DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Planning-- Basic Sources

Finding Books

Use the UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.

Finding Articles in Journals using Indexes and Databases


America: History and Life
Connect
Index to the history and culture of the US and Canada

Art Full Text Connect
A quarterly author and subject index to publications in the fields of architecture, art history, city planning, landscape design and other related subjects. 1984 to present. 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Connect
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Updated daily, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present, with more than 229,000 records.

Business Source Complete Connect
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Catalog of United States government publications Connect

EconLit Connect
The American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. It is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.

GPO Monthly Catalog. Connect
Records published by the U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) since July 1976. Includes references to congressional reports, debates and executive department documents.

Index to Current Urban Documents Connect
The only guide to local government publications and documents issued by and for municipalities. Includes some statistics and census information. There are geographic and subject indexes. 

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS). Connect
The PAIS International database covers the literature of public affairs -- current issues and actions which affect world communities, countries, people, and governments. This database provides access to articles, books, and documents addressing important political, economic and social issues. PAIS concentrates on topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.

Sage Urban Studies Abstracts.
Abstracts of important recent literature on all aspects of urban studies. 
Langsam Periodicals:  Current issues. Langsam Stacks:  Bound vols 1998 - . HT51.S24
SW Depository: 1973-1997

Social Sciences Citation Index. Connect
Publicly Available. The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Urban Studies Abstracts Connect

Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Connect
(via Dataware) Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. (replaces ABC POL SCI)

Professional Organizations

American Institute of Certified Planners . Roster . 1980--; biennial. Title and business address usually provided. Includes a directory of other national planning associations.
URL: http://www.planning.org/abtaicp/abtaicp.html

American Planning Association . Membership directory . 1990--; irregular. 
URL: http://www.planning.org/

Asian Planning Schools Association (Univ. of Hong Kong)
URL: http://www.hku.hk/cupem/apsa/

Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning
URL: http://www.acsp.org/

Directory of Metropolitan Planning Organizations and State Transportation Agencies , prepared by John Hohl. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Transportation, [1992]. Lists metropolitan planning organizations for transportation serving major metropolitan areas in the U.S.
Langsam GovPub TD1.20/10:92-12

International Society of City and Regional Planners . List of members = Liste des membres = Mitgliederliste . 1992--; annual. Includes professional code of conduct.
URL: http://www.isocarp.org/

Urban and Regional Information Systems Association . URISA membership directory . 1980--; annual. 
URL: http://www.urisa.org/

Urban Land Institute. ULI Sourcebook. Washington D.C.: ULI - the Urban Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource lsit, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyer's guide.
URL: http://www.uli.org/
HD257.U44 1994 DAAP Reference


Internet Resources

Center for Urban Policy Research
URL: http://policy.rutgers.edu/cupr/index1.htm 

City of Cincinnati Planning Department
URL: http://www.rcc.org/planning.html 

Cyburbia.org--Internet Resources for the Built Environment
URL: http://www.cyburbia.org/
Comprehensive starting place - Highly recommended

Design Center for American Urban Landscape image bank
http://www.designcenter.umn.edu/imagebank/index.html
The Design Center Image Bank contains over 17,000 images, including low-level oblique aerial photographs and eye-level images. The current focus of the collection is the Twin Cities metropolitan region in Minnesota and dates from the early 1990s through the present. Both built and natural environments are included with many images of typical environments--such as downtowns and suburban sprawl--that are relevant to other locations.

Hamilton County Regional Planning Commission and Rural Zoning Commission
URL: http://www.hamilton-co.org/hcrpc/default.asp?NavBar=1 

Internet Resources for Planning Research ( Univ. of Calif., Berkeley, Library
URL: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/cityweb.html

KnowledgePlex
http://www.knowledgeplex.org/
"Created by a distinguished team of founding partners and implemented by the Fannie Mae Foundation, KnowledgePlex® is designed to support the efforts of practitioners, grantors, policy makers, scholars, investors, and others involved or interested in the fields of affordable housing and community development."

Planners Web
URL: http://www.plannersweb.com/ 


Print guide to government sites:
Government information on the Internet / edited by Peggy Garvin ;
introduction by Greg R. Notess. Lanham, Md. : Bernan, c2003
DAAP Reference ZA5075.N69 2003

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 11/06/08