Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- CQ Researcher (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Government Article Databases / Indexes
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection (online)
CQ Voting and Elections Collection integrates data, analyses, explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
- LexisNexis Congressional (online)
Full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record. Prepared statements and selected question & answer transcripts. Public laws and the United States Code Service . The Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. Biographical and financial information and voting records and more.- Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet (online)
A Library of Congress service that provides legislative information including: Bill text, Congressional Record text, Bill summary & status, the Congressional Record Index, Public Laws by law number, Roll Call Votes, Committee Reports, House Committees and Senate Committees, and historical documents including the Constitution.Political Science Article Databases / Indexes
- Gallup Brain (online)
The Gallup Brain contains every Gallup Poll Public Opinion survey conducted since 1935. The Gallup Organization underwrites at least one poll of Americans each week (minimum 1,000 interviews) and often times does several polls a week on current topics and issues facing Americans. This database is updated weekly and is current as of the most recent week's polling which includes the data and analysis and stories relating to the Poll- iPOLL (online)
iPOLL is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (online)
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational organization in the field of public opinion research. Established in 1947, its main objective is to maintain an archive of data from polls and surveys conducted by major survey organizations for use by researchers, students, and journalists.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Common Subject Headings
- Campaign debates -- United States
- Campaign funds
- Democratic Party (U.S.)
- Elections
- Mass media -- Political aspects
- Party affiliation -- United States
- Political culture
- Political participation
- Political parties -- United States
- Republican Party (U.S. : 1854-)
- Television in politics -- United States
- United States -- Politics and government
- Voting
- Voting research -- United States
RWC Titles
- Divided America: The Ferocious Power Struggle in American Politics / Earl Black and Merle Black - Review - Stacks JK2261 .B614 2007
- Inside the Presidential Debates: Their Improbable Past and Promising Future / Newton N. Minow and Craig L. LaMay - Review - Stacks JK524 .M563 2008
- Letter To A New President: Commonsense Lessons For Our Next Leader / Robert C. Byrd, with Steve Kettmann - Review - Stacks JK516 .B97 2008
- Millennial Makeover: MySpace, YouTube, and the Future of American Politics / Morley Winograd, Michael D. Hais - Review - Stacks JK1764 .W635 2008
- The New Blue Media: How Michael Moore, MoveOn.org, Jon Stewart and Company are Transforming Progressive Politics / Theodore Hamm - Stacks P95.82.U6 H36 2008
- Strange Bedfellows: How Late-Night Comedy Turns Democracy Into a Joke / Russell L. Peterson - Review - Stacks PN1992.8.C66 .P48 2008
New Political Science & Law Titles with Reviews
Encyclopedias
- CQ Encyclopedia of American Government (online)
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government (EAG) provides answers to the full range of questions that students, government professionals, interested citizens, and other researchers have about the institutions of U.S. government. Based on the CQ Press ready-reference American Government A to Z series, EAG offers thousands of concise, up-to-date explanations of the who, how, and why of American democracy.
- Encyclopedia of Media and Politics / edited by Todd M. Schaefer, Thomas A. Birkland - REF P95.82.U6 E47 2007 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Political Communication / editors, Lynda Lee Kaid and Christina Holtz-Bacha - REF JA85 .E65 2008 (print)
- Guide to Congress - REF JK1021 .C565 2008 (print)
- The Presidency A to Z / Gerhard Peters, editor; John T. Woolley, editor; Michael Nelson, advisory editor - REF JK511 .P775 2008 (print)
- Voting in America / edited by Morgan E. Felchner; foreword by Kay Bailey Hutchison - REF JK1976 .V69 2008 (print)
Handbooks
- Campaign and Election Reform: A Reference Handbook - Stacks JK1976 .U88 2008 (print)
News & Newspapers
- America's Newspapers (online)
America's Newspapers is a collection of full-text newspapers available online. The database includes 17 Ohio newspapers, plus other major newspapers from other states. Content includes local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.- The Cincinnati Enquirer - (print, microfilm, online)
- Cincinnati NEWSDEX (online)
Connect to the Cincinnati Public Library via Telnet to access news stories in local paper (via the public library catalog "CINCH")
- Newspaper Source (online)
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.
Web Sites
Campaign Finance
Election Information
- CNN Election Center 2008
- Elections 2008 - The University of Michigan Documents Center
- NPR Election 2008
- Project Vote Smart
- Vote411.org - League of Women Voters Education Fund
Political Parties
- 2008 Democratic Party Platform - Democratic National Committee
- 2008 Republican Party Platform - Republican National Committee
Statistics, Surveys, and Polls
- American National Election Studies (ANES) - Stanford University and the University of Michigan
- FiveThirtyEight.com
- Voting and Registration - U.S. Census Bureau
Voter Registration and Information
- Federal Voting Assistance Program
- Indiana Elections - Indiana Secretary of State
- Kentucky Voter Information Guide - Kentucky State Board of Elections
- Ohio Voter Services - Ohio Secretary of State
- Voting and Elections - USA.gov
This page was last updated on 12/15/2008 by Lauren Wahman.