General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
GLBT Article Databases / Indexes
- Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.- GenderWatch
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."
- LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life (formerly GLBT Life) is an index to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 230 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1,700 select titles, as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.- SIRS Researcher Online
SIRS Knowledge Source is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Bisexuals
- Gay Couples
- Gay Rights
- Gays
- Gender Identity
- Homophobia
- Homosexuality
- Lesbian Couples
- Lesbianism
- Lesbians
- Same Sex Marriage
- Sexual Orientation
- Transsexualism
- United States -- Armed Forces -- Gays
RWC Titles
- Different Daughters: A History of the Daughters of Bilitis and the Rights of the Lesbian Rights Movement / Marcia M. Gallo - Review - Stacks HQ75.6 .U6 G35 2006
- Homophobia : the state of sexual bigotry today / Martin Kantor. - Stacks HQ76.25 .K35 2009
- Policy Issues Affecting Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Families / Sean Cahill and Sarah Tobias - Review - Stacks HQ76.3.U5 C33 2007
- Same-Sex Marriage: The Legal and Psychological Evolution in America / Donald J. Cantor - Review - Stacks HQ1034.U5 S245 2006
Citation and Style Guides
- Citation Resources Class Guide
- How to Cite Sources in a Paper OhioLINK guide
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - Review - REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America - REF HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 (print)
- LGBTQ America today : an encyclopedia - REF HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009 (print)
- Sexuality and the law : an encyclopedia of major legal cases - REF KF9325.A7 L46 1993 (print)
Handbooks
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword , or other numeric index searches. Using the Library Catalog, students can check on a journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
- Social Sciences Full-text Journals (see Gay & Lesbian Studies sub-heading)
Local Information
University of Cincinnati Resources
- Women's Center and LGBTQ Office
Provides programming and resources to support women and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) students, staff, and faculty on the University of Cincinnati campus.- Women's Center - LGBTQ Space
Supports students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex or who are questioning their sexual orientation or gender identity.Greater Cincinnati Community Resources
- CrossPort Cincinnati
Provides social, educational, emotional, and functional support for all facets of the Transgendered community including their partners, families, and friends.- Equality Cincinnati.org
Their mission is to work for full equality for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people in Greater Cincinnati and to prevent discrimination and violence based on sexual orientation and gender identity- Gay & Lesbian Community Center of Cincinnati
Offers a variety of educational, cultural, and support-related resources to all
GLBT individuals and supporters in our community.- Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
Strives to assure that each member of every school community is valued and respected regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.- Greater Cincinnati GLBT News.com
Serves the GLBT community here in Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky.- Greater Cincinnati Gay Chamber of Commerce
Forges strategic alliances with other professional and business organizations and creates networking opportunities for gay, lesbian and allied businesses.
Web sites
- AARDVARK.org: Domestic Violence in Gay and Lesbian Relationships
AARDVARC is An Abuse, Rape and Domestic Violence Aid and Resource Collection and offers info for the LGBTQ community.- Gay and Lesbian Activist Alliance
GLAA is an all-volunteer, non-partisan, non-profit political organization, founded in 1971. They are the nation's oldest continuously active organization fighting for the civil rights of gay men, lesbians, bisexuals and transgenders.- National Association of Research and Therapy of Homosexuality
NARTH is a non-profit, educational organization dedicated to affirming a complementary, male-female model of gender and sexuality.- National Black Justice Coalition
NBJC is a civil rights organization dedicated to empowering Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. Its mission is to end racism and homophobia.- National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
The mission of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is to build the grassroots power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community.- New York City Gay & Lesbian Anti-Violence Project
The Project serves lesbian, gay, transgender, bisexual and HIV-positive victims of violence, and others affected by violence, by providing free and confidential services enabling them to regain their sense of control, identify and evaluate their options, and assert their rights.- Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
PFLAG promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons, their families and friends through: support, to cope with an adverse society; education, to enlighten an ill-informed public; and advocacy, to end discrimination and to secure equal civil rights.
This page was last updated on 10/21/2009 by Michelle McKinney.