eng Engineering LibraryUC Engineering College UCL Home UC Home
Engineering

QuickLinks

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Ask a Librarian

COLLECTIONS

The University of Cincinnati University Libraries subject selectors and the Assistant Dean for Collections have developed collection policies for the various subject areas of the collection. Click on the policy for the Engineering subject area to read the subject policy for Engineering.

The Engineering Library houses a book and journal collection of more than 65,000 volumes and subscribes to 900 journal titles. A microfiche collection (about 500,000 individual fiche) includes technical reports, society publications, and industry standards.

The Engineering Library collection is shelved in an open stack area where users may locate materials and browse in areas of interest to them. Many resources are available electronically. Some older materials are housed in a closed STORAGE area and must be requested at the Circulation Desk. These books are marked as being in the UC Library Catalog as "SW Depository" or "Engr Storage".

BOOKS

Books are shelved according to their call numbers. When searching for items by call number, remember to read all numbers following a decimal point as decimals. For example:


          en                                  en
          TK3226         comes BEFORE        TK3226
          .M343                              .M52            

Call numbers arrange the books on the shelves by their subject. Most of the books in the Engineering Library fall into these two LIBRARY OF CONGRESS classifications.

Synopsis of "Q" (Science) Section
          (For a more detailed listing, click here.)
     Q    Science - General
     QA   Mathematics (Computer Science)
     QB   Astronomy
     QC   Physics
     QD   Chemistry
     QE   Geology
     QH   Natural History (General). Biology (General)
     QK   Botany
     QL   Zoology
     QM   Human Anatomy
     QP   Physiology
     QR   Microbiology

Abbreviated Synopsis of "R" (Medicine) Section (For more detailed listing, click here.)
     R    Medicine - General
     R855-855.5   Medical Technology
     R856-857     Biomedical Engineering.  Electronics.  Instrumentation.
     R858-859.7   Computer Applications to Medicine.  Medical Informatics.
     R864         Medical Records.
     R895-920     Medical Physics. Medical Radiology. Nuclear Medicine.

Synopsis of "T" (Technology) Section (For a more detailed listing, click here.)
     T    Technology - General
     TA   Engineering - General. Civil Engineering - General
     TC   Hydraulic Engineering
     TD   Environmental Engineering. Sanitary Engineering
     TE   Highway Engineering.  Roads and Pavements
     TF   Railroad Engineering and Operation
     TG   Bridge Engineering
     TH   Building Construction
     TJ   Mechanical Engineering and Machinery
     TK   Electrical Engineering. Electronics. Nuclear
          Engineering
     TL   Motor Vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
     TN   Mining Engineering. Metallurgy
     TP   Chemical Technology
     TR   Photography
     TS   Manufactures
     TT   Handicrafts

JOURNALS

Most journals held by the U.C. libraries may also be found using the UC Library Catalog. Current journal titles in the UC Library Catalog have check-in records which show which issues have been received by the library. If a journal title or volume is not found in the library catalog, please check Full Text Journals and enter the title of the journal.

Unbound journals are shelved alphabetically by title in the Quiet Study/Mural Room. Bound journals for 1985-2004 are are shelved by CALL NUMBER on the balcony level of the library. Older years (generally before 1985) are in at the SW Depository storage facility or are available electronically. Requests for storage items may be made at the Engineering Library Circulation desk or from the Engineering Library Homepage.

INDEXES

The Engineering Library has electronic indexes to help in locate articles, conference papers, technical reports, standards, and patents. Earlier years of some indexes in the Engineering Library are shelved on the shelves outside the Engineering Library electronic classroom. Electronic indexes range from general indexes such as Applied Science and Technology Index and Engineering Index (COMPENDEX) to specialized indexes for individual subject areas and specific types of literature such as technical reports.

Electronic indexes often provide links to the full text of the document.

For a complete list with locations see the Guide to Electronic Databases.

TECHNICAL REPORTS

The Engineering Library holds unclassified technical reports distributed by the United States Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Most of these publications are held in MICROFICHE form. Access to this literature is through the indexes Energy Research Abstracts (ERA) or through the NTIS and Aerospace & High Technology Database. Also held are publications of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) of the National Research Council accessible through the UC Library Catalog. There is a list of the technical reports held in the Engineering Library.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

University Libraries has an extensive documents collection. Many of these can be located by first using the MarciveWeb DOCS Index (GPO Catalog). Most documents are housed at Langsam Library. Some, such as the NIST (formerly NBS) publications, are in the Engineering Library. Important publications for engineering are published by government agencies such as the Department of Transportation, Department of Defense, the EPA, the Department of Energy, and so forth. Check the UC Library Catalog first, then ask the reference librarian for assistance in locating the government publication.

MICROFORMS

The Engineering Library has several collections of special interest in various microforms. Microfiche are shelved by their microfiche number in the microfiche cabinets. HERE is a complete list with locations.

The Library also has a microfilm collection. The complete list can be found HERE.

STANDARDS

In addition to those on microfiche, the library owns several other standards in paper from various organizations such as ASTM and ACI. For a complete listing see STANDARDS, SPECIFICATIONS AND CODES.

THESES AND DISSERTATIONS

The Engineering Library owns circulating copies of theses and dissertations completed for masters' and doctoral degrees awarded by the University of Cincinnati College of Engineering. Theses for 1995-2002 are shelved in the south end of the Engineering Library. Many recent theses are available electronically through the OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations. Older theses are in storage. Theses and Dissertations are listed in the UC Library Catalog under authors' names, titles, and under the general heading "UNIVERSITY OF CINCINNATI--THESES." <>

PATENTS

Patents can be searched using the U.S. PTO Web Patent Database, LEXPAT, or Espacenet. Full images of recent patents is available through the U.S. PTO Web Patent Database, Espacenet, or LEXPAT (full text only). For more information including access to patent resources on the World Wide Web, see the PATENT RESOURCES reference guide.


Return to Guide To The Engineering Library
Return to Engineering Library Homepage
Send comments to Dorothy F. Byers, Head, Engineering Library
Last modified: jwc 2/28/07
Engineering Library Home | UCL Home | Off-Campus Access | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

Engineering Library
850 Baldwin Hall
University of Cincinnati • Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0018
Phone: 513-556-1550 • Fax: 513-556-2654