The following items will help you find information about events that happened the year you were born. If you have any questions about using or locating a specific resource, please ask a library staff member.
Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- Facts.com (online)
Consists of full text news articles dating from January 1980, weekly updates from the Facts on file world news digest, and regular wire-service updates from Reuters. Contains content from seven reference databases: Facts on file world news digest, Issues and controversies on file, Today's science on file, Editorials on file, Funk & Wagnalls new encyclopedia, Reuters on-line news service, The world almanac, and Book of facts.- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Chronologies & Timelines
- American Chronicle: Year by Year through the Twentieth Century - REF E169.1 .G664 1999 (print)
- Britannica Book of the Year - 1969 forward - REF AE5 .E364 (print)
- Chronicle of the 20th Century - REF D422 .C57 1987 (print)
- Cover Story Index - 1960 - 1991 - REF AI3 .C73 (print)
- Day by Day: The Seventies - REF D848 .L4 1988 (print)
- Day by Day: The Eighties - REF D848 .LM45 1995 (print)
- Day by Day: The Nineties - REF D856 .A93 2004 (print)
- The Encyclopedia of American Facts & Dates - REF E174.5 .C3 1987 (print)
- Facts on File: A Weekly Digest of World Events - 1969 forward - REF D410 .F3 (print)
- Great Events - REF D422 .G72 1992 (print)
- New York Public Library Book of Chronologies - REF D11 .W47 1990 (print)
- The People's Chronology: A Year-by-Year Record of Human Events from Prehistory to the Present - REF D11 .T83 1992 (print)
- The Peopling of America: A Timeline of Events that Helped Shape Our Nation: A Historical Perspective - REF E184 .A1 K84 1984 (print)
- The Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People & Events, based on Werner Stein's Kulturfahrplan - REF D11 .G78 (print)
Subject-specific Chronologies & Timelines
- Almanac of American Women in the 20th Century - REF HQ1420 .C55 1987 (print)
- Chronology of African-American History: Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present - REF E185 .H64 1991 (print)
- Chronology of Women's History - REF HQ1121 .O47 1994 (print)
- Cold War 1945-1991: Leaders & Other Important Figures in the United States & Western Europe - REF D839.5 .C65 1992 (print)
- Jay Robert Nash's Crime Chronology: a Worldwide Record, 1900-1983 - REF HV6030 .N37 1984 (print)
- Historic Documents - REF E829.5 .H57 (print)
- The Timetables of Science: A Chronology of the Most Important People & Events in the History of Science - REF Q125 .H557 (print)
- The Timetables of Women's History: A Chronology of the Most Important People & Events in Women's History - REF HQ1121 .G74 1994 (print)
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
News & Newspapers
- Cincinnati Enquirer (microform) - 1975-1998
- Cincinnati Post (microform) - 1975-2007
- New York Times (microform) - 1910-2007
- New York Times (1851-2004) (online)
The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.- Newsdex (online)
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner.- Newspaper Source (online)
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.- Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University (online)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Web Sites
- Digital History - University of Houston
- History Timelines - National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience - The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- The Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century - Learning Technology Center in The University of Texas at Austin College of Education, Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum and Terra Incognita Productions
- Timeline of Art History - The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Infoplease Year-by-Year
Choose a year to see events from national & world news, science, entertainment, economics & sports.- Time: 80 Days that Changed the World
Eighty significant days from the past eight decades selected by Time magazine editors. Includes images of Time covers dating back to 1923.
This page was last modified on 12/15/2008 by Lauren Wahman.