eng Engineering LibraryUC Engineering College UCL Home UC Home
Engineering

QuickLinks

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Ask a Librarian

HOW TO LOCATE ENGINEERING LITERATURE

TYPE OF MATERIAL

PRODUCER

ACCESS TOOLS

LOCATION

Books

Authors,
Publishers,
Societies,
Companies

UC Library /OhioLINK catalogs , Books Online,
WorldCat (OCLC), Books in Print,
Library catalogs on the Web, Amazon, Barnes&Noble, etc.

UC Libraries, OhioLINK delivery,
Books Online, ILL (ILLIAD) ,
Purchase, Local Libraries

Reference Books,
Bibliographies,
Directories,
Catalogs,
Encyclopedias,
Databooks,
Handbooks,
Dictionaries,
Tables

Publisher,
Companies,
Societies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs , WorldCat (OCLC),
Engineering Reference Guides, Books Online,
Publisher catalogs, Web search engines

UC Libraries, Books Online,
Public Library, Other Local Libraries,
Companies, CD ROMs, Engineering Library Databooks page, Engineering Reference Guides

Journals

Publishers,
Societies,
Companies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs , WorldCat (OCLC),
Library catalogs on the Web, Full-Text Journals,
Serials Directory

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries,
Public Library, Other Local Libraries,
Electronically through the UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs

Journal articles

Authors

Databases at UC, OhioLINK Research Databases, Full-Text Journals, Web search engines, Paper indexes and abstracts

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries,
Local Libraries, OhioLINK EJC,
Full-Text Journals, ILL (ILLIAD) .

Conference proceedings

Societies,
Publishers for Societies,
Companies,
Government

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs (KEYWORDS search),
COMPENDEX and other databases, ProceedingsFirst, Library catalogs on the Web,
Web search engines

UC Libraries,
OhioLINK Libraries,
ILL (ILLIAD) ,
Purchase at the conference

Conference papers

Presenters

COMPENDEX and other databases on network and OhioLINK
Older paper indexes and abstracts,
PapersFirst, Web Search Engines

UC Libraries,
OhioLINK Libraries,
Buy copy at conference,
ILL (ILLIAD)

Government documents

US government departments and agencies,
State governments,
Foreign goverments

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs, SciTechResources.gov, Marchive Web DOCS,
State Checklist of State Publications

UC Libraries - Government Documents (not all gov't docs are listed in the UC Library Catalog),
OhioLINK libraries, US Gov't Bookstores or libraries,
ILL (ILLIAD) , GPO Access, Web

Technical Reports (of govt-funded research)

US Government agencies,
Research institutes,
Universities,
Companies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs , NTIS database, Energy Citations Database, DOE Information Bridge,
Aerospace & High Technology Database, NASA Technical Reports Server, Web search engines

UC Libraries, EPA Library, Order from DOE, NASA, NTIS, ILL ( ILLIAD) , Web

Technical Reports (corporate)

Companies

Databases, Web search engine

Company, Websites

Dissertations

US, Canadian and foreign universities

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, NDLTD, Ohio theses

ILL (ILLIAD) , Write to author, Buy from UMI, Author's advisor or author's department
OhioLINK

Standards and regulations

US Government, US Military, Industry, Societies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs (search on society name),
Marcive Web DOCS, Standards reference guide,
IEEE

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries, Public Library, Issuing agency, ILL (ILLIAD) .
Regulations on Lexis/Nexis, IEEE standards, Web

Patents

US Patent office,
Patent office of other countries

Patent databases on web, Patent reference guide, Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar online), SCOPUS, Other databases

USPTO, Espacenet, Freepatentsonline.com,
Cincinnati Public Library,
Patent offices of other countries,
Order from NTIS

Return to Guide To The Engineering Library
Return to Engineering Library Homepage


Created by Dorothy Byers: September 20, 1994
Send comments to: Dorothy F. Byers, Head, Engineering and Mathematics Libraries

Last modified: jwc 10/3/08
Engineering Library Home | UCL Home | Off-Campus Access | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

Engineering Library
850 Baldwin Hall
University of Cincinnati • Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0018
Phone: 513-556-1550 • Fax: 513-556-2654