Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- MLA International Bibliography (online)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Film Related Databases / Indexes
- Film & Television Literature Index (online)
Film & Television Literature Index covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. F&TLI has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Biographical Information
- Biography Resource Center + Who's Who (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who® titles from the past decade.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. The Library Catalog has a large number of biographical, critical and interpretive works on most major film directors.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Tips:
- A Subject Search for any director's name (last name first, first name last) should produce a number of works available throughout UC, including RWC (example: Lynch, David).
- For specific resources focused on criticism and interpretation, look for a subject heading ending in "-- Criticism and interpretation" (example: Lynch, David, 1946- -- Criticism and interpretation).
- For additional works available from other Ohio college, university, and public libraries, run a Subject Heading Search for any director's name (again, last name first, first name last) in OhioLINK.
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Web Sites
Popular Culture & Film
- All Movie Guide
Includes basic information about each film including brief plot summaries, MPAA ratings, genres, extensive credits, release dates, running times, brief reviews, domestic gross box office returns, etc. A searchable/click-able function for themes, keywords, tones, moods, cast, production credits, and similar movies is available.- Digital Librarian: Movies
- E! Online: Movies
- Film Literature Index Online
A citation index of films, television programs, videos, articles, book reviews, and reviews of film literature including journals, newspapers, and magazines.
- To find electronically held journals, newspapers, and magazines, please use the Full Text Journal Finder to locate electronically held resources identified in Film Literature Index Online.
- To find journals, newspapers, and magazines held in print or in a microform (microfilm or microfiche), please run a "Title Search" within the Library Catalog to locate print resources identified in Film Literature Index Online.
- Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
- Librarians' Internet Index
- Metacritic: Film
Includes basic information about each film with a brief plot summary, MPAA rating, genres, truncated list of credits, release date, running time, and a comprehensive list of links to criticisms from magazines (Entertainment Weekly, Time, Newsweek, Variety, etc.), major newspapers (New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, etc.), and media / cultural criticism Web sites (Salon, Film Threat, Slate, etc.). Some of the resources require some form of free or fee registration to view the content; however, many of these same resources are owned by UC either electronically or in print.
- To find electronically held journals, newspapers, and magazines, please use the Full Text Journal Finder to locate electronically held resources identified in Metacritic.
- To find journals, newspapers, and magazines held in print or in a microform (microfilm or microfiche), please run a "Title Search" within the Library Catalog to locate print resources identified in Metacritic.
- Moviefone
- Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE)
The focus is on film reviews. While reviews produced by major journals, newspapers, magazines, and cultural / film criticism Web sites can be found using Metacritic, MRQE indexes reviews not found in major publications (DVE MovieGuide, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Reel.Com, etc.) as well as reviews found in most major publications.- MTV: Movies
- VH1: Movies
Statistics (Box Office, Motion Picture Industry)
- All Movie Guide
With the exception of films still showing in the theatres, the All Movie Guide is the simplest resource for finding total individual box office returns. Unfortunately, the All Movie Guide does not differentiate in domestic and international returns.- Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
- Motion Picture Association - Research & Statistics
This page was last modified on 12/16/2008 by Lauren Wahman.