Engineering College Engineering Library Home Page Engineering
ul image UC Home Page University Libraries Home Page
Engineering

QuickSearch

QuickLinks

Library Catalog

OhioLINK / Catalog

Engineering
Reference Guides

Journals / Databases

Reserves

Ask A Librarian

Hours & Maps

Request an Item

Your Library Record

Blackboard

Off-Campus Access 

Articles

Subject Guides

Other Useful Sites

 

Chat with a Librarian

SERVICES


REFERENCE

The Engineering Library staff offers the following reference assistance: The Engineering Reference Librarian is generally available for reference consultation Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. At other times, ask for assistance at the Engineering Library circulation desk. If your request cannot be satisfied by the personnel present, use the Ask a Librarian option on the Engineering Library Homepage to communicate your information need to the Engineering Reference Librarian. You may also call the Engineering Library at 556-1452 or 556-1550 with requests for assistance or send an e-mail to jim.clasper@uc.edu.

COMPUTER SEARCHING

A search of the literature can be conducted by computer using web or cd based indexes. The lack of appropriate subject headings, or a need to combine concepts in searching for information, may make computerized retrieval more efficient (and less time consuming) than manual searching of indexes. Electronic searching provides the easiest access and is available at networked stations in the reference area. Note that some of the networked indexes go back a limited number of years in many cases. If a more in-depth search is required, the Reference Librarian can search more complete databases (literature search request forms are available upon request from the Reference Librarian or the Circulation Desk). There is a charge for this service; payment may be made by check, cash, or by interdepartmental charge. Brochures on computer searching are available in the Reference Office.

ENGINEERING LIBRARY INFO COMMONS

The Engineering Information Commons is a joint venture between the Office of College Computing and the Engineering Library. It is located at the north end of Baldwin 8th floor, and is a 24-hour card access area featuring an open computer work area and two computer classrooms, 860B and 860D, plus a consultant area. The open area was designed to offer all students a comfortable work area with a great westward view over the Quadrangle to the distant hills.
Consultants from the Office of College Computing and the Engineering Library are available to answer library and computing questions, offering one-stop help for engineering students. The open area of the Commons has 16 wireless PC workstations. Twelve stations have Microsoft Office, Visual Studio, and web access. Four stations on the table furthest from the entrance access library information resources only; they do not have Microsoft Office or Visual Studio. All workstations are on the library domain and print to the system printer. There are also 10 open spaces for use of wireless laptops.

Infocommons has been upgraded to keep up with the latest technology.

> The Hardware at the Infocommons is:
• Client Pro MPC Pentium 4
• Intel 2.8 GHz Processor
• 256 MB RAM
• 37 GB Hard Drive
• SoundMax Audio
• LinkSYS Wireless Card
• DVD ROM/ CD R/W

> The Software available is:
• Windows 2000 with SP4
• Browser: IE6
• Acrobat Reader 6
• McAffee Enterprise 7
• Real ONE, Windows Media 9, Quicktime, and Win DVD 4
• Spybot D&S 1.3
• Winzip v. 9
• Microsoft Office 2000
• Visual Studio .NET with Library
• J2SE Software Development Kit (SDK) includes NetBeans IDE
• Nero Express with INCD Burner
• Start Check

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION

At the request of faculty members, the engineering librarians provide instruction in the use of library resources relevant to the discipline. See also the Instruction Online for open sessions.

REQUEST an Item on OhioLINK

You can search OhioLINK from the online catalog and use the REQUEST THIS ITEM link to request materials not available at UC.

 If the materials you need are not available at UC or through OhioLINK, you may request the item through ILLIAD (Interlibrary Loan). You can follow the request process in your ILLIAD account and will be notified by email when the item is received.

ORDERING MATERIALS FOR THE LIBRARY

Requests or recommendations for materials to be purchased for the Engineering Library are welcomed from users. All requests will be given consideration within budgetary limitations. When submitting requests, please provide as much bibliographic data as possible (i.e., author, title, publisher, year, and cost).

MATERIALS FROM OTHER CINCINNATI LIBRARIES

A U.C. identification card entitles borrowing privileges at all U.C. libraries and at SWON (Southwest Ohio Network) libraries. Inquire at circulation for a list of current SWON members libraries. Graduate students and faculty may check out books from the EPA Library.

PRINTING AND COPYING SERVICES

Printing cost is $.07 per print and is paid for by the user through a Bearcat Campus Card.
Photocopiers cost 10 cents per copy (copiers give change for $1 and $5), or 8 cents with use of a Bearcat card.
UC guests without a Bearcat card can purchase a copy card at Langsam Library and TUC.
You can add money to your Bearcat card (by credit card, cash or check) at any UC Bookstore, by credit card on the web at www.uc.edu/Bearcatcard, or at machines described above.
More information can be found at the University of Cincinnati Libraries print site.

OTHER SERVICES

New books received by the Engineering Library each month are listed on the Engineering Library webpage.


Return to Guide To The Engineering Library
Return to Engineering Library Homepage
Send comments to: Dorothy F. Byers, Head, Engineering Library
Last modified: dfb 11/7/06
Engineering Library Home | UCL Home | Off-Campus Access | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

Engineering Library
850 Baldwin Hall
University of Cincinnati • Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0018
Phone: 513-556-1550 • Fax: 513-556-2654