)
- International Human Rights Law: Returning to Universal Principles - Stacks K3240 .G53 2008 (print)
- Inventing Human Rights: A History - Stacks JC585 .H89 2007 (print)
- Seeing Witness: Visuality and the Ethics of Testimony - Stacks N8251.S55 B55 2009 (print)
New Political Science & Law Titles at RWC with Reviews
Citation & Style Guides
- Citation Resources (online)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations - REF JC571 .G655 2007 (print)
Encyclopedias
General Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
- World Book Web (online)
Subject Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties - REF KF4747.5 .E53 2006 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights - REF JC571 .E673 2009 (print)
- Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues 1945-2000 - Stacks KZ4968 .G67 2001 (print)
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (online)
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy was designed from its inception (September 1995) as a dynamic reference work. In a dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, this dynamic reference work is responsive to new research. You can, however, cite fixed editions which are made on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives.
Handbooks
Images & Sounds
- AP Images (online)
- ARTstor (online)
- Digital Media Center (online)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
News & Newspapers
- LexisNexis Academic (online)
- Newspaper Source (online)
- Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University (online)
- World News Connection (online)
Web Sites
The Arts
- Americans for the Arts
- Arts Engine
- Critical Art Ensemble Defense Fund
- The Hub Human Rights Media Website (Presented by Witness)
- Human Rights Video Project
- Manifestos.net
- Media Rights
- Music for Human Rights - Amnesty International
- National Endowment for the Arts
- National Endowment for the Humanities
- Nobel Laureates in Literature
- Painters for Human Rights
- P.A.P. Blog
- PBS
- PEN American Center
- Poets Against War
- Poets.org - Academy of American Poets
- 20th Century Poetry and War - Peace Pledge Union
- Words Without Borders: The Online Magazine for International Literature
General
- H-Net: Humanities & Social Sciences Online - Michigan State University
- Human Rights Library - University of Minnesota
- Inter-American Human Rights Database - Washington College of Law
Organizations
United Nations and Government
- Dialogue Among Civilizations - United Nations University
- Human Rights - United Nations
- United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - U.S. Department of State
This page was last updated on 10/02/2009 by Lauren Wahman.