Biographical Information
- Biography Resource Center (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who® titles from the past decade.- Grove Art Online (online)
Provides extensive worldwide coverage of art, art styles, subjects, and media in addition to biographies of both Western and Non-Western artists, patrons, critics, and collections. Includes over 41,000 signed articles that provide bibliographic data and are usually illustrated.
Articles Databases / Indexes
General Articles Databases / Indexes
Art & Design Databases / Indexes
- Art Full Text (online)
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 313 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.- Design Abstracts Retrospective
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR), the retrospective of Design and Applied Arts Index, provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design. This database includes a particular emphasis on European publications. In addition, access to Design ProFILESâ„¢ (DP) is included in the subscription; this is the largest collection of profiles of designers and design organizations of its kind. DAR provides coverage of more than 100 design and design-related journals most of which have ceased publication, but which are distinctly important to the development of design concepts in the early 20th century. Covers the years 1903-1986.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (online)
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Suggested Subject Headings
Journals
Journals that the RWC Library subscribes to may be found through the Library's Catalog using Journal, Title or Subject, or Keyword, searches. Using the catalog, students can check on the journal's availability, location and holdings. In addition to the print journals subscribe to the Library, the catalog includes links to online journals.
The articles to many journals are also available full-text through the article databases such as Academic Search Complete and through online collections such as the Electronic Journal Center (current issues) and JSTOR (older issues published 5 or more years ago).
The following are graphic arts related journals available in the RWC Library:
- Communication Arts Magazine
- Graphis
Images
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. The collection comprises over 1 million catalogued images – 50,000 of which are searchable online. This includes press and TV advertising, magazine covers, cinema posters, ephemera, and comics and chidren's annuals.
- ARTstor (online)
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.- OhioLINK Digital Media Center (online)
The Digital Media Center (DMC) provides widespread access to images, sounds, video, numeric data, and other types of media information.- Visual Resources (online)
A list of image resource web sites created by the UC DAAP Library.
Additional graphic design resources available from UC Libraries
This file was last modified on 09/24/2009 by Stephena Harmony.