The following lists of items should help you find information about providing health care to people of different cultures and religions. If you have any questions about using or locating a specific resource, please ask a library staff member.
Article Databases / Indexes | Books | Websites
Article Databases / Indexes
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (online)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Related subject headings to search in CINAHL include:- CultureGrams (online)
Culturegrams online includes the World edition with 182 country reports including information on the culture and customs, maps, statistics, images and sound files. The online database also includes electronic versions of the States and Kids Editions, as well as the Photo Gallery, Famous People, and Recipe Collection.- Health and Wellness Resource Center (online)
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.- Health Source: Consumer Edition (online)
The database features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (online)
The database provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. Updated on a daily basis.- MEDLINE with Full Text (online)
MEDLINE with Full Text includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog (UCLID) using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any UC libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online requests option to request available materials.
Recommended Books in RWC Library's Reference Collection
- Pocket Guide to Cultural Assessment - REF RT86.54 .G45 1998 (print)
Very succinct descriptions covering pain, birth rites, infant feeding, funeral practices.- Cultural Diversity in Health & Illness - REF RA 418.5 .T73 S64 2004 (print)
Includes health care beliefs for specific ethnic and cultural groups and provides an overview of nursing care issues and barriers.- Culture and Nursing Care: A Pocket Guide - REF RT 86.54 .C835 1996 (print)
Describes cultural traditions and religious practices of many nationalities and ethnicity and how they affect health care.- Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care - REF RA 418.5 .T73 P87 2005 (print)
- Promoting Health in Multicultural Populations - REF RA 448.4 .P76 1998 (print)
Describes the experiences of health care practitioners in their work with ethnically and culturally diverse populations.- Transcultural Health Care : a CulturallyCompetent Approach - REF RA 418.5 .T73 T73 1998 (print)
Provides an overview of culture and ethnicity and describes the health care needs and practices of specific ethnic and cultural groups.
Websites
- Multicultural Health Resources (online)
A collection of sites chosen by the editors of the Online Journal of Issues in Nursing.- World Health Organization (WHO) (online)
Directing and coordinating authority on international health work that strives to bring the highest level of health to all peoples.
This page was last modified on 10/01/08 by Heather Maloney.