Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Article Databases / Indexes
- America: History and Life (online)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.- Historical Abstracts (online)
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and journals of regional history, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the serial's subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.Literature Article Databases / Indexes
- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.- Literature Online (LION) (online)
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.- Literature Resource Center (online)
Includes Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.Sociology Article Databases / Indexes
- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America, some dating back to 1985.- SIRS Researcher (Social Issues Research Service) (online)
SIRS Knowledge Source™ is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Reference Books
- Holocaust Literature - REF PN56.H55 H655 2008 (print)
Suggested Subject Headings
- Blacks -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Catholics -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Gays -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939- 1945) (print)
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Personal narratives (print & online)
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Poland -- Personal narratives (print & online)
- Holocaust survivors (print & online)
- Holocaust survivors -- Biography (print & online)
- Holocaust survivors -- United States -- Biography (print & online)
- Jehovah's Witnesses -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Jewish Christians -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- People with disabilities -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Protestants -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Romanies -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
- Sephardim -- Nazi persecution (print & online)
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust - REF D 804.3 E53 1990 (print)
- The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust - REF DS 135.E8 E45 2001 (print)
- The Holocaust Encyclopedia - REF D 804.25 .H66 2001 (print)
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Web Sites
- Holocaust Documents: Primary Sources from a Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust - University of South Florida
- Holocaust Encyclopedia - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- Voices of the Holocaust - British Library
- Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority
This page was last modified on 12/15/2008 by Lauren Wahman.