After reviewing this guide, you should be able to do the following:
But before you start you need to be aware of the following:
The "Basics" - things you need to know no matter what your major!
Get started!
Step 1: Locating the DAAP Library - Real and Virtual
DAAP Library, 5480 Aronoff Center, right next to the College Office.
We want you to actually come to the Library - but first take the virtual tour!
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/daap/about/virtualtour.html
Visit our Web Site: http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/daap/index.html Bookmark this site on your laptop.
Important information: If you are connecting off campus and your internet
service provider is not UC - you need to login via the library " off
campus access " server. This is important if you want to utilize
any of our special resources.
Step 2: Finding books, videos, etc..
This is easy to do - simply connect to the Library Catalog.
Use the keyword search to find information on a general topic or specific information on an artist, architect, designer or planner. If you don't find something your first search, try some other terms. Click here for an example of the type of information about the Eisenman book shown below you will receive from your search. You need to make a note of the location and the call number to find the book in the DAAP stacks. Also, it is very important to make sure the book is available, and not checked out. Not sure where the stacks are? Take the virtual tour of the DAAP Library.
Step 3: Top Ten Research Tools
DAAP library staff have pulled together a list of Top Ten DAAP Research Tools that will help you with your introductory assignments. Take a few minutes to browse through these various resources.
Step 4: Current Periodicals (Magazines)
DAAP Library subscribes to over 420 current periodicals. Current issues are displayed on the main floor of the library.
Step 5: Research and Class Guides
In addition to the Top Ten page, we have put together Research & Class Guides for your
specific schools which provide links to key resources (electronic and
print) in art
, architecture/interior
design , design
and planning
. Look here for special handbooks, career information, encyclopedias
and databases in your major.
Step 6: How to Guides
The library also has equipment and "how to guides" to help you. You can use library scanners to scan images from books or our slide collection. How to guides can guide you through the process.
Questions? Ask a DAAP Librarian
Additional Resources for Learning about software applications
One good source is to browse the current periodicals in digital design:
Computer Arts - described as "the world's best-selling creative magazine" - this publication provides information on leading digital designers, as well as latest on software applications. For example, each issues has a "tutorial section" that provides step-by-step directions on techniques. October 2005 issue provides information on stencil effects using Flash and Photoshop.
Computer Graphics World - described as the "magazine for digital content creation and production", this publication provides an overview of current equipment as well as highlights major digital and computer graphics projects. For example the August 2005 issue highlight the digital effects in the recent film, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.
Creative Designer is an online journal that is focused solely on Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator as well as image processing. See library staff for the password.
Digital Imaging is a fairly technical publication that focuses on the latest equipment and processing techniques, but is useful to gain an awareness of future trends.
Step Inside Design; This journal focuses on all aspects of design, not just digital applications. However, it often highlights software applications and computer graphics. For example, the September/October issue focuses on the "top 50 must see web sites."
Training DVDs that are available in the DAAP Library
Learning Adobe Photoshop 7 and Learning Macromedia Flash MX 2004 . Other training programs and resources are listed through the Reserve option under the professor: DigitalDAAP.
The Library has electronic books and print books that can help as well. Search the Library Catalog using such keywords as Adobe Photoshop and Computer Graphics for additional training materials.
Web Site