Article Databases / Indexes
General Article Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
Career-Related Article Databases / Indexes
- Learning Express Library (online)
LearningExpress Library offers students and adults unlimited, 24/7 access to targeted skill-building interactive courses in math, reading, and writing, as well as hundreds of online interactive practice tests that prepare them for several types of exams including grade school achievement tests, the SAT, GED, U.S. Citizenship, and civil service positions. Complete answer explanations accompany each response so that patrons understand why a particular answer is correct or incorrect.- Testing & Education Reference Center (online)
Testing & Education Reference Center helps users prepare for higher education and the working world by delivering detailed information on private high schools, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs, searchable by location, major, tuition, sports and more. This online education resource provides information to students to learn more about further education and assists in making informed decisions on their future from one single, handy database. It also features interactive online practice tests for preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests. FIRST TIME USERS are asked to register -- which is a quick and easy process. This requires a person's name and the creation of a username and password. Users will also be asked a challenge question - should they ever forget their password, the system can provide it.- Vocational and Career Collection (online)
The database is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Books
- Career Wisdom For College Students: Insights You Won't Get In Class, on the Internet, or From Your Parents - Stacks HF5381 .V58 2007 (print)
- Careers in Focus series - Careers (print)
- Guide to College Majors: Everything You Need to Know to Choose the Right Major
REF LB2361.5 .G85 (print)- Hire Me, Inc. Resumes and Cover Letters That Get Results - Careers HF5383 .B527 2007 (print)
- Knock 'em Dead 2008: The Ultimate Job Search Guide - Careers HF5382.5.U5 F375 2007 (print)
Common Subject Headings
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- Citation Resources (online)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Careers HF5381 .E52 2005 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology - REF HF5548.8 .E498 2007 (print)
Handbooks
- Occupational Outlook Handbook - Careers HD8051 .A5 (print & online)
Web Sites
Careers
- Career Voyages - U.S. Department of Labor, U.S. Department of Education
"Provides information on high growth, in-demand occupations along with the skills and education needed to attain those jobs." [from site’s About Us page]- Occupational Outlook Quarterly - Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor
"OOQ provides practical information on jobs and careers. Articles are written in straightforward, non-technical language and cover a wide variety of career and work-related topics such as new and emerging occupations, training opportunities, salary trends, and results of new studies from the Bureau of Labor Statistics." [from site's About OOQ Online page]- RWC Career Services - Raymond Walters College, University of Cincinnati
Education
- College Navigator - National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education
" College Navigator is your direct link to nearly 7,000 colleges and universities in the United States. If you are thinking about a large university, a small liberal arts college, a specialized college, a community college, a career or technical college or a trade school, you can find information on all of them here." [from site’s Data Tools page)Job Search
- CareerBuilder
Job listings from The Cincinnati Enquirer and The Cincinnati Post. You can also search nationwide for job listings.- State of Indiana Job Bank
State jobs
- State of Kentucky Career Opportunities
State jobs
- State of Ohio Career Opportunities
State jobs- USAJOBS - U.S. Office of Personnel Management
Federal jobsLaws & Regulations
- U.S. Department of Labor
Information on topics such as disability resources, federal labor laws, labor relations, wages, and workplace safety and health.Resumes and Cover Letters
- Workplace Writers - Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
Tools
- Cost of Living Calculator - CNN Money
- Salary Calculator - Move, Inc
This page was last modified on 12/15/2008 by Lauren Wahman.