Access Current Standards Information a commercial database of over 50,000 titles.
Global Engineering Documents provides a web based searchable database for standards.
Another search index for standards on the Web is the National Standards Systems Network (NSSN): Global Standards Network.
The following list includes standards, specifications and codes which are available in the University of Cincinnati Libraries.
AEROSPACE INDUSTRIES ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA
Industry Standards, (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36).
AIR-CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION INSTITUTE
Industry Standards. (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION OFFICIALS (the older pre-1992 editions of AASHTO manuals are included in the Industry Standards, Microfiche 36)
AASHTO Guide for Design of Pavement Structures (TE251.A43 1993)
AASHTO LRFD Bridge Construction Specifications, 2nd ed. (TG310.A437 2004 with 2006 and 2007 interim revisions)
AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications Customary U.S. Units, 4th ed., 2007 (CD-ROM Station #1, TG23.A25 2007 v.1)
AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications SI Units, 4th ed., 2007 (CD-ROM Station #1, TG23.A25 2007 v.2)
AASHTO LRFD Movable Highway Bridge Design Specifications, 2nd ed. (TG420.A43 2007)
AASHTO Provisional Standards 2007 (TE200.A616 2007)
Construction Manual for Highway Construction. (TE145.A525 1985)
Guide for the Design of High Occupancy Vehicle Facilities. (HE336.B8G845 1992)
Guide for the Design of Park and Ride Facilities. (TL175.G86 1992)
Guide Specifications for Horizontally Curved Highway Bridges. (TG310.G85 1993)
Highway Drainage Guidelines --Metric Edition (TE215.H54 1999)
Industry Standards. (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
Maintenance Manual for Roadways and Bridges 2007 (TE220.A497 2007)
Manual for Condition Evaluation and Load and Resistance Factor Rating (LRFR) of Bridges (TG315.A44 2003)
Model Drainage Manual. (TC970.M64 2005 CD-ROM)
A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets (TE175.A54 2004)
Standard Specifications for Highway Bridges, 17th edition, 2002. (TG310.A6 17th 2002)
Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing, 27th edition, 2007. (TE200.A62 2007)
Standard Specifications for Welding of Structural Steel Highway Bridges, 3rd edition, 1981. (TG416.A45)
ACI Manual of Concrete Practice, 2007. (TA681.A45 2007)
AMERICAN CONFERENCE OF GOVERNMENTAL INDUSTRIAL HYGIENISTS (ACGIH)
Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice for Design (TH7684.F2 A5 2007)
Mold and Core Test Handbook. (TS236.M6 1978)
AMERICAN GEAR MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF AERONAUTICS AND ASTRONAUTICS
AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF STEEL CONSTRUCTION
AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF TIMBER CONSTRUCTION
Designing with Wood, 1970. (TA666.D47 1970)
Timber Construction Manual, 5th edition, 2005. (TA666.A47 2005)
AMERICAN NATIONAL STANDARDS COMMITTEES
Library holds a number of ANSI Standards, most are issued independently under the organizational name or in conjunction with other organizations. See library catalog under "American National Standards Institute" or other organizational name. The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County is an excellent source of most ANSI approved standards.
AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR MATERIALS
Heat Treater's Guide: Standard Practices and Procedures for Steel, 1982. (TN751.H4 1982)
ASM Handbook. (TA 472.A3) engr reference
Specifications and Standards for Plastics and Composites, (TA455.P5T725 1990)
Worldwide Guide to Equivalent Irons and Steels. (TA466.W67 2006)
AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR TESTING AND MATERIALS
ASTM and SAE-AMS Standards and Specifications for Stainless Steel. (TA479.S7 A78 2003)
ASTM Standards in Building Codes, 14th edition. (TH425.A58 2003)
Annual Book of ASTM Standards, 2006. (TA401.A67)
Compilation of ASTM Standard Definitions, 4th edition, 1979. (TA402.C65 1979)
Guide to ASTM Test Methods for Analysis of Petroleum Products and Lubricants. (TP691.G85 2000)
Handbook of Comparative World Steel Standards. (TA472.H25 2004)
Metals and Alloys in the Unified Numbering System, 10th edition, 2004. (TA461.M47 2004)
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL AND BIOLOGICAL ENGINEERS (formerly American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE))
ASABE Standards 2006. (S671.A34 53rd ed. 2006)
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CIVIL ENGINEERS
Air-Supported Structures (ASCE 17-96). (TH1099.A425 1997)
Automated People Mover Standards (ASCE 21-96; ASCE 21-98) (ASCE 21-05) (TA1207.A96 1996) (TA1207.A96 2006)
Comprehensive Transboundary International Water Quality Management Agreement (ASCE 33-01) (TD345.C65 2001)
Design and Construction of Frost Protected Shallow Foundations (SEI/ASCE 32-01)
Design of Latticed Steel Transmission Structures (ASCE 10-97) (TK3242.D45 2000)
Design Loads on Structures During Construction (SEI/ASCE 37-02) (TH420.D47 2002)
Design of Steel Transmission Pole Structures (ASCE/SEI 48-05) (TK3242.D47 2006)
Earthquake-Actuated Automatic Gas Shutoff Devices (ASCE 25-06) (TP758.E27 2008)
Flood Resistant Design and Construction (SEI/ASCE 24-05) (TA658.2.F56 2006)
Guideline for Condition Assessment of the Building Envelope (SEI/ASCE 30-00) (TH2235.G85 2000)
Guideline for Structural Condition Assessment of Existing Buildings (SEI/ASCE 11-99) (TH439.A43 2000)
Guide to the Use of the Wind Load Provisions of ASCE 7-98 (TH891.M45 2001)
Measurement of Oxygen Transfer in Clean Water (ASCE/EWRI 2-06) (TD458.M42 2007)
Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures (ASCE 7-05). (TH851.M56 2006)
Seismic Analysis of Safety-RElated Nuclear Structures (ASCE 4-98). (TK9152.163 .S45 2000)
Seismic Design Criteria for Structures, Systems, and Components in Nuclear Facilities (ASCE/SEI 43-05) (TK9152.163.A45 2005)
Seismic Evaluation of Existing Buildings (ASCE/SEI 31-03) (TH1095.S3842 2003)
Seismic Rehabilitation of Existing Buildings (ASCE/SEI 41-06) (TH420.S43 2007)
Snow Loads A Guide to the Use and Understanding of the Snow Load Provisions of ASCE 7-05 (TA654.4.O76 2007)
Specification for the Design of Cold Formed Stainless Steel Structural Members (SEI/ASCE 8-02) (TA684.S652 2002)
Specification for Structural Steel Beams with Web Openings (ASCE 23-97) (TA660.B4 S64 1998)
Standard Calculation Methods for Structural Fire Protection (ASCE/SEI/SFPE 29-05) (TH1065.S83 2007)
Standard Construction Guidelines for Microtunneling (TA660.P55 S73 2001)
Standard for Load and Resistance Factor Design (LRFD) for Engineered Wood Construction (AF&PA/ASCE 16-95) (TA666.A51 1996)
Standard Guideline for the Collection and Depiction of Existing Subsurface Utility Data (TD168.S73 2003)
Standard Guidelines for Artificial Recharge of Ground Water (EWRI/ASCE 34-01) (TD404.S73 2001)
Standard Guidelines for Installation of Urban Stormwater Systems (ASCE/EWRI 46-05) (TD665.S731 2006)
Standard Guidelines for the Design of Urban Stormwater Systems (ASCE/EWRI 45-05) (TD665.S731 2006)
Standard Guidelines for the Design of Urban Subsurface Drainage (ASCE/EWRI 12-05) (TC970.A83 2006)
Standard Guidelines for the Operation and Maintenance of Urban Stormwater Systems (ASCE/EWRI 47-05) (TD665.S731 2006)
Standard Guidelines for the Operation and Maintenance of Urban Subsurface Drainage (ASCE/EWRI 14-05) (TC970.A83 2006)
Standard Practice for Direct Design of Buried Precast Concrete Box Sections (ASCE 26-97) (TA683.2.S72 2000)
Standard Practice for Direct Design of Buried Precast Concrete Pipe Using Standard Installations (SIDD) (ASCE 15-98) (TA447.S73 2000)
Standard Practice for Direct Design of Box Sections for Jacking in Trenchless Construction (ASCE 28-00) (TA683.7.S73 2001)
Standard Practice for Direct Design of Precast Concrete Pipe for Jacking in Trenchless Construction (ASCE 27-00) (TA447.A52 2000)
Structural Applications of Steel Cables for Buildings (ASCE 19-96) (TA660.C3 C76 1997)
Wind Loads and Anchor Bolt Design for Petrochemical Facilities (TH4571.W55 1997)
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF HEATING, REFRIGERATING, AND AIR-CONDITIONING ENGINEERS
ASHRAE Handbook. Fundamentals, 2005. (TH7011.A42 2005)
ASHRAE Handbook. Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning Systems and Equipment, 2004. (TH7005.A48 2004)
ASHRAE Handbook. HVAC Applications, 2007. (TH7011.A41 2007)
ASHRAE Handbook. Refrigeration, 2006. (TH7011.A439 2006)
ASHRAE Product Specification File, 1982. (TH7011.A44)
ASHRAE Standards, 1967 with updates. (older pre-1992 standards on microfiche 36)
ASHRAE Standards and Guidelines, 2006. (TP490.A44 2006 CD-ROM)
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS
AMERICAN WATER WORKS ASSOCIATION
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater, 21th edition. (QD142.A5 2005).
Structural Welding Code--Steel, 19th edition, 2004. (TS227.A474 2004)
Guide to Software Engineering Standards and Specifications. (QA76.758.M258 1997)
Industry Standards. (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
Technical Notes on Brick Construction, 1961 with updates. (TH1301.B67)
BUILDING OFFICIALS AND CODE ADMINISTRATORS INTERNATIONAL
BOCA Basic/National Mechanical Code, 8th edition, 1993. (KF5701.B784)
BOCA National Building Code, 14th edition, 1999. (KF5701.A73 B8 1999)
BOCA National Fire Prevention Code, 7th edition, 1987. (KF3975.B85)
International Building Code 2006. (TH420.S73 2006)
International Mechanical Code 2006. (KF5708.I55 2006)
Ohio Building Code -- Building 2002 (KFO459.3.A1 2001)
Ohio Building Code -- Mechanical 2002 (KFO459.75.A4 2001)
Ohio Building Code -- Plumbing 2002 (KFO459.3.A4 2001)
Ohio Fire Code (KFO381.A4 2000)
CANADIAN STANDARDS ASSOCIATION
Handbook of Steel Construction, 9th edition (TA684.H36 2006b)
(includes CAN/CSA S16-01 -- Limit States Design of Steel Structures)
Cincinnati Building Code, 1975 with updates. (TH225.C5A2 1992)
Cincinnati Municipal Code (Includes Zoning Code and Building Codes (Title XI)) (Availabe on the Web)
CONCRETE REINFORCING STEEL INSTITUTE
COUNCIL OF AMERICAN BUILDING OFFICIALS (see: International Code Council)
DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE
DIN (Deutsches Institute fur Normung e.V.)
ENVIRONMENTAL INDUSTRY ASSOCIATIONS
Manual of Recommended Safety Practices (TD794.M36 2001)
Designers' Guide to EN 1991-1-4, Eurocode 1: Actions on Structures, General Actions Part 1-4 (TH891.C655 2007 stacks)
Designers' Guide to EN 1992-1-1 and EN 1992-1-2, Eurocode 2: Design of Concrete Structures (TA658.N37 2005 stacks)
Designers' Guide to EN 1992-2, Eurocode 2: Deisgn of Concrete Structures Part 2: Concrete Bridges (TG335.H465 2007 stacks)
Designers' Guide to EN 1993-1-1, Eurocode 3: Design of Steel Structures General Rules and Rules for Buildings (TA684.G29 2005 stacks)
Designers' Guide to EN 1994-1-1, Eurocode 4: Design of Composite Steel and Concrete Structures (TH1491.J64 2004 stacks)
Designers' Guide to EN 1994-2, Eurocode 4: Design of Composite Steel and Concrete Structures, Part 2: General and Rules for Bridges (TG300.H46 2006 stacks)
FACTORY MUTUAL ENGINEERING CORPORATION
Loss Prevention Data/ Factory Mutual System, 1975 with updates. (TH9245.F3) engr reference
ILLUMINATING ENGINEERING SOCIETY OF NORTH AMERICA
Building Code, Department of Building Inspections, Hamilton County, Ohio
INDUSTRIAL FASTENERS INSTITUTE
INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS
Electrical and Electronics Graphics Symbols and References Designations, 1976. (TK153.I5 1976)
Recommended Practice for Emergency and Standby Power Systems for Industrial and Commercial Applications, 1980. (ocas TK1005.I48 1980)
IEEExplore -- IEEE standards (Available through UC on the Web)
IEEE Standard Letter Symbols for Units of Measurement (SI Units, Customary Inch-Pound Units, and Certain Other Units, 1978. (TK275.I23 1978)
IEEE Standards Collection Software Engineering. (QA76.758.I35 1994)
IEEE Standards in Education Web Portal (Available on the Web)
Industry Standards. (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
National Electrical Safety Code 2007 Handbook. (TK152.M35 2007)
INSTITUTE OF PETROLEUM (Now the Energy Institute)
INSTITUTE OF TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERS
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE PROPERTIES OF WATER AND STEAM
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF PLUMBING AND MECHANICAL OFFICIALS
INTERNATIONAL ATOMIC ENERGY AGENCY
Check MAD CAD for ICC building standards online if the individual links below are not working..
2006 IBC Structural/Seismic Design Manual (TA658.44.I23 2006 v.1-3)
Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities (ICC/ANSI A117.1-2003) (NA2545.P5 A5 2003)
International Building Code 2006. (TH420.S73 2006)
International Code Council Electrical Code--Administrative Provisions. (Available through UC on the Web)
International Code Council Performance Code for Buildings and Facilities 2006. (TH425.I45 2006)
International Energy Conservation Code 2006. (TJ163.5.B84 M63 2006)
International Existing Building Code 2006. (TH420.I573 2006)
International Fire Code 2006. (K3674.I58 2006)
International Fuel Gas Code 2006. (K3542.I54 2006)
International Mechanical Code 2006. (KF5708.I55 2006)
International Plumbing Code 2006. (K3542.I58 2006)
International Private Sewage Disposal Code 2006. (K3542.I584 2006)
International Property Maintenance Code 2006. (KF5701.A15 I585 2006)
International Residential Code For One and Two Family Dwellings 2006. (K3538.A15 I587 2006)
International Wildland Urban Interface Code 2006. (KF3977.Z95 U73 2006)
International Zoning Code 2006. (KF5697.A15 I58 2006)
Seismic and Wind Design of Concrete Buildings. (TA658.44.G46 2003)
Significant Changes to the International Building Code 2006. (TH420.T485 2006)
Significant Changes to the International Plumbing Code, International Mechanical Coe, and International Fuel Gas Code (TH6123.S52 2007)
INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE OF BUILDING OFFICIALS
American National Standard Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities. (NA2545.P5 A5 2003)
Concrete Manual. (TA439.W28 1989)
Handbook to the Uniform Building Code. (KF5701.Z95 B87 1995)
International Building Code 2006. (TH420.S73 2006)
International Mechanical Code 2006. (KF5708.I55 2006)
Uniform Building Code, 1997 edition. (KF5701.A39 I5 1997)
Uniform Code for the Abatement of Dangerous Buildings, 1991 edition. (KF5701.Z9I57 1991)
Uniform Fire Code, 1997 edition. (KF3975.Z95 I58 1997)
INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR STANDARDIZATION (ISO)
INTERNATIONAL ENERGY ADMINISTRATION
INTERNATIONAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS UNION (ITU)
INTERSOCIETY COMMITTEE
J. J. KELLER & ASSOCIATES
Hazardous Waste Management Guide: Identification, Monitoring, Treatment, and Disposal, 1984 edition with updates. (TD811.5.K44 1984)
JAPANESE STANDARDS ASSOCIATION
JIS Handbook: Ferrous Material and Metallurgy, 1973. (TA466.N55y 1973)
MEANS CONSTRUCTION COST GUIDES
METAL POWDER INDUSTRIES FEDERATION
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CORROSION ENGINEERS (NACE)
NACE International Book of Standards, 1998. (TA462.N37 1998)
NATIONAL COMMITTEE ON UNIFORM TRAFFIC LAWS AND ORDINANCES
Uniform Vehicle Code: Rules of the Road, with Statutory Annotations, 1968 with updates. (HE371.A3N3)
NATIONAL CONCRETE MASONRY ASSOCIATION
NCMA e-TEK and e-Details Site Finder (Available on the Web)
NCMA TEK: An Information Series (A Manual of Facts on Concrete Masonry), 1966 with updates. (TA681.5.N3)
Specifications for the Design and Construction of Load-Bearing Concrete Masonry, 1970. (TA682.24.N27)
NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF STATES ON BUILDING CODES AND STANDARDS, INC.
NATIONAL ELECTRICAL MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
NATIONAL FIRE PROTECTION AGENCY (NFPA)
Fire Protection Handbook, 19th edition. (TH9150.C7 2003)
National Electrical Code : 2005. (TK260.N277 2005)
National Electrical Code : 2008. (TK260.N277 2008)
National Electrical Code Handbook, 11th edition, 2008. (KF5704.N28 2008)
National Fire Codes, 2008. (TH9111.N375 2008)
NATIONAL INFORMATION STANDARDS ORGANIZATION (NISO)
NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF STANDARDS AND TECHNOLOGY (NIST)/NATIONAL BUREAU OF STANDARDS (NBS)
Library receives most NIST/NBS publications except NBSIR series (interagency reports). See the UC Library Catalog under "United States. [name of agency] or use the title of a specific series of publications.
OHIO
Ohio Basic Building Code and Related Codes, 2002 with updates (2007 is the most recent). (KFO459.A1A3 2002)
Ohio EPA Laws and Regulation, 1997. (KFO354.A33 1997-1)
Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws, 1991. (KFO297.A29O5 1991)
PLUMBING HEATING COOLING CONTRACTORS NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
PRECAST/PRESTRESSED CONCRETE INSTITUTE
PCI Design Handbook:Precast and Prestressed Concrete, 6th ed. (TA683.7.P44 2005)
SEMICONDUCTOR EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS INSTITUTE
ASTM and SAE AMS Standards and Specifications for Stainless Steel. (TA479.S7 A78 2003)
Ground Vehicle Lighting Standards Manual, 2006 edition (TL273.S24 2006)
Industry Standards, Aerospace Standards Only. (Only pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
SAE Aerospace Materials Specifications (Z5064.M3 S65)
SAE AMS Index (Aerospace Material Specifications) (Z5064.M3 S65a)
SAE Handbook, 2007. (CD-ROM Station # 2)
Metals and Alloys in the Unified Numbering System; and Cross Index of Chemically Similar Specifications, 10th edition, 2004. (TA461.M47 2004)
SOCIETY OF FIRE PROTECTION ENGINEERS
SFPE Handbook of Fire Protection Engineering. (TH9145.S46 2002)
SOUTHERN BUILDING CODE CONGRESS INTERNATIONAL
International Building Code 2006. (TH420.S73 2006)
International Mechanical Code 2006. (KF5708.I55 2006)
Standard Building Code, 1997. (TH420.S73 1997)
Standard Specifications Load Tables and Weight Tables for Steel Joists and Joist Girders, 1994. (TA685.S73 1994)
Highway Capacity Manual (HE336.H48 H54 2000)
TAPPI (Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry)
TUBULAR EXCHANGER MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY
DOE Standards. (Available on the Web)
UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
WORLD STANDARDS SERVICES NETWORK (WSSN)