Article Databases / Indexes
General Databases / Indexes
- Academic Search Complete (about)
- JSTOR (about)
- OhioLINK Quick Search (about)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (about)
- Research Library (about)
History Article Databases / Indexes
- America: History and Life (online)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
- History & Archives (OhioLINK Digital Media Center) (online)
Several databases of electronic images or videos; will eventually also include sound, numeric data, and other types of electronic media.
- Making of America (Cornell University) (online)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- OHIO HISTORY (online)
Ohio History is the scholarly journal of the Ohio Historical Society. Now in print for more than 100 years, the journal is an essential tool for researchers of Ohio and the Middle West. We are pleased to make available to you online a comprehensive archive of the journal, including text, footnotes, and images published from 1887 to 2000.- Oral History Online (online)
Oral History Online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals Alexander Street Press has indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Their intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals
Biographical Information
- American National Biography (online)
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years. (from the Web site).- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (online)
This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.
- Biography Reference Bank (online)
The database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.
- Biography Resource Center + Who's Who (online)
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 300,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals. The Complete Marquis Who's Who® comprises every person who has appeared in any of 20 Marquis Who's Who® titles from the past decade.
Books
Searching for Books
Books, as all library materials, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Author, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches.
Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an item's location, availability, and bibliographic information. The Library's Catalog is University wide; however, all searches can be limited to only materials owned by the RWC Library.
RWC students can borrow all available materials from any of the University of Cincinnati Libraries, as well as all available materials through the OhioLINK Catalog. The OhioLINK Catalog is a statewide library catalog consisting of library materials from colleges, universities, and public libraries throughout Ohio. To request materials from libraries other than the RWC Library, use the convenient online request option to request available materials.
Citation & Style Guides
- Assembling a List of Works Cited - Duke University Libraries (online)
- The Chicago Manual of Style - REF Z253 .U69 2003 (print)
- Citation Resources (online)
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers - REF LB2369 .T8 2007 (print)
- Online! Citation Styles (online)
Examples for Web sites, e-mails, forum postings and other online works. From Bedford/St. Martin's
Encyclopedias
General Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online (online)
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.- World Book Web (online)
Subject Encyclopedias
- The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History - Stacks F499.C657 E53 1987 (print)
- The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History (online)
- The Encyclopedia of Ohio - REF F489 .E5 1999 (print)
- Encyclopedia of Ohio Indians - REF E78.O3 E52 1998 (print)
- Ohio Encyclopedia - REF F489 .O35 2008-2009 (print)
- Ohio History Central (online)
Handbooks
- The History Highway: A 21st Century Guide to Internet Resources - REF D16.117 .H55 2006 (print)
- The Historian's Toolbox: A Student's Guide to the Theory and Craft of History - Stacks D16 .W62 2007 (print)
Journals
Journals, as all library periodicals, can be found through the Library's Catalog using Title, Subject, Keyword, or other numeric index searches. Using the Library's Catalog, students can check on an journal's location, availability, and holdings.
Cincinnati & Ohio Journals
- Cincinnati Historical Society Digital Journals
- Bulletin of the Historical and Philosophical Society of Ohio - 1943-1963 (online)
- The Cincinnati Historical Society Bulletin - 1964-1982 (online)
- Queen City Heritage - 1983-1999 (online)
- Ohio History - RWC Magazines (print)
- Ohio History: The Scholarly Journal of the Ohio Historical Society - (microfilm 1962-2002) (online)
Full-Text Journals
All full-text journals can be found through the Library's Full Text Journal List using Title or ISSN searches, or browsed by subject.
News & Newspapers
- America's Newspapers (online)
America's Newspapers is a collection of full-text newspapers available online. The database includes 17 Ohio newspapers, plus other major newspapers from other states. Content includes local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.- The Cincinnati Enquirer - (print, microfilm, online)
- Cincinnati NEWSDEX (online)
Connect to the Cincinnati Public Library via Telnet to access news stories in local paper (via the public library catalog "CINCH")- New York Times (1851-2004) (online)
The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Newspaper Source (online)
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.
Web Sites
History - General
- Voice of the Shuttle: Web site for Humanities Research - University of California, Santa Barbara
Ohio
- American Memory - Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." [from American Memory's Mission]American Memory also includes the following exhibits:
- The African-American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920 - Ohio Historical Society
- Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal
- Greater Cincinnati Memory Project - SouthWest Ohio and Neighboring Libraries (SWON)
- Inland Riverboats Photograph Collection Wiki - The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
- The Ohio Historical Society Digital Collections
- Ohio Memory Project: An Online Scrapbook of Ohio History - Ohio Historical Society
- Oral History Digital Collection - Youngstown State University
This page was last updated on 12/15/2008 by Lauren Wahman.