The following resources will assist you in locating information about specific individuals. Locate information regarding their family history, education, career and accomplishments. If you have any questions about using or locating a specific resource, please ask a library staff member.
Biographical Article Databases / Indexes
- African American biographical database: AABD (online)
Contains biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans from 1790-1950. Includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and illuminating narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans
- American National Biography (online)
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (online)
This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.
- Biography Reference Bank (online)
The database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.
- Biography Resource Center + Who's Who (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who titles from the past decade.
- The Grove Dictionary of Art Online (online)
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links. Detailed biographies of artists of all media are included.
- Literary Reference Center (online)
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (online)
The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles, based on current scholarship, on noteworthy people from all walks of life who have left their mark on British history. No living person is included in the dictionary. In September 2004 the Oxford DNB comprised 50,113 substantive articles telling the life stories of 54,922 individuals from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
Books
General Biographies
- American National Biography - REF CT213.A68 1999 (print) - EBook (online)
- Dictionary of World Biography - REF CT104 .D54 2000 (print)
- The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives - REF CT213 .S37 2000 (print)
Biographies of Women
- Notable Black American Women - REF E185.96 .N68 1992 (print)
- Handbook of American Women's History - REF HQ1410 .H36 1990 (print)
- History of Women in the United States - REF HQ1410 .H57 1992 (print)
- Notable American Women, 1607 - 1950 - REF CT3260 .N57 (print)
- Women in the Civil War: extraordinary stories of soldiers, spies, nurses, doctors, crusaders, and others - REF E628 .E375 2003 (print)
- Women in world history: a biographical encyclopedia - REF HQ1115 .W6 1999 (print)
Cincinnati and Ohio Biographies
- Cincinnati's Colored Citizens; historical, sociological and biographical - REF F499 .C46 D1112 1926 (print)
- Greater Cincinnati and Its People - REF F499 .C5 L54 1927 (print)
- Ohio Biographical Dictionary - REF CT254.O35 1997 (print)
- Profiles of Ohio Women, 1803 - 2003 - REF CT3260 .R69 2003 (print)
Multicultural Biographies
- Black Women in America : an historical encyclopedia - REF E185.86 .B542 1993 (print)
- Reference Library of Hispanic America - REF E184.S75 R44 1993 (print)
- Notable Black American Women - REF E185.96 .N68 1992 (print)
Occupational Biographies
- American Nursing: a biographical dictionary - REF RT34 .A44 2000 (print)
- Artists in Ohio 1787-1900: a biographical dictionary - REF N6530.O3 H38 2000 (print)
- Contemporary Artists - REF N6490.C6567 1989 (print)
- Dictionary of Women Artists - REF N8354.D53 1997 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Women and Sports - EBook (online)
- Women artists in history: from antiquity to the present - N43 .S57 2001 (print)
- Women in Medicine - EBook (online)
Citation and Style Guides
Web sites
This page was last updated on 08/20/2008 by Michelle McKinney.