Daap Library DAAP Home Page University Libraries Home Page
University Libraries Images UC Home Page

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Planning--In Depth


Guides

Doing Urban Research, by Gregory D. Andranovich, Gerry Riposa. Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1993. Focuses on some of the theoretical and practical knowledge needed to conduct research about cities. Includes research design and data collection.
HT110.A56 1993 DAAP Reference

Guidelines for Preparing Urban Plans, by Larz T. Anderson. Chicago, Ill.: Planners Press, American Planning Association, 1995. Includes bibliographical references and index.
HT167.A745 1995 DAAP Stacks

Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: A Directory and Guide to Reference Materials, by Edward E. Duensing. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. An up-to-date annotated guide to the planning literature. Includes computer software as well as print publication. Lists planning organizations, organized by discipline. Covers titles published since 1979.
Z5942.D87 1994 DAAP Stacks

International Handbook on Land Use Planning, Nicholas N. Patricios, ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Includes bibliographies and index.
HD108.6.I58 1986 DAAP Stacks

Project Reference File (Urban Land Institute,) Washington, 1971-. 
HT166.U742 DAAP Reference

Social Science Reference Sources: A Practical Guide, by Tze-chung Li. 3rd ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. Approximately one third of the volume covers social sciences in general. The rest of the volume is devoted to the social science subdisciplines. Contains approximately 2200 entries.
Z7161.A1 L5 2000 Langsam Reference

Time-Saver Standards for Residential Development, Joseph De Chiara, Julius Panero, Martin Zelnik, ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995. 
NA9051.T55 1995 DAAP Reference



Bibliographies

Architecture Series: Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1978-1990. This series contains material on architecture, landscape architecture, the environment, and city planning. Cumulative author, subject, title, and numerical indexes.
Z5941.A74 DAAP Reference

Cities and Towns in American History: A Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations. Arthur P. Young, comp. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Geographical and topical indexes to U.S. doctoral dissertations about cities and towns in American history. Topics include urban planning and design, urbanization, and housing.
Z7164.U7 Y7 1989 SW Depository

City Planning Bibliography: A Basic Bibliography of Sources and Trends, by George C. Bestor and Holway R. Jones. 3rd ed. NY: American Society of Civil Engineers, 1972. Comprehensive annotated bibliography of books on theory and practice. Useful for material before 1972.
HT123.B474 LAW Stacks

Council of Planning Librarians Bibliographies.
Each bibliography is on a specific topic touching on some aspect of city planning, urbanization, and related problems. Range of topics is very wide, international in scope, and some deal with historical or background information on urban affairs. Indexed by subject and author with annotations provided. Of particular use to those beginning planning research are: 

•  #80 A Basic Bibliography of Urban and Region Materials . This bibliography covers resources for growth management, new town planning, rural planning, urban design and zoning.

•  #203 Reference Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: An Annotated Guide. This publication identifies and describes significant reference material published in English since 1970. Most of the sources deal with planning in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.
#68 Planning Publications: An Annotated Bibliography and Reference Guide. More than 450 titles of planning reference works are listed and broken down into twenty-four categories including abstracting and indexing services, land use laws and regulations, transportation and parking and urban design.

Directory of International Periodicals and Newsletters on the Built Environment , by Frances C. Gretes. 2nd ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1992. Lists journals, etc., concerned with the built environment. Chapter 8: "Planning, urban design, housing, transportation, and the environment". Includes some annotations.
NA1.G7 1992 DAAP Reference

History of Urban and Regional Planning: An Annotated Bibliography , by Anthony Sutcliffe. London: Mansell Publishing, 1980. Over 1,400 annotated entries on planning history and 19th-century antecedents, individual planners, aspects of urban and regional planning, planning in individual cities and towns, and planning as a world movement. British emphasis.
Z5942.S93 DAAP Stacks

Housing Policy: An International Bibliography , by Tony Newsom. London; New York: Mansell, 1986. 
Z7164.H8 N48 1986 DAAP Stacks

Journal of Planning Literature . Columbus, Ohio: Ohio State University Press, 1986. 
HT166.J6 v.1-20 DAAP Journal

Periodical Literature on United States Cities. A Bibliography and Subject Guide , by Barbara Smith Shearer. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983. Over 4900 selected periodical articles published from 1970-81 on the 170 U.S. cities with a population of 100,000 or more.
Z5942.S464 1983 Langsam Stacks

Public Administration Series: Bibliography . Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1978-1991. Over 3,000 bibliographies in broad field of social science and public administration. Useful as "door-openers" to topical subjects. Quality varies. Generally not annotated. Cumulated indexes with author, subject, and title.
Z7164.A2 P7 Langsam Stacks

Urban America Examined: A Bibliography , by Dale E. Casper. New York: Garland Publishing Inc., 1985. A selective introduction to the literature of urban studies in America. Chapter prefaces succinctly place some 2,000 citations in context. Annotations and listing of important sources are very useful. Both subject and local research are covered, and are indexed geographically and topically.
Z7164.U7 C375 1985 SW Depository


Biographies of Planners

American Planner: Biographies and Recollections. Donald A. Krueckeberg, ed. 2nd ed. New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. Biographies of some of the leading city and regional planners in the U.S., 1890-1980. Includes overview of American regional planning.
HT167.A5767 1983 DAAP Stacks c.2 ARB Reference
HT167.A5767 1994 - Ordered for Fall Term DAAP Reserves

Dictionary of American Communal and Utopian History , by Robert S. Fogarty. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1980. Approximately half the volume is comprised of brief biographies of 140 individuals who had prominent roles in the development or leading of utopian communities. Also includes brief articles on more than 200 utopian communities. Bibliography.
HX653.F65 Langsam Reference and RWC Stacks

Early Urban Planning, 1870-1940 . Richard LeGates and Frederic Stout, ed. London: Routledge/Thoemmes Press, 1998. 
NA9094.E2 1998 v.1-9 DAAP Stacks

Encyclopedia of Community Planning and Environmental Management , by Marilyn Spiegel Schultz. New York: Facts on File, 1984. Concise, clearly written definitions of over 2,000 concepts and terms. Also includes brief biographies of noted planners. Includes photos, diagrams, illustrations.
HD108.6 S38 1984 DAAP Reference

History of Housing in the U.S., 1930-1980 , by Joseph B. Mason. Houston: Gulf Pub. Co., Book Division, 1982. Includes many brief biographies of American planners and builders.
HD7293.M325 1982 Langsam Stacks c.2 CAS Stacks

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. David L. Sills, ed. [New York] Macmillan [1968]. Vol. 18: Biographical supplement (New York: Free Press). 
H40.A2 I5 v.1-18 Langsam Reference
v.1-17 c.2 Langsam Stacks
v.1-19 CLER Stacks
v.1-18 LAW Stacks
v. 1-18 c.3 CAS Reference

Introduction to Planning History in the United States. Donald A. Krueckeberg, ed. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, Rutgers University, 1983. Introduction to the history of the city planning profession from its roots in the middle of the 19th century through its emergence around the turn of the century to the present day. Important planners are introduced.
HT167.I57 1983 DAAP Stacks

Urban America: Documenting the Planners. Catalog of an exhibition at the John M. Olin Library, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, October 21-December 31, 1985, held on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the City and Regional Planning Program at Cornell. Compiled by Elaine D. Engst and H. Thomas Hickerson. Ithaca, N.Y.: Dept. of Manuscripts and University Archives, Cornell University Libraries, 1985. Catalog includes images and biographical texts.
NA9108.E5 1985 DAAP Stacks

The Urbanists, 1865-1915 , by Dana F. White. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Includes biographical information about early American planners.
HT384.U5 W46 1989 Langsam Stacks


Book Reviews

Book Review Diges tPlus Connect
OhioLINK: 1983 to present 

Book Review Index
Z1035.A1 B6 Langsam Reference, RWC Reference and CLER Reference Index

Design Book Review . Berkeley: Design Book Review, 1983--; quarterly. Informative reviews in the "Cities" section, plus occasional reviews in the "History" section.
Z5941.D47 DAAP Journals

Journal of Planning Education and Research . Champaign, IL: Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, 1981--; quarterly. See "book reviews" section. Includes dissertation abstracts and reviews by planning educators. Vol. 6, no. 3 (Spring 1987) includes cumulative index to vols. 1-6 (1981/82- 1986/87).
NA9000.J6 DAAP Journals

Journal of Planning Literature . Winter 1985/86--; quarterly. This excellent publication lists and abstracts recent books and journal articles, arranged by subject and available online
HT166.J6 DAAP Journals


Codes of Ethics

AICP Code of Ethics and Professional Principles . American Institute of Certified Planners, Roster . Washington, D.C.: The Institute, 1980--; biennial. 
URL: http:// www.planning.org/ethics/conduct.html

AICP/APA Ethical Principles in Planning American Institute of Certified Planners Roster .  Washington, D.C.: The Institute, 1980--; biennial. 
URL: http://www.planning.org/ethics/ethics.html

Code of Professional Conduct . Administrative Manual for Consulting Planners . [Washington]: American Society of Consulting Planners, 1992, [pp.I-1 - I-2]. 
HT167.A5755 1992  DAAP Stacks

Code of Ethics . ULI Sourcebook . Washington, D.C.: ULI--the Urban Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource list, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyers' guide.
HD257.U44 1997 DAAP Stacks


Dictionaries & Glossaries

The City, A Dictionary of Quotable Thought on Cities and Urban Life , by James A. Clapp. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University, Center for Urban Policy Research, 1984. Drawn from the written and spoken words of over 1,000 writers, speakers, poets, politicians, architects, historians, etc. Epigrams, epithets, verses, proverbs, scriptural references, etc.
HT111.C576 1984 Langsam Stacks c.2 DAAP Stacks

Dictionary of Development: Third World Economy, Environment, Society . Brian W.W. Welsh and Pavel Butorin, ed. 2 vols. Garland Pub., 1990. Definitions and descriptions of the major facts, concepts, events, and issues concerning the Third World development process. Sources are cited.
HC59.7.D513 1990 Langsam Reference

Housing: A Multidisciplinary Dictionary , by Kamal S. Sayegh. Ottawa: ABCD Academy Book, 1987. Contains more than 28,000 terms with short, explanatory definitions.
HD7287.5.S28 1987 Langsam Reference

International Planning Glossaries . Gordon Logie, ed. New York: Elsevier; Hempstead, England: International Planning Glossaries. In English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Swedish, Finnish. Comprises four volumes, each devoted to particular sectors of planning.

Glossary of Land Resources. HD107.7.L63 1984 SW Depository

Glossary of Employment and Industry. HD2324.L63 1982 SW Depository

Glossary of planning and development. HT391.L64 1986 Langsam Reference

Language of Cities: A Glossary of Terms , by Charles Abrams. New York: Viking Press, 1971. Identifies some of the most relevant urban terms for the expert and layperson.
HT108.5 A24 DAAP Reference and RWC Stacks

The New Illustrated Book of Development Definitions, by Harvey S. Moskowitz. Piscataway, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1993. Offers approximately 1800 definitions and 600 commentaries, with a special focus on terms useful in zoning and development ordinances.
HT167.M683 2004 DAAP Reference
KF5698.A35M6 1993 LAW Segoe College

Urban Public Transportation Glossary. Benita H. Gray, ed.; Subcommittee on Urban Public Transportation Terms, Commitee...Washington, D.C.: Transportation Research Board, 1989. Lists terms related to urban public transportation planning and operations, with brief definitions.
HE141.U74 1989 DAAP Reference c.2 ENGR Reference


Directories

Educational Organizations & Institutions:

Guide to Graduate Education in Urban and Regional Planning. Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, 1984--; biennial. Lists 81 U.S. and Canadian schools, 20 of which include PhD programs along with the Master's program. Roster of faculty teaching at least 50% time. Information tables include "school data," "admissions & curriculum," and faculty.
HT165.52.G86 2000 DAAP Reference
HT167.G84 1992 Langsam Reference

Professional Organizations:

American Institute of Certified Planners . Roster . 1980--; biennial. Title and business address usually provided. Includes a directory of other national planning associations.
URL: http://www.planning.org/aicp/index.htm

American Planning Association . Membership directory . 1990--; irregular. 
URL: http://www.planning.org/

Asian Planning Schools Association (Univ. of Hong Kong)
URL: http://www.hku.hk/cupem/apsa/

Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning
URL: http://www.acsp.org/

Directory of Metropolitan Planning Organizations and State Transportation Agencies , prepared by John Hohl. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Transportation, [1992]. Lists metropolitan planning organizations for transportation serving major metropolitan areas in the U.S.
Langsam MicroGov TD1.20/10:92-12

Urban and Regional Information Systems Association . URISA membership directory . 1980--; annual. 
URL: http://www.urisa.org/

Urban Land Institute. ULI Sourcebook. Washington D.C.: ULI - the Urban Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource lsit, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyer's guide.
URL: http://www.uli.org//AM/Template.cfm?Section=Home
HD257.U44 1997 DAAP Stacks

Directories of Governmental, Non-Governmental, & Research Organizations:

CSG State Directory. Directory III, Administrative Officials. Council of State Governments, 1967--; biennial. Issued as Supplement 3 to The Book of the states. Includes state-by- state listings of state planning agencies and agencies the coordinate geographic information systems with state government.
JK2403.S66 2006  Langsam Reference
JK2403.S66 1999-2005 SW Depository
JK2403.S66 2005 CLER Stacks
JK2403.S66 2006 CLER Reference

The Development Directory; a guide to the international development community in the United States and Canada. Editorial PKG; 1988/89--; annual. Lists organizations and individuals active in international development. Identifies activity "sectors" ranging from agriculture, economics, and housing to infrastructure, rural development, and urban studies.
HC60.D476 1991  SW Depository
HC60.D476 1990 Langsam Stacks

Directory of Planning and Urban Affairs Libraries in the United States and Canada , 1990, Patricia Coatsworth, ed.. 5th ed. Council of Planning Librarians, 1990. 
Z7164.O7 D5 1990  DAAP Stacks

Encyclopedia of Associations.   Gale Research Company, 1957--. Comprehensive source of detailed information on more than 20,000 nonprofit American membership organizations of national or regional scope. Indexed by name, keyword, geography, and executive officer. The Web version is titled Associations Unlimited.
URL: http://www.infotrac.galenet.com/menu

Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: A Directory and Guide to Reference Materials , by Edward E. Duensing. Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. An up-to-date annotated guide to the planning literature. Includes computer software as well as print publication. Lists planning organizations, organized by discipline. Covers titles published since 1979.
Z5942.D87 1994  DAAP Stacks c.2 Langsam Stacks

The Municipal Year Book. International City/County Management Association, 1922--; annual. A handbook for city managers and other officials, it is a practical guide to current policy issues, a compilation of statistics, and a set of useful county and municipal directories, including phone numbers.
JS342.A2 I52 1995-1996 Langsam Stacks


Encyclopedias

American Business Climate & Economic Profiles: A Concise Compilation of Facts, Rankings, Incentives, and Resource Listings, for all 319 Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and the 50 States . Gale Research, 1994. Socio-economic data and narrative descriptions for major U.S. metropolitan areas. Data collected from both governmental and non-governmental sources. Organized by economic profiles for metropolitan areas by state, and by rankings of metropolitan areas.
HC102.2.A44 1994 SW Depository

Encyclopedia of Community Planning and Environmental Management , by Marilyn Spiegel Schultz. Facts on File, 1984. Concise, clearly written definitions of over 2,000 concepts and terms. Also includes historical material, landmark court cases, major legislation, and brief biographies of noted planners. Includes photos, diagrams, illustrations. Acronyms and their meanings.
HD108.6.S38 1984 DAAP Reference

Encyclopedia of the Third World , by George Thomas Kurian. 3 vols. Facts on File, 1992. Includes substantial readable articles on more than 100 Third World countries.
HC59.7.K87 1992 Langsam Reference
HC59.7.K87 1978 v.1 Langsam Stacks
HC59.7.K87 1978 v.2 SW Depository
HC59.7.K87 1978 v.1-2 c.2 CAS Reference
HC59.7.K87 1982 v. 1-3 Langsam Stacks
HC59.7.K87 1982 v. 1-3 c.2 DAAP Reference
HC59.7.K87 1987 v. 1-2 Langsam Stacks
HC59.7.K87 1987 v. 3 SW Depository

Encyclopedia of Urban Planning . Arnold Whittick, Ed.-in-chief. McGraw-Hill, 1974. In addition to defining terms and concepts used in urban planning, identifies prominent names in the field and systematically covers planning and its history in 48 countries where systems of planning legislation and administration are maintained. Photographs, maps, and bibliographies. British emphasis.
HT166.E5 SW Depository, c.2 DAAP Reference and c.3 CAS Reference

Environmental Planning: A Condensed Encyclopedia , by Alan Gilpin. Noyes Publications, 1986. Concise articles on international land use and planning. Particularly strong for U.S., U.K., and Australia.
HC79.E5 G52 1986 DAAP Reference

Human Settlement . John Rennie Short, general ed. Oxford University Press, 1992. Illustrated with excellent color photos, maps, and plans, this overview of global human settlement explores various themes of regional urban and rural settlement. One major city from each region is highlighted.
HT65.H85 1992 GEOMATHPHYS Stacks
HT65.H85 1992 CLER Stacks

Third World Guide: The World as Seen by the Third World . Editora Terceiro Mundo. Irregular. Contains country-by-country profiles of the Third World; includes countries you might not expect, e.g., Finland and the Vatican City State. Each profile provides a narrative report and socioeconomic and demographic facts and figures. Also includes thematic articles with a Third World perspective; e.g., housing, global warming, cartography, demography.
JF60.T45 1989/1990 SW Depository

World Encyclopedia of Cities , by George Thomas Kurian. ABC-CLIO, 1993. Coverage: Vol.l: United States, A-M, Vol.2: United States, N-Z, & Canada. 
HT108.5 K87 1993 Langsam Reference


Indexes and Abstracts

America: History and Life Connect
Index to the history and culture of the US and Canada

Art Full Text Connect
A quarterly author and subject index to publications in the fields of architecture, art history, city planning, landscape design and other related subjects. 1984 to present. 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Connect
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Updated daily, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present, with more than 229,000 records.

Business Source Complete Connect
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Catalog of United States government publications Connect


EconLit Connect
The American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. It is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.

Eksitics Index of Periodicals: Selected Articles from Periodicals on Human Settlements.
For each monthly issue, articles are selected from 50 to 60 journals from a wide range of countries, selection being based on the interest to planners, architects, and social scientists concerned with ekistics; the science of city and area planning in relation to basic need of the individual and the entire community. 
HT101.E56  DAAP Reference Index
HT101.E56 1995-98 and 2003-04 Langsam Reference 
HT101.E56 1985-84 and 1999-2000 SW Depository

Environmental Science & Pollution Management. Connect
A multidisciplinary database of abstracts and citations covering the environmental sciences. 

Geographical Abstracts.  Human Geography. 
G1.G3583  GEOPHYS Journals

GPO Monthly Catalog. Connect
Records published by the U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) since July 1976. Includes references to congressional reports, debates and executive department documents.

Index to Current Urban Documents Connect
The only guide to local government publications and documents issued by and for municipalities. Includes some statistics and census information. There are geographic and subject indexes. 


Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS). Connect
The PAIS International database covers the literature of public affairs -- current issues and actions which affect world communities, countries, people, and governments. This database provides access to articles, books, and documents addressing important political, economic and social issues. PAIS concentrates on topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.

Sage Urban Studies Abstracts.
Abstracts of important recent literature on all aspects of urban studies. 
Langsam Periodicals:  Current issues. Langsam Stacks:  Bound vols 1998 - . HT51.S24
SW Depository: 1973-1997

Social Sciences Citation Index. Connect
Publicly Available. The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Urban Affairs Abstracts.
Published by the National League of Cities, this publication provides an up-to-the-date guide to urban literature. There is a geographic index by state and city. Indexes a wide range of political, social and urban planning journals. 
HT101.U622  Langsam Storage
HT101.U622 v.4-24 SW Depository

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Connect
(via Dataware) Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. (replaces ABC POL SCI)

Professional Organizations

American Institute of Certified Planners . Roster . 1980--; biennial. Title and business address usually provided. Includes a directory of other national planning associations.
URL: http://www.planning.org/abtaicp/abtaicp.html

American Planning Association . Membership directory . 1990--; irregular. 
URL: http://www.planning.org/

Asian Planning Schools Association (Univ. of Hong Kong)
URL: http://www.hku.hk/cupem/apsa/

Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning
URL: http://www.acsp.org/

Directory of Metropolitan Planning Organizations and State Transportation Agencies , prepared by John Hohl. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Transportation, [1992]. Lists metropolitan planning organizations for transportation serving major metropolitan areas in the U.S.
Langsam GovPub TD1.20/10:92-12

International Society of City and Regional Planners . List of members = Liste des membres = Mitgliederliste . 1992--; annual. Includes professional code of conduct.
URL: http://www.isocarp.org/

Urban and Regional Information Systems Association . URISA membership directory . 1980--; annual. 
URL: http://www.urisa.org/

Urban Land Institute. ULI Sourcebook. Washington D.C.: ULI - the Urban Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource lsit, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyer's guide.
URL: http://www.uli.org/
HD257.U44 1994 DAAP Reference


Internet Resources

Best Practices
"This searchable database contains over 2150 proven solutions from more than 140 countries to the common social, economic and environmental problems of an urbanizing world. It demonstrates the practical ways in which public, private and civil society sectors are working together to improve governance, eradicate poverty, provide access to shelter, land and basic services, protect the environment and support economic development."

Blackader-Lauterman Electronic Resources for Urban Planning
URL: http://blackader.library.mcgill.ca/urbanres.html 

Center for Urban Planning Research
URL: http://www.policy.rutgers.edu/cupr/

City of Cincinnati Planning Department
URL: http://www.cincinnati-oh.gov/cdap/pages/-3250-/

Cyburbia.org--Internet Resources for the Built Environment
URL: http://www.cyburbia.org/ 
Comprehensive starting place - Highly recommended

Design Center for American Urban Landscape image bank
http://www.designcenter.umn.edu/imagebank/index.html
The Design Center Image Bank contains over 17,000 images, including low-level oblique aerial photographs and eye-level images. The current focus of the collection is the Twin Cities metropolitan region in Minnesota and dates from the early 1990s through the present. Both built and natural environments are included with many images of typical environments--such as downtowns and suburban sprawl--that are relevant to other locations.

Hamilton County Regional Planning Commission and Rural Zoning Commission
URL: http://www.hamilton-co.org/hcrpc/default.asp?NavBar=1 

Internet Resources for Planning Research ( Univ. of Calif., Berkeley, Library
URL: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/cityweb.html 

Urban Land Institute
URL: http://www.uli.org/ 

World Development Indicators
URL: http://devdata.worldbank.org/dataonline

VCU's Urban Studies and Planning Page ( Virginia Commonwealth Univ., Dept. of Urban Studies & Planning
URL: http://www.pubapps.vcu.edu/gov/
Includes abstracts of articles in the latest issue of JAPA, as well as links to other Internet sites.


Library Catalogs

Dictionary Catalog of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, Library and Information Division . Boston: G.K. Hall,1972. 1st Suppl., 1974; 2nd Suppl., 1975. Coverage: 1934-197?. A catalog of one of the richest and most diverse collections of literature on urban affairs and community development. Includes books, pamphlets, slides, and films, as well as local, state, federal and foreign documents. Provides unique access to over 20,000 Comprehensive Planning Reports (Section 701 of the Housing Act of 1954 ) in vol. 19 of the base set, and vol. 2 in Suppl. 1 and 2.
Z7164.H8 U4494 v.3  DAAP Reference Index
Z7164.H8 U4494 v.1-10 SW Depository


Special Collections

Housing and Urban Affairs, 1965-.  Glen Rock, N.J.: Microfilming Corp. of America, 1977. Microfiche full text of 3,000 selected local planning reports, research papers, etc., in the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Affairs Library, 1965-1976.
Micro-fiche 209  Langsam Microforms Housing and Urban Affairs, 1965-1976: A Bibliographic Guide to the Microform Collection . Glen Rock, N.J.: Microfilming Corp. of America, 1978. 
Z7164.H8 M5 Guide 1978  Langsam Reference "701" Comprehensive Planning Assistance: Statues, Regulations, Interagency Agreements, Departmental A-95, Implementing Instructions. [Washington: Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, Assistant Secretary for Community Planning and Development, Office of Community Planning and Program Coordination, 1977. 
HH 1.6:P 69/2  Langsam GovPub US

"701" Planning and Management: 39 Program Ideas [microform]. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Policy Development and Research, [1978]. 
HH 1.2:P 69/9  Langsam MicroGov

Urban Documents Microfiche Collection . [Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1973]. This unique collection of American and some Canadian local government publications, including municipal documents (including school districts) for cities, counties, and provinces.  The
Index to Current Urban Documents (Z1223.6.A1 I55  Langsam Reference) provides excellent geographic and subject indexing to the microfiche collection. 
Micro-fiche 1068  Langsam Microforms


Statistical Sources

U.S. Census Bureau
URL: http://www.census.gov/

County and City Data Book  
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html

American Factfinder
Population, housing, economic and geographic data
URL: http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en

FedStats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 Federal Agencies
http://www.fedstats.gov/

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/

Statistical Resources on the Web
Comprehensive gateway to statistical sources compiled by the Documents Center, University of Michigan Library
URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html

CIS - Statistical Universe.
Published by the Congressional Information Service, this is a comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U.S. government. Indexed by names and subjects, and by categories (e.g., geographic breakdowns, demographic breakdowns), and by title. It includes statistics from the Department of Housing and Urban Development, indexed by subject, name, categories, titles, and agency report numbers. 
Also available in a print version, American Statistics Index (Z1223.Z7 A5  Langsam GovPub) 
URL: http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv

Index to International Statistics.
A guide and index to the statistical publications of the world's major intergovernmental organizations, including the United Nations system, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and the European Community. Focuses coverage on basic economic, demographic, industrial and social statistics. Includes references to the working papers of the World Bank. Indexed by subject, name, geographic area, category, issuing source, title, and publication number. 
HA17.I535  Langsam Reference

STAT-USA
Economic, business, and international trade information from the U.S. Department of Commerce.
URL: http://www.stat-usa.gov/

Statistical Reference Index.
A selective guide to American statistical publications from sources other than the U.S. government. Provides statistics of private U.S. organizations and state government agencies. It should complement or "fill in" gaps of federal statistical information. Indexed by subject and name; geographic, economic, and demographic categories; issuing source; and title. 
Z7554.U5.S8  Langsam GOP Reference

Selected Internet Resources on Statistics
from the Librarian's Index to the Internet
URL: http://www.lii.org/search?searchtype=subject;query=Statistics;subsearch=Statistics

The DAAP Library gratefully acknowledges Deborah Somme, City Planning Librarian at U.C.Berkeley, for developing this guide.

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 07/25/08